• My 5 Greatest Songwriting Teams

Historian’s Top 5 Greatest Songwriter Teams

1 Burt Bacharach and Hal David

2 Gamble & Huff

3 Lennon & McCartney

4 Holland-Dozier-Holland

5 Elton John and Bernie Taupin

Honorable Mention:
    6 Rodgers and Hammerstein (Richard Rodgers, music, and Oscar Hammerstein, lyrics)
    7 Isaac Hayes and David Porter
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

Burt Bacharach and Hal David
    Burt Bacharach always wrote the music, while Hal David was responsible for the lyrics, and what a combination this was! If you cannot remember their classics, just check, for example, the major hits by Dionne Warwick from the 1960s onwards!

This songwriter team first began collaboration in the late 1950s until they parted company in the late 1970s. There is no point in attempting to list their hits, because there were so many! However, in case anyone here doubts their contribution, just think of songs like “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head” (BJ Thomas), “Message to Michael,” “Alfie,” “I Say a Little Prayer,” “Don’t Make Me Over,” “This Guy’s in Love With You,” “Always Something There to Remind Me,” “Walk On By,” and “Do You Know the Way to San Jose,” (Dionne Warwick) and “What the World Needs Now is Love” (Jackie Deshannon).

Hal David died in September 2012.

Gamble & Huff
    Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff were the masterminds behind the hits emanating from Philadelphia International Records. The duo, in fact, had been working together since the 1960s before forming Philadelphia International Records in 1971.

The major hits of Teddy Pendergrass, and hits by others as diverse as Aretha Frankin were written by this songwriting team. Among hits composed by Gamble and Huff are “When Will I See You Again” by the Three Degrees, “Me and Mrs. Jones” by Billy Paul, “Love Train,” “Stairway to Heaven” and “Backstabbers” by the O’Jays, “I’ll Always Love My Mama” by the Intruders, “I Miss You,” “The Love I Lost,” “If You Don’t Know Me By Now” and “Bad Luck” by Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes, “Only the Strong Survive” by Jerry Butler (later a hit for Billy Paul), “Enjoy Yourself” by the Jacksons, and many others.

Lennon & McCartney
    The work of John Lennon and Paul McCartney really needs no introduction! The songwriter team behind the Beatles (my all-time favorite group), their hits have become timeless classics! Memorable products include “The Long and Winding Road,” “All You Need is Love,” “Let it Be,” “Hey Jude,” “Ticket to Ride,” “Yesterday,” “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” “A Hard Day’s Night,” “Norwegian Wood,” etc.

Holland-Dozier-Holland
    Holland-Dozier-Holland were the main songwriters behind Motown’s success in the 1960s. This group of super-talented songwriters was made up of the brothers Eddie and Brian Holland and friend Lamont Dozier. The trio was responsible for classics like “The Happening” and “You Can’t Hurry Love” by Diana Ross and the Supremes (listen to the harmonizing on the latter recording), “It’s the Same Old Song” by the Four Tops, “Band of Gold” by Freda Payne, and many others.

Elton John and Bernie Taupin
    I am always surprised at the large number of people I’ve spoken with who did not realize that as far as music composition is concerned, Elton John was one half of a team that started working together around 1967 (Elton John composed the music while Bernie Taupin was responsible for the lyrics). In fact, Taupin collaborated on ALL of Elton’s hits.

Isaac Hayes and David Porter
    This songwriter team was the house composers for Stax Records in the 1960s. How significant they were, you’re probably wondering? Well, just think of hits like “Hold On, I’m Comin’,” “When Something’s Wrong With My Baby,” and “Soul Man” by Sam & Dave, among many other Stax hits.

By the late 196s, however, both men began to focus on their individual careers, and so the partnership eventually split.

Isaac Hayes died in August 2008.

Hard for me to separate your top 3. They all get my gold medal.

Really, so what about the LaFace team? LA Reid and Babyface were responsible for quite a few hits.

Very glad you mentioned Isaac Hayes.

Day-before-yesterday, I was listening (on my ipod) to an Isaac Hayes album: The Polydor Years.

I would bet that very few on this forum has ever heard or listened to this album.

