• Reggae GOLDEN JUBILEE - 50th Anniversary - "Origins of Jamai

Reggae GOLDEN JUBILEE - 50th Anniversary - "Origins of Jamaican Music"

Comments anyone?
    Thanks!

I love it!

Just a quick question Karl. Is there any music by Clancy Eccles included in the collection?. He produced, and performed some of the most influential political campaign music in Jamaica's history, like Joshua, and no historical collection of Jamaican music can be considered complete without his music. So, I am just interested to know if a collection done by Seaga would include Eccles's works. I would be pleasantly surprised if Seaga would include that artiste, given his(Seaga's) history of tribalism, narrowmindedness, and being the chief architect, and purveyor-in-chief of political hate, and violence in Jamaica. This is only one man's opinion though.

You can't blame Seaga for his personal choice. This work should have been done by the Jamaica 50 Secreteriat and the minister of culture. Seaga saw their shortfall and along with VP record took advantage of this.

We drop the ball. There is not an album for Jamaica 50th from the officials. Don't you also think VP record also promoting their interest? Not only Seaga.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
        Just a quick question Karl. Is there any music by Clancy Eccles included in the collection?. He produced, and performed some of the most influential political campaign music in Jamaica's history, like Joshua, and no historical collection of Jamaican music can be considered complete without his music. So, I am just interested to know if a collection done by Seaga would include Eccles's works. I would be pleasantly surprised if Seaga would include that artiste, given his(Seaga's) history of tribalism, narrowmindedness, and being the chief architect, and purveyor-in-chief of political hate, and violence in Jamaica. This is only one man's opinion though.
        No Clancy Eccles

LOL...whay am I not surprised,Joshua rod of correction.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You can't blame Seaga for his personal choice. This work should have been done by the Jamaica 50 Secreteriat and the minister of culture. Seaga saw their shortfall and along with VP record took advantage of this.

We drop the ball. There is not an album for Jamaica 50th from the officials. Don't you also think VP record also promoting their interest? Not only Seaga.
            I guess you are right. What should one expect from a failed politician trying to rewrite history and creating a legacy that is undeserving?. He has the benefit of longevity, and as the old saying goes, "The one who lives the longest tells the story". I don't think the country should let him, not when his legacy of garrisonism, and gun culture is eating away the very soul of our society.

Seaga should have some input but why should he be the only one to tell the story? We have many others who could have contributed but why didn't we organize it. VP and Seaga saw the need for this and I can bet it is a collection piece that a few people will benefit from.

Well Sass, he is one of a very few left alive. The Duke, Coxsone, Mrs Pottinger, all of the original Skatalittes except Sterling, Alton Ellis, Bob, Peter, and I can go on and on, are all gone. Also all the old politicians gone, except Seaga, so he is exploiting the opening to rewrite HIStory, which is not necessarily true history. The benefit of longevity. I guess if he or VP never did it, then Blackwell probably would. Can't predict which would be worse, Blackwell's or Seaga's selection of what music would be most important in representing Jamaica's cultural heritage.

He is one of the first but we have a lot of musicologist or people with indept knowledge about the business who could be used. You still have a few foundation music people around still.

Skatalites basically invented ska and Seaga selected Byron Lee to go to the World's Fair to showcase ska to the world. That action alone will tell even a casual observer of Jamaican music that he does not have any credibility in terms of expressing or documenting Jamaica's musical history. At least to me, and I am sure I am not the only one who feels that way.

Was Seaga a producer then? Byron Lee Dynamic sounds and Federal Records was owned by who??? Inna this music business people push them own. You asking for too much when you asking a single person to be authority on Jamaican music history. A combination, a committee would do a much better job. Seaga going to choose his friends, his like and his taste not necessarily the BEST. VP going to have him choose people in their catolog and who willing to give them rights to their music.

So it's HIStory and not the true history of Jamaican music. So why don't they label it as such, and the government should deny licensing rights to the Jamaica 50 logo and label. Btw I thought that they said the use of the Jamaica50 was strictly guarded and patented. What happened in this case?. What a set of jokers and idiots.

You that is our problem. How can we use one man to decide the 50. We know his politics, but take politics out of it for a moment. If you ask Cocksone to choose you don't think he would be bias towards his label and business? Now add that to the politics and friend loyalty.

It should never have gotten Jamaica 50 Logo. Sly and Robbie and others have albums celebrating Jamaica fifty too but they would never get logo. There is no one authority on Jamaican music I would use for the Jamaica fifty slection.

You that is our problem. How can we use one man to decide the 50. We know his politics, but take politics out of it for a moment. If you ask Cocksone to choose you don't think he would be bias towards his label and business? Now add that to the politics and friend loyalty.

It should never have gotten Jamaica 50 Logo. Sly and Robbie and others have albums celebrating Jamaica fifty too but they would never get logo. There is no one authority on Jamaican music I would use for the Jamaica fifty slection.
                            You are asking a question that I can't answer and you can't answer. Coxsone is dead and this discussion is not about Coxsone. So let's skip the counterfactual and evaluate Seaga. He is the one who did the selection, not Coxsone or the Duke. The country should never have allowed him or VP to hijack the logo and most of all the idea. This should have been put out, like you said, by the Institute of Jamaica, or some equivalent body. Not Edward Seaga. Even PJ Patterson, as much as do not care for the guy, would have been a more decent choice to allow for the usage of the Jamaica 50 insignia to be used on a musical selection.

Boss...yuh jus date yuhself?
                              ...but that selection by Seaga and was is still a strange one???