JA’s Top 5 Greatest Female Recording Artists?

Thanks for the Reminder!

You left out Myrna. Although she only record a few album she has a bigtime seller.

Chevil Franklyn(sp)

Could also mention Carol Gonzales and Sasha.

Wicked list still.

Sorry so man of the ladies just take back seat as it is a man(ruff neck) industry primarily. Talking people like Jennifer Lara, Sharon Tucker, Sheila Hylton, Sophia George etc.
    ‘Sass, you just highlighted the challenge behind creating such a list: someone will inevitably be left out! The truth is that Myrna Hague is indeed an outstanding singer, as are Chevelle Franklin, Carol Gonzales (I used to love “Personal Delivery”) and Sasha. Unfortunately, I had completely forgotten about these wonderful ladies while making the list, which is why, in addition to not being on the “All-Time Top 20 Greatest,” they are not on the “Others You May Wish to Consider” list.

That second “Others You May Wish to Consider” list would definitely have included Sharon Tucker and Jennifer Lara (Sheila Hylton is already on the “Top 20” list). I cannot remember much about Sophia George, aside from a comedy-type song she had recorded as a duo with a male singer (something about woman being the better one, or something of the sort).

There is no question that these wonderful singers belong on one of these two lists. Thanks for the reminder, boss!

Re: Grace Jones

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
      This is a top-notch production, TDowl, and one which the vast majority of Jamaican singers, male of female, will never ever be fortunate enough to experience (performing at the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Concert is no joke).

However, and this clearly is just my personal opinion, as a singer Grace Jones is dwarfed by many other Jamaican female singers. What do you think?

Lol Jangle

This is a tough task here Histy. That's like saying pick your favourite Bob Marley or Michael Jackson song. I know that my top five would include Marcia Griffiths, Diana King, The Chin sisters (I love both of them) JC Lodge, Etana....how much that me gone?
        Slightly over the limit; that’s six (lol). But those are outstanding singers you have selected.

Yep, it does take a lot of thought tocompile. My personal favorites would definitely include Cynthia Schloss, Diana King and Pam Hall, but like I said above, I find it impossible to even break this down to a “Top 10” much less a “Top 5” (lol).

Lol Doc

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
          My list would be Marcia Griffiths number, Marcia Griffithe number 2 and Marcia Griffiths number 3.
          Doc (lol), while I admire your undying devotion to the great Marcia Griffiths (I truly love her voice as well), others like Pam Hall and Cynthia Schloss are very, very good as well, boss.

I have always felt that Jamaica is definitely blessed with its share of talented women. As in the case of the USA, however, many of these talented voices are hidden in the churches.

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
            Brilliant...Just brilliant!!!

My type of performance!

Grace Jones is international

Re: Marion Hall

You said, JA’s Top 5 Most Talented Female Recording Artists? Is Marion Hall a recording artiste? How many of the ladies listed above have a grammy award? Marion Hall does.

Oh wait, are you implying the grammy winner isn't talented? Step up to the crease Historian.
              Lazie, I have never regarded Lady Saw as being an outstanding singer, because she clearly is not! (Winning Grammys have very little to do with talent.) She has achieved prominence, but as in the case of male singers like Bob Dylan and Bob Marley, there is nothing particularly outstanding about her singing ability (as a diehard Luther Vandross fan, Lazie, my friend, you should recognize this ).

I remembered recording artists like Lady Saw, Sister Carol and Queen Ifrica, but could not get myself to put them on any of my lists.

Don’t get me wrong, Lady Saw is a talented writer indeed, and I recall Gwen Stephanie (lead singer for pop-rock group No Doubt) expressing astonishment at how quickly Lady Saw had composed the deejay section to their hit, “Underneath It All.”

However, I place Lady Saw in the category of sing-jay.

Personally I think she is more talented than you give credit for. The problem with Saw is that she bought into the hype and haven't used the vocals that she can deliver and therefore hasn't really develop on them.

I would like to see her perform as Marion Hall, and not "Lady Saw" to really judge this still. I believe she can deliver.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  I cannot remember much about Sophia George, aside from a comedy-type song she had recorded as a duo with a male singer (something about woman being the better one, or something of the sort).
                  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82O6VhIGihI

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                    Don’t get me wrong, Lady Saw is a talented writer indeed, and I recall Gwen Stephanie (lead singer for pop-rock group No Doubt) expressing astonishment at how quickly Lady Saw had composed the deejay section to their hit, “Underneath It All.
                    Just a correction I know you will appreciate - it is Gwen STEFANI.

HL??

Yu nuh sih she copy Macka Diamond? LOL Macka to de werl...

Seriously, GJ in her own category... as an entertainer...no great singer IMO.
                      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCLTxWzO16o
                      Last edited by Peter R; December 21, 2012, 08:47 PM.

Much Appreciated!

Just a correction I know you will appreciate - it is Gwen STEFANI.
                        Thanks for the correction, Mo, and yes, I honestly appreciate it !

Thanks also for the YouTube link to Sophia George’s hit, “You Too Girlie Girlie.” As soon as the first few bars of music started I remembered this 1980s recording. I can’t believe that I had actually forgotten it. I wonder where she is today and what she is doing.

Thanks once again, boss .

You're welcome!

The next music post I would like us to explore is Jamaicans who had big hits while living abroad. I was surprised to know that Junior had Jamaican parents. His huge disco hit, Mama Used to Say, is one of my favorites from that era. I am sure most people, including our radio DJs, don't know this because they have never ever mentioned it when they play his chunes.

Denroy Morgan we all know. But, I bet there are others out there that we don't know about.

That is your homework for the weekend!

By the way, I saw Grace Jones the other day at a beach on the north coast. For a 64 year old woman, she wasn't doing too badly in her bikini! A friend of mine wanted to take a picture with her but she politely declined because she did not have on her Grace Jones face, but she was nice otherwise and struck up a conversation with those around her. She even danced a jig at one point!

Sophia was married to her manager. They have a son that is currently playing for New England Patriot in the NFL. She hasn't recorded much. Only one album I think was a hit in Jamaica.

Sass, you remember the name of the guy who did the duet with Sophia that Historian is referring to? The song was named Bigger Boss or something like that.

I just can't remember his name but I remember he had a minor hit with tune named "How You Nagging So" with the popular line "Negge negge inna me ears".

That was Malory Williams.