China to World: We steal technology but we develop it too...

• China to World: We steal technology but we develop it too...

China patent office becomes world's largest: WIPO
    by Staff Writers
    Geneva (AFP) Dec 11, 2012

China's patent office for the first time became the world's largest last year, as the number of global patent filings continued to grow despite the sluggish economy, the UN's intellectual property agency said Tuesday.

Launching its World Intellectual Property Indicators 2012 report, WIPO said global patent filings last year swelled to a record 2.14 million and that China had dethroned the United States to take the biggest portion of the pie.

China's State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) had received a whopping 526,412 patent applications last year -- a 34.6-percent hike from 2010 -- compared to 503,582 for the United States and 342,610 for third place-holder Japan, the report showed.

"In the 100 years before 2011, only three patent offices -- Germany, Japan and the United States -- had occupied the position of largest office," WIPO said.

Overall, patent filings grew 7.8 percent in 2011 compared to the year before, while patents to protect inventions ballooned 35 percent, industrial design patent applications grew 16 percent and trademark filings jumped 13.3 percent, WIPO said.

This growth is good news, WIPO chief Francis Gurry said in a statement, since it "indicates that companies continue to innovate despite weak economic conditions."

He said about two-thirds of patent applicants obtain the precious certificate protecting their invention.

In 2011, 996,800 patents were granted globally, up 9.7 percent from the year before, according to the report.

Japan was the country that granted most patent requests last year, followed by the United States and China in third place.

Tief fuss, but switch to innovation when U have money to fund it and dont think of tiefing ours.

yuhzimi

Yuh have Patent and yuh have Patent...

Willi's post is concise and poignant.
          I wonder what China would do then,judging from their ongoing dispute with Japan, de man dem goodly start war......

Not just Japan...Vietnam, Philippines, Taiwan and more

The whole patent system has become a joke. Nuff work fe lawyers and trolls, not much help to innovators.

Open source me say, hardware AND software.

You MAKER you. LoL

LOL, maybe the system still basically works for areas like pharmaceuticals but for engineering and software it is broken.

That is why the Google and Apples of the world decide say it better fe just buy up thousands and thousands of technically meaningless patents. You sue me, I sue you back.

I agree with yuh babah...broken all around.