• gwynne dyer

http://m.straight.com/s?fid=22&a=334876&f=latest&s=60

Do we have any idea the guns per capita for Jamaica? Probably not. How would we even begin to find out!?

Simple.... Duh

Do we have any idea the guns per capita for Jamaica? Probably not. How would we even begin to find out!?
      By doing a straight house-to-house survey! All 4,243 square miles of our troubled rock!

No sampling from within any damn statistical population will work this time. So, this is not the time for William “Bill” Johnson or Don Anderson or any of those other survey teams. This one is a real, no-holds-barred survey!

This one will be for real!!

I don't know, but the authorities should know at least how many legal guns are out there and then maybe extrapolate from that???

Whichever part of the US Constitution that gave the rights to bear arms etc etc was written and laid down when America was in a state of war against its "colonial master" for lack of a better term... it's kind of like taxes which were meant to be temporary I guess...

...also their history of "having" to subjugate the native population also added to the "necessity" to bear arms...

That's just my amateur two bits to Gwynne Dyer's position.

Answer....

Whichever part of the US Constitution that gave the rights to bear arms etc etc was written and laid down when America was in a state of war against its "colonial master" for lack of a better term... it's kind of like taxes which were meant to be temporary I guess...
            It’s one of the first ten amendments to the Constitution -- the so-called “Bill of Rights.” To be specific, it’s the Second Amendment.

Thanks!

No guns nuh deh a Jamaica. If the police can search Tivoli so and only find about 20 guns, then I would guess about 2 hundred illegal guns deh a Jamaica

We nuh serious bout fighting gangs & the politicians who enable dem.
                  Cut off the heads of the gangs & stop their illegal gun smuggling and you will have a major impact on crime.

Gun homicides and ownership listed by country

Gun homicides and gun ownership listed by country
                    http://www.guardian.co.uk/news/datab...hip-world-list

Gun sales surge across US after Newtown amid fears of crackdown
                    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012...town-crackdown

You know that saying? Lies, damn lies and statistics... Well these are indeed interesting .... seems that if you look at the percentage of murders committed by the gun in Liechtenstein for example it's 100%, so I have a better chance of escaping being shot and killed in JA which is 75%... but Liechtenstein only had one murder though, JA 1,080 ... (2007 figures)

Seriously the column that needs to really be noted is the number per 100,000 killed by firearms ...America is just over 2 while JA at 39 if I read correctly is second highest behind Honduras with 68... Trinidad & Tobago not far behind with 27 per 100,000... no wonder I feel at home... he he (that's a nervous laugh btw)

• The US has the highest gun ownership rate in the world - an average of 88 per 100 people. That puts it first in the world for gun ownership - and even the number two country, Yemen, has significantly fewer - 54.8 per 100 people
                        • But the US does not have the worst firearm murder rate - that prize belongs to Honduras, El Salvador and Jamaica. In fact, the US is number 28, with a rate of 2.97 per 100,000 people
                        • Puerto Rico tops the world's table for firearms murders as a percentage of all homicides - 94.8%. It's followed by Sierra Leone in Africa and Saint Kitts and Nevis in the Caribbean
                        A so me salt. I have lived in three of the most gun-happy countries in the world!

Is this data reliable? I mean, are they not tracking legal, registered guns?

We don't have the first idea how many guns are in Jamaica.