Mick Jagger is not a great singer either...but there is something about these (type) of entertainers that makes them special.
JA’s Top 5 Greatest Female Recording Artists?
thinking about it I maybe wrong. Mallory did "Boom She Boom" in the same time.
let me think.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Are you thinking about Dwight Pickney who called himself Brother D? I think that was done with Shirley McClean and not Sophia. He still record but mainly as an instrumentalist and a good one too. Both Mallory and Dwight are musicians who took time out to have some fun but went back to the background.
Naggin so
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miQLX...=results_video- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yeah Brother D! I did not know Brother D was Dwight Pickney! Learn something every day.
Yes I think you right the duet I am thinking about was with Shirley McClean. Maybe Historian is referring to a different song then.
I knew Mallory was an experienced musician , toured with Jimmy Cliff for I while I believe."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
a mussi only Winston Williams woulda call it right. Mi sure him never mind when he was racking up the airplay and charts- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
That's It!
Originally posted by Islandman View PostYeah Brother D! I did not know Brother D was Dwight Pickney! Learn something every day.
Yes I think you right the duet I am thinking about was with Shirley McClean. Maybe Historian is referring to a different song then.
I knew Mallory was an experienced musician , toured with Jimmy Cliff for I while I believe.
This song, “Bigger Boss” by Shirley McLean and Dwight Pinkney (Brother Dee) is the one I was referring to, but I mistakenly attributed it to Sophia George (lol)!
By the way, Pinkney was guitarist with Zap Pow (the band which had a young Beres Hammond as lead singer) before going full time into studio work.
You mentioned Mallory Williams -- he is a first-class jazz pianist. His dad Luther Williams was a highly regarded Jamaican jazz pianist.