'Speak only standard English in schools'

Perhaps, but this statement is ignorant:

"What is happening now is that the language is deemed with crudeness, crassness and vulgarity, and this is what is being planted in our children's brains at a very early age," Humphries-Lewin declared.

Yuh sound like one a dem NRA man dem..

More guns is the solutions to prevent Gun crimes..

lol ! woiee !

How do they teach English in Barbados ?

I have as you see I am of the belief there is nothing to be gained by teaching it at the prep,primary or high school level.

No because 1) we dont have the resources for that at that young age . 2) if we teach english as a 2nd language how many of them would grasp the concept of its use for university studies for the same concepts in sciences and math ? given that the primary focus at prep & high school was patwa ?

Those two questions would lean me to say teach it at the university level.Its a risk that more than likely will fail if we teach it at the prep and high school level because we would more than likely have to prepare them to communicate on an international level in standard english at the universities , besides like I said its being done already between students and teachers , making it official would to me admit defeat in not being able to educate the masses.BTW we are loosing already.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Thanks for your contribution but i suggest you stick to the sexual objectification topics.

I have an idea to solve the education problem... but it takes Cash to Care.. sorry forget it.. mi figghet is PNP country.. distribution without a clue about production..

When man squandah di country money with poor Economic Policy dem start mek up all mannah ah faught fi 'solve' problems like poorly educated population.. when the solution lies in proper Economic Management of the fvckin country..

Comrade Clowns..

You may be right, I am undecided.

Surely there is nothing wrong with a scientific study of the issue to gather some data is there? Unless of course we are afraid of what the results show.

here is a clue.. It Takes Cash to Care..

Ok.. people.. unnuh tekking the joke too far now...

I suggest proper early Childhood program with appropriate resources for the student population.. just a shot in the dark here..

Yuh come in like di Rboyz dem; when yuh ready fi play yuh play good ball. LOL

So Iman , do you have any data to show that if one is taught in the local dialect, it will improve one's understanding of the subject of mathematics? Thanks.

Just keep in mind though, don't focus too much on whether we should be teaching patois itself, focus on the (for me) more important issue of whether using patois as a tool to teach in early education can be of any help.

Is patois standardized with structure and formalities?

That is exactly the kind of thing the study is attempting to determine. There is a test group and a control group, and the results are being analyzed over time. I don't think they yet have any conclusive evidence one way or the other.

If you are interested in the subject it is probably worth watching the full All Angles program in the video. There are informed opinions speaking on both sides of the issue.
                              Last edited by Islandman; December 19, 2012, 12:46 PM.

There is however, some evidence that learning in their native dialect has helped students in other parts of the world to improve their performance in standardized tests.

Again , if you are interested in knowledge on the subject (and not just debating for the sake of it) you may want to do some research.