'Speak only standard English in schools'

Iman as a computer scientist; I know that you are aware that mathematics is based on exact rules followed by a rigor in logic as proofs. Therefore a loose dialect will not help in understanding math. Unless you are speaking of just memorizing computational techniques. This in itself would have no place in the info age. As we know the info age is driven by rigorous theoretical research.

I may be getting ahead of myself. Please explain. Thanks.
    Last edited by Jawge; December 19, 2012, 01:00 PM.

Oh "standardized tests". Please continue

Thanks for your contribution but i suggest you stick to the sexual objectification topics.
        lol

Explain WHAT?

Are you a linguist? Are you an expert in the relationship between language and social status?

Well I am not so I listen to views and read data from those who know more about it than me and then go about forming an opinion. That is what I am in the process of doing on this issue.

You may already have formed an opinion and that's fine. Free forum.

No I'm not, but ask the linguist and social scientist why doesn't all English, French or Germans just don't naturally score high on their language tests.

BTW is there a formal way to write the above languages?

Me too! Literally!

Wow ... I had to pinch myself.
              Damn, me too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is it that our friend X has converted overnight, or is my memory failing (as I believe it is)?!

Err, I'man, check your facts again

I haven't heard much talk about teaching patwa, the primary discussion recently has been mostly about experimenting with teaching children other subjects USING patwa because they are more familiar with it.
                Devonish is an advocate for patois to be made an official language in Jamaica and be used alongside English in the education system.

The subject has stirred much controversy in Jamaica, with passionate views both for and against the use of patois.

Commenting on the Hope Valley project, Devonish said the teachers delivered lessons bilingually in both English and Jamaican creole, and told the children when they were switching languages.

(My source: The Observer, Saturday, December 1, 2012;
                http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...hools_13123974 )

I know that is his view, but the project is not primarily about teaching patois for any cultural value, it is to determine whether there is value in using it for learning other subjects INCLUDING English. Again, basically treating English as a second language.

I KNOW Rita, good friend of mine. Yuh wrong!

Mrs Lewin to you say! LoL

She seems to be equating patio with dancehall lyrics for some unknown reason.

There is no substantial difference between Miss Lou's patois and the patois spoken by the average person on the street today.

I have always presented the point that teaching and learning patwa is a literacy comprehension issue , i am not against it being taught , but i dont believe we have the resources to teach it at the junior level,it should be taught at the university level though , from a linguistic point of view.I see no harm in patwa, i see more harm with illterates.

Commonsense would dictate that if we make english a 2nd language then the high schoolers will struggle with standard english in universities, arent they struggling already ? How prepared will Jamaica be for the global commercial world where standard english is the norm ?

Totally different point of view from those who want it banished period.That is totally unacceptable.We verse in it everyday and it isnt going anywhere.

Acknowledge it , as they have in the U.K as worthy of academia in universities, but then again we always trying to impress di white man by disowning our own for them to take it up and make money off it.i.e ganja , patwa, rasta gear etc etc.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Well Said!

I have always presented the point that teaching and learning patwa is a literacy comprehension issue , i am not against it being taught , but i dont believe we have the resources to teach it at the junior level,it should be taught at the university level though , from a linguistic point of view.I see no harm in patwa, i see more harm with illterates.

Commonsense would dictate that if we make english a 2nd language then the high schoolers will struggle with standard english in universities, arent they struggling already ? How prepared will Jamaica be for the global commercial world where standard english is the norm ?

Totally different point of view from those who want it banished period.That is totally unacceptable.We verse in it everyday and it isnt going anywhere.
                            X, I have to admit it: You have made some very good, certainly very sensible points here!

Okay one last attempt. Cuba is ahead of the whole region in science, mathematics, engineering and technology. It's no secret that Cuba was taught by the Russians. How did the Cubans learn? Did the Russians have to resort to the Cuban dialect. This way the Cubans could get a deeper understanding of math and science or is it that they had to speak Russian. Mo and others can jump in to help out here.

A nation such as Ja (with sparse economic resources) should have a clear cut objective when embarking on new ventures within the education system. What is the objective of teaching Patois in the now info age.Thanks

yo know that christmas is coming ..... you know i have to agree with you wholeheartedly on this.

twice fi di year ...... i have to slap misself!