• The day has come .....H.L ,Historian & OJ..cant agrue with

The MD.

Legalise ganja to treat HIV, cancer, doctors tell gov't

‘Cannabis keeps viral progression down’
    BY NADINE WILSON Sunday Observer reporter wilsonn@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, December 23, 2012

DIRECTOR of the Caribbean Drug and Alcohol Research Institute Dr Marcus Day believes the time has come for regional governments to legalise marijuana to counteract the spread of HIV.

"I think we should regulate cannabis (marijuana) use the same way we regulate alcohol use, the same way they are talking about regulating it in the states of Washington and Colorado in America," said Day, an HIV/AIDS specialist and coordinator of the Caribbean Harm Reduction Coalition.
    A cannabis plant
    DAY... there are documented cases of using marijuana as a substitute, so it’s less risky

A cannabis plant

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/2

"Cannabis actually keeps viral progression down in a body. If you are HIV positive and you are not on medication, smoking cannabis is actually therapeutic, and that's science, not people's opinion," he told the Jamaica Observer on a visit to the island last week.
    Day believes HIV patients — especially those who haven't started anti-retroviral drugs for whatever reason — should be allowed to ingest marijuana as a tea or in pastry such as brownies. Statistics show that approximately 30 per cent of those living with HIV in the Caribbean are not on any type of treatment.
    The legalisation of marijuana should also be considered as a prospective harm reduction mechanism, said Day, who noted that some crack smokers had resorted to selling sex as a means of supporting their habit, and this increases their vulnerability to HIV/AIDS.
    "A lot of the research that we have done over the years has pointed to the fact that many of these women only began to engage in sex work as a regular activity after they started to use substances and we also find that probably 20 per cent of the men who are homeless crack users are also engaged in selling sex, primarily to other men," he said.
    "We encourage the crack smokers that we work with to substitute their crack for cannabis and to smoke cannabis instead. Even though it's probably not the best thing, it's much better than crack smoking. We don't know anybody who sells sex for cannabis, we don't know anybody who is breaking into houses for cannabis, nobody stealing cars; and cannabis users are not coming down the streets and pulling your chain off your neck. These are things that are associated with cocaine," he said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2FsXisGOD

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This is all I have to say....

I quit arguing, X, but I’ll say this: I have seen certain sad consequences in communities in Jamaica which were the direct result of persons persistently smoking a lot of weed.

Trust me, there is a negative, very unfortunate and frightening side to this marijuana debate that is conveniently being ignored by proponents. But then again, these are the supposedly final days when all sorts of demands and expectations -- from right, left and center -- are coming together forcefully.

Finally, if (according to a prominent Jamaican psychiatrist) an estimated 40 percent of Jamaicans suffer some mental imbalance at this point in time, what the hell you think will happen when ganja is legalized? May God help us all.

That’s all I have to say on the matter, boss.

JAMAICA - A HURTING NATION

Published: Sunday | February 8, 2009

Dr Karen Richards (right)

Besieged by crime and desensitised to death and violence, Jamaica is suffering from borderline personality disorder (BPD). This is the diagnosis of consultant clinical psychologist Dr Karen Richards who draws parallels between the average individual who walks into her practice and a hurting nation.

Jamaica's symptoms

Self-harm is probably the single most defining feature of the borderline personality. Jamaica is drowning in a sea of its own violence.

In 2005, Jamaica had 1,674 murders (64.10 per 100,000 people), giving the country the unenviable reputation of having the highest murder rate in the world that year. Hope was raised by a small reduction in 2007.

We thought the patient (Jamaica) was on the road to recovery, but relapse was soon evident. The murder rate again rose by three per cent in 2008: Last year 1,611 Jamaicans were slain by fellow citizens.

In spite of the efforts of the new government, more than 70 people were murdered within the first 20 days of the 2009. Nearly as many people have been killed in Jamaica in the last two years as in the 40 years of conflict in northern Ireland.

We are not at war with another country or threatened by some external force. We are annihilating ourselves. The fact is the biggest threat to a Jamaican is another Jamaican.

