JA’s Top 5 Greatest Female Recording Artists?

• JA’s Top 5 Greatest Female Recording Artists?

JA’s Top 5 Most Talented Female Recording Artists?

RBSC Massive, it’s your time! I have selected a list of what I regard as Jamaica’s Top 20 All-Time Most Talented Female Recording Artists to assist you; now you break it down to the Top 5 Best.

This list, of course, is based solely on my preferences and taste and so you should, of course, feel completely free to add female singers of your choice who are not on this admittedly limited list!

NOTE: This Top 20 preliminary round of female singers has the artists listed in alphabetical order – they are NOT listed in order of talent.

All-Time Top 20 Greatest:

Cherine Anderson

Lorna Bennett

Tessanne Chin

Carlene Davis

Phyllis Dillon

Hortense Ellis

Etana

Marcia Griffiths

Pam Hall

Sheila Hylton

Diana King

Alaine Laughton

J.C. Lodge

Judy Mowatt

Cynthia Schloss

Millie Small

Tanya Stephens

Nadine Sutherland

Karen Smith

Shirley Willis (former Grace Thrillers leadsinger)

Others You May Wish to Consider:

Marcia Barrett (former Boney M lead singer)

Tami Chynn

Rita Marley

Liz Mitchell (former Boney M lead singer)

Dawn Penn

Jovi Rockwell

pretty comprehensive list that! better a top 20 than a top 5!

You left out Myrna. Although she only record a few album she has a bigtime seller.

Chevil Franklyn(sp)

Could also mention Carol Gonzales and Sasha.

Wicked list still.

Sorry so man of the ladies just take back seat as it is a man(ruff neck) industry primarily. Talking people like Jennifer Lara, Sharon Tucker, Sheila Hylton, Sophia George etc.

Ah wah disya...two James Bond movie nuh mek list..move ova pretendas...weh Ben deh...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3y4ZAkTCcQ.

Beat this performance...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WdwEgzDNb2w

Trend setter...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYkVtz6ozJE

True dat LOL. Why not a top 10 then move to a top 5. Either way mi know phyllis and marcia ah go inna it.

This is a tough task here Histy. That's like saying pick your favourite Bob Marley or Michael Jackson song. I know that my top five would include Marcia Griffiths, Diana King, The Chin sisters (I love both of them) JC Lodge, Etana....how much that me gone?
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Voice wise Diana is easily my favorite.

I like Judy more than Marcia personally. I Wish she had done more solo work.

You said, JA’s Top 5 Most Talented Female Recording Artists? Is Marion Hall a recording artiste? How many of the ladies listed above have a grammy award? Marion Hall does.

Oh wait, are you implying the grammy winner isn't talented? Step up to the crease Historian.

Phyllis Dillon proably has the best body of work overall..
                      Mille small opened the doors
                      and Marcia longevity.

GJ is the top ONE in her OWN category! she definitely fits no mould...

This is a tough task here Histy. That's like saying pick your favourite Bob Marley or Michael Jackson song. I know that my top five would include Marcia Griffiths, Diana King, The Chin sisters (I love both of them) JC Lodge, Etana....how much that me gone?
                          My list would be Marcia Griffiths number, Marcia Griffithe number 2 and Marcia Griffiths number 3.

I like your diagnosis... anyone named "Reggaedoc" ought to know!

Tough Job (lol)

Originally posted by Gamma
                              pretty comprehensive list that! better a top 20 than a top 5!
                              True dat LOL. Why not a top 10 then move to a top 5. Either way mi know phyllis and marcia ah go inna it.
                              Thanks, Gamma and Jawge . I spent quite a while putting this together, but to be honest I found it impossible to narrow the list down to a “Top 10” much less a “Top 5” (lol).

Jawge, the two names you mentioned are indeed outstanding singers, no question about that.