Too many Doctors and Masters of Ginnalship

Well, you never know. The forum is tough terrain but we haffe keep working the field.

A ship lost at sea for many days suddenly sighted a friendly vessel. From the mast of the unfortunate vessel was seen a signal: “Water, water. We die of thirst.” The answer from the friendly vessel at once came back: “Cast down your bucket where you are.”

A second time, the signal, “Water, send us water!” went up from the distressed vessel. And was answered: “Cast down your bucket where you are.” A third and fourth signal for water was answered: “Cast down your bucket where you are.”

The captain of the distressed vessel, at last heeding the injunction, cast down his bucket and it came up full of fresh, sparkling water from the mouth of the Amazon River.

Noice!!!

Mek wi CAST it dung an mebbe UTech cyan get some elp!!

Excellent!!

The idea of independent angle function of each blade to maximize efficiency--and lower overall stress on the machine appears novel.

I hope your engineering bredren is thinking about using fiberglass as the blades for his turbine...

Jamaica should be advance in energy production from wind at this stage. The will of the leadership is lacking.

As to yam production; it is this same Fiberglass rods-- at ideal length and girth that could be used. It is not difficult to produce. This material will outlast logs by several years. It will reduce yam productioin cost.

Research is need to verify this theory.

I believe he is currently researching what material will be best suited for the blades, and even if it can be produced with local raw material. So whatever material he decides on might be suitable for the rods you mention as well.

Hmmm. I will definitely run it by him. Thanks!!

BTW you recognize that "Cast down your bucket" story right?

No... I did not get it!

Enough with the Jamaica tracing already!

Are JLIJ any different from JNLIJ? How much research have you guys been doing since moving to America? How can we use your research to advance mankind, much less the people of Jamaica?

The yam stick thing is old and people have been pushing to new sticks for years. It has not caught on as much as they would have liked. Maybe the yams grown on plastic sticks just don't taste as good as those grown on real sticks. I dunno!

Yuh know why research is not as prevalent as it should be? When people need to make money to feed families they can't be devoting years to research that may not lead to anywhere while making little money.

This is not to excuse whatever laziness exists among us. But sometimes I wonder if we really know what is happening at our universities. Maybe we should investigate before we invest more time tracing our own people.

And no, I have never researched anything in my life and I have no letters behind my name!

Are JLIJ any different from JNLIJ? How much research have you guys been doing since moving to America? How can we use your research to advance mankind, much less the people of Jamaica?

The yam stick thing is old and people have been pushing to new sticks for years. It has not caught on as much as they would have liked. Maybe the yams grown on plastic sticks just don't taste as good as those grown on real sticks. I dunno!

Yuh know why research is not as prevalent as it should be? When people need to make money to feed families they can't be devoting years to research that may not lead to anywhere while making little money.

This is not to excuse whatever laziness exists among us. But sometimes I wonder if we really know what is happening at our universities. Maybe we should investigate before we invest more time tracing our own people.

And no, I have never researched anything in my life and I have no letters behind my name!
                  Is this in response to the article? What does JLIJ v those living overseas have to do with what was said? Furthermore, you are aware the writer lives in Jamaica?

Booker T Washington....the so-called Atlanta compromise speech.

I have never been totally comfortable with the objective of the speech but the analogy he used always stuck with me after I read it.

The thread had moved on from the original post. I was addressing the more recent comments.

Simply put: "edication can't nyam"

Yuh realize we are entering the POST info age?

Some ah dem degree was purchased or forged.

LOL, I think we try explain that to him a few times.

Very retro sounding though. Quaint.

He doesn't ....still stuck in the 1980s-1990s

This may account for dated views like Jamaica's desperate need for a college of history
                                Last edited by Don1; December 22, 2012, 09:12 AM.