Anyway, it's Hayes at his writing and orchestrated best! I marvel at his talent. Seems there's not much of that around anymore.

Nick Ashford & Valerie Simpson
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

They would have to be in my list.

I liked LaFace but after a while their songs started sounding the same to me.

Carole King & Gerry Goffin -

HIts:
              Will you love me tomorrow (Shirelles)
              Take Good Care of My Baby (Bobby Vee)
              The Locomotion (Little Eva)
              Go Away Little Girl ( Steve Lawrence)
              Up on the Roof (The Drifters)
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

tenk yuh sah!

just listen to ike's mood and hung up on my baby ... cafe regios gets honourable mention.

Thanks for the Reminders!

Nick Ashford & Valerie Simpson
                    Damn, I completely forgot about Ashford & Simpson!

Jangle, you are absolutely correct that the husband and wife team of Valerie Simpson and Nick Ashford should belong on this Top 5 list!

5. Ashford & Simpson.

Right off the top of my head I’m recalling gems composed by the pair, including those hits by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell, “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” and “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing,” as well as “I’m Every Woman” (Chaka Khan). They also wrote timeless classics like “Reach Out and Touch Somebody’s Hand” and others I can’t remember right now.

I was first introduced to their music as a little boy when I came across an LP that included Valerie Simpson’s gospel classic, “The Fool Says in His Heart (There is No God).”

Thanks for the reminder about Carole King as well . As far as she is concerned, I didn’t remember her when compiling the list, but even if I did, it would be sort of tricky to separate the great stuff she composed with Gerry Goffin and the great songs she wrote after their separation.

Mo, I agree with you on the top three on this list. In fact, it was really difficult to decide in what position to place all three. By the way, Holland-Dozier-Holland was also a top-notch team.

Lazie, I didn’t forget about Babyface and LA Reid when I was compiling my list, but I just couldn’t fit them in what I consider (on a purely personal basis) to be the very best of the best teams, or “Top 5 Greatest.” Same for other hit teams such as Simon & Garfunkel.

Thanks for your interesting comments and input, Mosiah, Lazie, HL, Jangle and Islandman. Not only was my memory refreshed, but I genuinely enjoyed reading what you gentlemen posted.

Mt Thanks for Comments (Contd)

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                      Thanks for your interesting comments and input, Mosiah, Lazie, HL, Jangle and Islandman. Not only was my memory refreshed, but I genuinely enjoyed reading what you gentlemen posted.

And Gamma too, who made his posts while I was typing. As a result, I did not realize that he had made an input until I posted the above.

Hall and Oats?

Simon & Garfunkel were good, but Simon by himself is a genius!

Historian, any idea how many of the Beatles songs were Lennon/McCartney joint productions vs being written by one or the other?

Somehow I never r saw them as a songwriting team in the mold of a Gamble/Huff but more as individual songwriters in he same group. But that might just be my perception. I never checked the Beatles songwriting credits in any detail.

Very Good Question

Historian, any idea how many of the Beatles songs were Lennon/McCartney joint productions vs being written by one or the other?

Somehow I never r saw them as a songwriting team in the mold of a Gamble/Huff but more as individual songwriters in he same group. But that might just be my perception. I never checked the Beatles songwriting credits in any detail.
                              You’ve asked a very good question, Islandman.

Many observers believe that not all the compositions credited to Lennon & McCartney were actually jointly written in the way that, for example, Gamble and Huff songs or Burt Bacharach and Hal David songs were. It is believed that, although both men worked jointly, particularly in the early years, some later songs nevertheless may have been written by Paul McCartney alone, while some others may have been written by John Lennon alone.

We can only speculate, however, as the credits state BOTH names (John Lennon and Paul McCartney).

By the way, lead guitarist George Harrison (“Something” and “Here Comes the Sun”) played only a very minor songwriting role, while drummer Ringo Starr was never a factor in the songwriting.

In the case of the other songwriting groups on my list, there is no speculation, as these other groups had clear distinctions as to who wrote the music and who wrote the lyrics (although I cannot say for sure for Ashford and Simpson, despite the fact that Valerie Simpson was a trained pianist). For example, Elton John never messed with lyrics; it was always Bernie Taupin, including even the tribute to Princess Di.