stone wall vs chain link fence

• stone wall vs chain link fence

question for the engineers : if everyone were to replace stone walls with chain link fences would i be more protected from flooding?
    sass spoke about the security aspect as a safety barrier from other people suggesting chain link is better...i'm interested in the natural disaster (flooding) aspect .

A chain link fence retaining wall or flood water barrier would probably not be very effective

Then again I'm no engineer

Best protection - move to higher ground.

I think a study would have to be done base on the teritory. However in Jamaica where everybody just put up wall, in many cases they maybe keeping fast moving water inside with the retaining wall. It also depends on how good the wall is built too.

Exile a dat mi say too.

I think a study would have to be done base on the teritory. However in Jamaica where everybody just put up wall, in many cases they maybe keeping fast moving water inside with the retaining wall. It also depends on how good the wall is built too.

Exile a dat mi say too.
          mi tink ah study needs to be done to see wat PR was imbibing fi mek im aks dat deh question

A proper retaining wall should be built with a crushed stone drainage layer & weep holes...

My guess...some cheap rum...lol.

...very cheap... Westbees supermarket has Appleton Estate 750 ml (26 oz) for $59.99 TT or about $9.50US, not a bad price but, it can't replace the El Dorado 12 or 15 yr old.

After careful consideration and staying away from the cheap stuff... I think a "hybrid' is in order... a 3 and a half foot base of concrete blocks topped with 2 feet of chain link...

awright bredrin ...pass de rum!

lol

Got any flood plain maps? The GIS detail in T&T may not ideal, but build as far away from the flood plain as you can. More detail might be available at the parish council.
                      http://www.odpm.gov.tt/sites/default...risk_multi.pdf

Wait.. Kartel all sing bout dem ting deh ??!

Rum cheaper in TT....Wray & Nephew white rum esp.....save some of the 15 yo for me....

You should wait until the resident expert returns......