(Source: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead1.html )

This is nothing to do with the main topic but Historian, I hereby nominate you for the Most Creative Use of Smilies/Emoticons award for 2012!

I did not even know there was a "head in hand" emoticon, LOL!

@ Historian You havent said anything , literally what is BPD , did the article link anything to ganja ?..who is the leading pschyiatrist that you quote , does he./she link it to ganja , is it the one you have your response linked to ?

As for the continous disingenious tale , that other side that has been ignored ,has been debated for over 70 years , have you heard of a war on drugs , have you heard of the congressional commision ignored by President Reagan to launch his war on drugs ?

Enlighten the board about the information being ignored ?

The article states

Causes of BPD
        There is now an overwhelming body of research which indicates that this constellation of symptoms is the result of extremely traumatic experiences in early childhood and early caregiver attachments which were abusive and damaging to the individual.
        To this extent, trauma may lay at the heart of our understanding of BPD.
        Individuals with borderline personalities tend to have severe experiences of physical, sexual and emotional abuse, which include neglect and deprivation, often at the hands of those to whom they looked for care and nurturing. What is BPD - legacy of abuse?
        Borderline personality disorder (BPD) is perhaps one of the most controversial, yet now widely accepted psychiatric diagnoses to have emerged in the 20th century. It could be defined as a pervasive distortion in an individual's personality, which negatively impacts upon his or her global functioning.
        In order to meet the diagnosis, the individual must exhibit at least five of the following core signs:
        Frantic efforts to avoid real or perceived abandonment.
        A pattern of unstable and intense relationships, often characterised by extremes of idealisation or devaluation.
        A highly disturbed sense of identity and self-image.
        Impulsive and often self-damaging behaviour, i.e. substance abuse.
        Binge-eating or sexual promiscuity, recurrent self-mutilation or suicidal behaviour.
        Marked emotional instability.
        Chronic feelings of emptiness.
        Inappropriately intense anger or rage.
        Transient and usually stress-related paranoid ideation.

Onset usually occurs in adolescence or early adulthood and can be triggered by a severing of a key attachment. To onlookers, persons with BPD often appear to be volatile, chaotic and self-destructive. Current research suggests that somewhere between 43 and 75 per cent of people with BPD engage in self-damaging acts and approximately eight per cent will commit suicide.

Are you saying ganja is the cause of this ? isnt this the symptom of a social problem ?

Hiding behind ganja to do nothing about the social problem is not even funny anyore , we are becoming an international embarrassement ,we cant justify colonial propoganda anymore to victimise our own .

Its legal in amersterdam, and colorado , india too , from what I see their economies are doing damm well for a bunch of zombies ,psycho and lazy people.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I would like to add , i know police officers and military personal in Jamaica , who argue the war on ganja is a joke , a waste of resources that only clogg up the system and lead to corruption in bribes of the sort, they are selective as to who they lock up or box up . its all based on mood and profit, basically if a bway talk to him too hard and im ave im spilff dat get dealt with, if a man ave X pounds , some corrupted souls will trun a blind eye when plams are greased.They only come down hard when the Feds are doing a joint opt or photo opt...lol

Jamaica doesnbt have to feel out of place any more , the master would be more than pleased we are taking pro active steps, I gaurantee a fall in crime stats and an increase in tourism revenue,the savings from criminalising our won (clogging up the system) would be in the multi millions ) and the revenue from the ganja niche market will increase , the revenue garnerd from a ganaja ticketing agency would further reduce our debt.

Money deh deh fi mek , dat will mek yuh mad

Little Personal Interest in the Matter

Like I alluded, X, I have no abiding interest in the subject of the legalization of ganja. I have never smoked the weed; in fact I have never ever even held it in my hands or been within six inches of a stick of ganja!

I commented in this thread simply because you called me out (and also, for whatever reason, HL and OJ as well).

Anyway, since you asked about my comment on 40 percent of Jamaicans being mentally unstable to one degree or another (the national average for other countries is in the region of 6 or 7 percent, I believe), I’m providing my psychiatric source. I am aware that this is not linked to your original argument, but I am simply responding to your question as to the psychiatrist who served as my source.

