Should we accept 1,000 murders each year as routine?

• Should we accept 1,000 murders each year as routine?

"In the coming weeks, I’ll use whatever power this office holds to engage my fellow citizens, from law enforcement, to mental health professionals, to parents and educators, in an effort aimed at preventing more tragedies like this, because what choice do we have? We can't accept events like this as routine. Are we really prepared to say that we're powerless in the face of such carnage? That the politics are too hard? Are we prepared to say that such violence visited on our children year after year after year is somehow the price of our freedom?"

Where is our own political will to do something about our own sorry condition?

Hell no!

Why yuh think I was upset with all the preening last election. U recall my statements about Carnival?

Opportunity lost. I realized then that Ticians are empowered by our own people to skirt the issues and just chat. Look how long that election party lasted...from Dec right thru to Olys and only in September did reality hit and people realize that we have no IMF agreement, port will not be ready in time, crime spiralling outta control again, no leadership by example being shown and Portia in the big house hiding. Nine whole months and no one paid attention!

9 months wasted. PNP missed a glorious chance to redefine governance in this most austere of times.

When I see how bad things are in Spain and even France a tighten them belt at the Ministerial level, den I know that we are completely clueless about what a clack a strike.

Interesting

This is a very interesting post you’ve made. If I remember correctly, when a certain government took major, radical steps to try and deal with the vexing issue of burgeoning crime, you were one of the leading critics of that state of emergency!

There is a certain English proverb which goes like this: “You can’t have your cake and eat it too” (although “You can’t eat your cake and have it too” is much more logical).

Need I say more?

I knew I was going to get this from someone. Kinda surprised it is from you.

I know where I stand on the crime issue. I know how strident I have been against all forms of crime, including those committed by our men in uniform.

But please, remind us of those "
          major, radical steps to try and deal with the vexing issue of burgeoning crime". And produce my "leading criticism" of said steps. I know you are a whiz with the search feature.

Thanks!

He will disappear for a few days then reappear like the proverbial jack-in-the-box. That's the MO.
            Mawning all.

why should Jamaica accept 1000 murder a year?

What kind of comment is that Mo? We have been accepting 1,200 murders/year for a very long time. Can't wait for another failed initiative to reduce crime in Jamaica.

I knew I was going to get this from someone. Kinda surprised it is from you.

I know where I stand on the crime issue. I know how strident I have been against all forms of crime, including those committed by our men in uniform.

But please, remind us of those "major, radical steps to try and deal with the vexing issue of burgeoning crime". And produce my "leading criticism" of said steps. I know you are a whiz with the search feature.

Thanks!

I notice you suffering from amnesia. Historian is correct.

Produce the evidence. Both of you are search experts. Why is it proving so difficult this morning?

The only reason why I didn't blast you is because you said, "If I remember correctly..."

Clearly, you don't.

Produce the evidence. Both of you are search experts. Why is it proving so difficult this morning?
                        I don't have to search for anything, my memory is fine. *************
                        Last edited by Mosiah; December 17, 2012, 11:18 AM. Reason: LIES

No Lazie, I won't!

Oh ... so when you cannot face the truth you simply remove it from the forum? And YOU have the nerve fi call people lyad?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                              He will disappear for a few days then reappear like the proverbial jack-in-the-box. That's the MO.
                              Mawning all.
                              LOL... Mandrake im seh