Too many Doctors and Masters of Ginnalship

Alternative to yamsticks urgently needed

SAWYERS, Trelawny — Member of Parliament for South Trelawny Marissa Dalrymple Philibert wants an alternative to the cutting of trees for yam sticks as part of an overall effort to reduce deforestation.
    South Trelawny communities such as Warsop, Troy, Sawyers, Wait- a- Bit, Albert Town, Ulster Spring depend on yam farming for the domestic and export markets.
    Minister of Water, Land, Environment, and Climate Change Robert Pickersgill (second left) and South Trelawny MP Marissa Dalrymple Philibert (right) interact during the launch of the Sawyers Local Forest Management Committee (LFMC) in Trelawny last week. Also in picture are Mayor of Falmouth Garth Wilkinson (left) and Jesus Orus Baguena, Head of Operations at the Delegation of the EU. (Photo: Horace Hines) ‘Stop cutting
    1/1
    Underscoring the need to preserve the forest, the South Trelawny MP lamented that down the years farmers have continued to deplete the woodlands.
    "The farmers need the yam sticks but we cannot continue to cut out all the (trees) and use them for the yams," Dalrymple Philibert argued at the recent launch of the Sawyers Local Forest Management Committee (LFMC) in Trelawny.
    Dalrymple said the time has now come when "we are facing the consequences of destroying all the greenery around us" and "must now tackle the problem".
    "Here in South Trelawny we don't have the beaches and we don't have any great industry: we are a great farming community, proud industrious farmers and therefore we must embrace and encourage and work with the department so that we can preserve our forestry," she said.
    Minister of Water, Land, Environment and Climate Change Robert Pickersgill stressed the importance of the launch of the LFMC, because of among other things, Sawyers' closeness to the Cockpit Country, which produces
    40 percent of Jamaica's fresh water.
    He emphasised that the Cockpit Country was critical to the country's cultural and environmental heritage and should by all means be preserved and protected for generations to come.
    Jesus Orus Baguena, Head of Operations at the Delegation of the European Union(EU) in Jamaica announced that the Caribbean states and the EU, last week agreed to allocate funding from the European Development Fund (EDF) to tackle Climate Change.
    He pointed out that damage to property and infrastructure from events such as the recent passing of Hurricane Sandy imposed a heavy cost on society and the economy.
    At the same time he emphasised that sectors which rely heavily on certain temperatures and precipitation levels, such as agriculture, forestry, energy and tourism, were most vulnerable.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/envir...#ixzz2G4ccgSRu

Then I must be dreaming! And I was too dumb to realise that I should have acted on my dream!

Oh well, I am Jamaican!

This conservation idea is so basic; it is beyond the scope of the many local PhD's.

I pray that this is not about words...but deeds.

Then I must be dreaming! And I was too dumb to realise that I should have acted on my dream!

Oh well, I am Jamaican!
          Hope you are aware of the business opportunity that exists for you.

Of course! I need to start an "orchard", planting trees that can be used for yam growing!

Duh!

We will see brother HL, we will see.

BTW my take on the original topic of discussion is that it isn't so much too many PhDs as it is too few people at any level who can see a project through from Idea to Goal Setting to Execution to Completion.

Last weekend I again watched the excellent documentary "Waiting for Superman" about the crisis in the US public education system. One of the things that stayed with me this time was that the title describes many of us Jamaicans (both JLIJ and JNLIJ) perfectly, sitting around waiting for a Superman or a Messiah to "come from the sky, take away everything and make everyone feel high".

Well he or she is not coming, I am sad to report. We are on our own. So I say its time for thousands of "nobodys" to do what we can to make the change. Then maybe a decent leader or two will show up, if not now then maybe in the next generation. Its almost too late already.
              Last edited by Islandman; December 26, 2012, 11:31 AM.

So far...so far...
                ...the competition within Jamaica's small market is not fierce? ...it leads to those who have lost 'the drive'. ...i.e. leads most to being accepting and comfortable with the status quo. If we Jamaicans embrace the fact that 'taking off' depends on making the World our playground...that 'drive' would return.

...heeeeeey? Chicken or Egg? ...which 'came' ('comes') first? Do our entities have to start failing to sustain the lifestyles of our 'comfortable ones' before we come awake? ...and then it becomes absolutely necessary for us to 'conquer the World'?

...look at our football? ...would it take rapid turnover of our leader(s) to put fire in the bellies of following generations that would lead to our rapid move to TOP OF THE WORLD? ...currently our leaders seem to be embracers of the status quo...'things' as they are!!! Right?

I was not amused by Mosiah's response above...when i pointed out the business opportunity that exists. Maybe he does not understand..or maybe his response was in jest...

I have a feeling that the Chinese will naturally lead--as some on this forum take pleasure in summoning them to 'our' rescue.
                  Last edited by HL; December 26, 2012, 03:03 PM.

Geez, HL! I am dumb, but nuh suh!

Lighten up! It's the Yuletide season!

ok...let me guh jink some 'hegg-nag then..

Best wishes to you for the New year!!

No! Figget di hegnog! Hegnog have anti-oxidants? It have effect pon cancer cells? It can lower high blood pressure?

Drink Sorrel! (Wid a likkle dash a whites! )

Excellent advice!

and what is this post info age? It muh haff nuh name? The age of conspiracy theories. Aliens returning to earth. I'm really upset with History channel. It just goes to show the crap that is on TV these days.

just ease up offa the sugar and di whites. Just a touch. Wouldn't want to see HL on the news in his christmas suit running around the block in 50 a try beat bolt summer olympic record .

Also what's killing Ja in the global markets ; is the lack of discipline to compete. Once you give standards (with specifications), they bow out. Look at life and debt. Even check the story of Lweis the engineer and the transformers. Weeks ago the US ambassador was meeting with Ja exporters assc. trying to help them because of their inability to produce at given standards (see observer).

Look out now because you will hear that 40,000 business being closed and how businesses were FINSACED. Yes tax payers' dollars should cover all businesses in Ja. If profits are made it's the owners to keep. Losses it's the govt. fault.