This Madness Has To Stop!
            Published Sunday, September 23, 2012

As family values collapse and social bonds unravel, Jamaicans are going bonkers

Martin Henry, Contributor

Early in the New Year, this newspaper reported that psychiatrist Frederick Hickling and research partner Vanessa Paisley had discovered that some 40 per cent of Jamaicans have some kind of personality disorder.

Now doctor-politician Kenneth Baugh is telling us that the high incidence of personality disorder in the society is as a result of a breakdown in the family structure. It should be clear - even to the insane - that we cannot continue like this.

(Read more, if you wish: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...us/focus1.html )

He's a maniac - How to know your mate has a personality disorder

By DONNA HUSSEY-WHYTE All Woman writer
            Monday, February 21, 2011
            RESEARCH by professor Fredrick Hickling, lecturer at the University of the West Indies and clinical psychologist Vanessa Paisley, suggests that nearly a million adult Jamaicans suffer from personality disorders (PDs). This means many of us are with partners who may be considered unstable! A personality disorder is said to exist when the way in which an individual consistently perceives, relates to and thinks about him/herself and the world around him/her is so rigid and out of sync with others that it causes great difficulty in forming and sustaining relationships and coping with the normal stresses of daily living.

Hickling and Paisley believe the findings could explain the behavioural dysfunction problems in the Jamaican population, including psychosexual problems such as multiple sexual partners, sexual dysfunction and abnormal sexual practices.

Lol

This is nothing to do with the main topic but Historian, I hereby nominate you for the Most Creative Use of Smilies/Emoticons award for 2012!

I did not even know there was a "head in hand" emoticon, LOL!
              Thanks, boss!

psychosexual problems such as multiple sexual partners, sexual dysfunction and abnormal sexual practices

I tell you i would NOT be surprised if JA has a higher than average population of sexual deviants.

Why? "Thou doth protest too much, methinks."

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  [FONT=Verdana","sans-serif]Like I alluded, X, I have no abiding interest in the subject of the legalization of ganja. I have never smoked the weed; in fact I have never ever even held it in my hands or been within six inches of a stick of ganja!
                  Please stick to the topic at hand, and be reminded of RBSC rule 11.30 regarding post highjacking.
                  Don't be ashamed about admitting to smoking weed, most have tried it at least once.

RBSC rule 11.30 regarding post highjacking.
                    One rule go so fe true? I would never have knowm.

What the rule say, highjacking is allowed and highly encouraged?

There is a lot of comedy on the forum this morning and this rule appears believable.

I cannot understand why anyone will hide behind distorted facts, to justify crimninalsing another , thats what it is and thats what peaves me off , nothing that you have presented can be linked to ganja ,the authors themselves dont equate it with ganja , why throw it up , instead they link it with a break down in the family social structure , so are you saying ganja broke down the familial structure ?

Come betta boss man you dealing with X ! seriously criminalise to justify what

1) Ganja is breaking down the familial structure in Jamaica, so why not in India , Amersterdam etc ? do they have better genes to have a stronger social structure than us in Jamaica.

Your arguement is one that is really up in smoke.The reality is we use ganja to blame on our social ills , that to me is real schizophrenia ,i.e mental,socail,economoc and now sexual.

Ask any psyhologist , socialologist mental illness comes from one underliying factor the minds ability to deal with stress, yes some of it is genetic , but that is the school of thought in psychiatry,why are Jamaicans so stressed , is it di ganja ?....Please.
                        Last edited by Sir X; December 23, 2012, 02:05 PM.

The next time anybody meets the psychiatrist (Hickling) who states that 40% have mental issues ask him if he uses ganja. Not saying anymore on that. Jamaica's problems do no stem from ganja. The laws against Ganja are rediculous and non-sensical.

X...lend mi a rissla...

Yuh sure yuh nuh want a baton , handcuff or bullet fi put inna a ganja youth ead ?