• What you think about this?

Tax office to stop cheats from leaving the island

2012-12-13 10:53:42 | (0 Comments)

Persons waiting in line at the tax office in downtown, Kingston - file photo.
    [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Tax [COLOR=blue !important]Administration[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] Jamaica (TAJ) is warning persons who are [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]planning [COLOR=blue !important]to [/COLOR][COLOR=blue !important]travel[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] overseas and have outstanding [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]tax [COLOR=blue !important]liabilities[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] to resolve the matter speedily or face travel restrictions at the country's airports.

The TAJ says it will be issuing stop orders on delinquent taxpayers, who have undisputed liabilities and have been contacted but remain delinquent.

It said this will prevent such persons from leaving the island until the outstanding matters have been cleared or suitable written arrangements have been made to settle them.

This [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]tax [COLOR=blue !important]collection[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] activity forms part of the administration’s on-going debt collection strategy under the National Compliance Plan, to counter the prevalence of [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]tax [COLOR=blue !important]evasion[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] and wilful non-compliance.

However, persons in doubt are being encouraged to contact the TAJ’s Customer Care Centre at 1-888-TAXHELP begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 1-888-TAXHELP FREE end_of_the_skype_highlighting (829-4357) or the nearest Tax Office.

Great idea , if it can be enforced.

Joke - the biggest tax cheats will be tipped off by their friends in high places.

And hopefully there is no significant time lag between people paying off the lien and the people at the airport clearing them for travel.

I don't think it is a good idea. Say you owe you taxes but you have a business meeting fi go collect some money and pay it, you get what the duck get. You think they can stop Digicel Ceo from leaving the island?

I think they need to put lean on property and do a better job of collecting the tax but I don't believe in limiting people travel. Can you image how many entertainers would have to sit at home?

Them supposed to get wha the duck get if them no feel say them must deal with them taxes. Mek them sit at home. Better yet the govt should just go straight inna dem bank account and tek out the money like Uncle Sam do.

And yet unoo say unoo want "free" beach and health care?

Well....

Them supposed to get wha the duck get if them no feel say them must deal with them taxes. Mek them sit at home. Better yet the govt should just go straight inna dem bank account and tek out the money like Uncle Sam do.

And yet unoo say unoo want "free" beach and health care?
              Better everybody become a reggae or dancehall singer. That would solve the problem of having to pay taxes.

Lol, that would be another first for our great country! Can you imagine a country where the vast majority of the population do nothing but eat and sleep and sing reggae and dancehall music!

Lol I’m crying!

yes I support going in their bank account. I believe they should go after any money and asset they have but limiting travel is another. Sometimes people don't know they owe taxes and sometimes it is government mistakes. If someone owe that much taxes, then take them to the court and get a judgement against them.

why only reggae and dancehall? You think the performer them on the North Coast paying any or the actors, actresses etc?

It better you say become an entertainer.

Yep

why only reggae and dancehall? You think the performer them on the North Coast paying any or the actors, actresses etc?

It better you say become an entertainer.
                    True, I cannot argue with that. (By the way, that post was just me being witty and sarcastic.)

that's fine, just that them bear the brunt of all what is bad with Ja.

That's what Singapore does. You owe taxes, or even a traffic ticket? No sweat! They help themselves to their money.

Nuff power that for some of our civil servants. can be a dangerous thing

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                            True, I cannot argue with that. (By the way, that post was just me being witty and sarcastic.)
                            one outa two aint bad

I think the court should decide. See how them juck down Digicel and all now them can't talk about it? See how long them have Beenie case and then let him off? See how them have Vaz bredda and wouldn't settle even after higher authority said they work out a deal? See how much wrong info they had on people who owe motor vechile ticket, yet them let off people who owe taxes from 5 years ago.

That is too much power for a TA that is not functional.