Winifred Beach...

Emancipation Park is a success story though. Any idea how its maintenance is funded?
    All done with NHT funds...if our government cannot build a road why do we think they can manage a beach? When unnuh wake up tell mi mek mi call Butch fi deal wid di ting proper...partner with a private sector entity and take a percentage of the profits while doing absolutely nothing...sounds like what government should be doing to me...ever heard of a likkle place called YS falls?
    Last edited by Bricktop; December 28, 2012, 09:08 AM.

Flavours Beach in Runaway Bay is a free beach. You pay to use the changing room. So, wi not talking someting novel or strange here.

UDC want to lease or sell the beach to their friends who will in turn put in a few stalls and get rid of the vendors etc. and charge people, or a so the people in Fairy Hill and their environment thinks.

There has to be a better way. I like your idea about free beach in Runaway Bay. The beach is still free, there was a time we didn't have to pay for the bathroom or nothing, How did that happen. Yes you can charge for certain things but the community have to be on board with what is been done. As I said, I hope there is some agreement to go forward.

Just disregard the sound strung up with 12' tall speakers blasting dancehall on the lawn...I go to the beach to relax...not to go Weddy Weddy

What is wrong with getting rid of vendors and charging people?

The beach big. Why yuh hitch up unda di speaka dem fah?

why didn't government do that 50 years ago???? Why don't UDC go ahead? Because they know the support of the community is critical for the support of the beach and without the community it is not worth anything. Do the thing right, get the people on board, show them how it is more viable for the community and let them buy it to it otherwise, the farily hill and Port Antonio people not going to support it.

So you admit that due to lack of control sound string up on the beach?

Do what? Obviously they didn't have an investor 50 years ago...they do now...if the beach is setup properly people will come...setup yuh stall on the road by the entrance and capitalize...

ok investors only see profit now when them see the amount a people going to the beach? So next you have police come run the people off the road.

No reason why the vendors can't be accomodated and the community deserves to be a part of the decision.

What amount of people? Nobody driving down that road to go to a beach...you forget the part about building villas? That is why the "sudden" interest...all of that and the "people" will still have access to the beach...for a fee...

".setup yuh stall on the road by the entrance and capitalize..."

There in lies the problem. The slavery concept has to go. Too much crime when the people is marginalized. The beach is for the people. Those that want to conduct business should purchase a six month license in order to conduct business. Locals free, foreigners pay. It can't be hard to cut a proper road to the beach, build some shower stands and bath rooms.

I guess you need the OCG to watch out for cost overrun. Ah Ja is in shambles.

So you gonna issue licence to every vendor? What about those that don't get no licence? You not saying anything different than I am yuh just trying to sound militant...the beach is for the people...for a nominal fee of $200

Right now the people walk. Some a them walk through mi brethren yard and him nuh charge them . The fact is the state and parish council should provide road, the people shouldn't have to pay for that.

You think UDC have development of the community at heart, no they don't. All they want to do is capture the piece of land that the people have been using and sell it to their friends to make a money, regardless of how the people who built it(regardless of what you think of the current state). I know if you went there in the holidays you could see the amount a people who find their ways there regardless of no road.

Mi read wheh yuh seh..

Di man mek a qualitative statement.. is eiddah true or not true... if is true den your statement is non sequitur..