A Question for the Forum (Polygamy)

• A Question for the Forum (Polygamy)

I’m aware that several of our posters support (or give lip service to) the notion of polygamy.

Well, here’s a question for you, gentlemen: Suppose women had the legal right to marry two or more husbands, how would you feel about such a scenario, and would you support it?

Personal Note: I do NOT admire or support either bigamy or polygamy. This is because I remain firmly convinced that the most beautiful relationship of all is between a man and a woman who love and respect each other, and who are completely faithful to each other. (This doesn’t sound macho, I’m aware, but why the sh!t should I really care what it sounds like?)

My view, once it is consensual it should be allowed. There are no victims .

Would I been interested in such a scenario? Not a chance!

You keep skipping responses to SIMPLE questions posed when you make your broad statements then come back and cast aspersions...scroll down and go and respond nuh...cho!

Plus yu getting yu terms mixed up:

polygamy noun (Concise Encyclopedia)Marriage to more than one spouse at a time. Although the term may also refer to polyandry (marriage to more than one man), it is often used as a synonym for polygyny (marriage to more than one woman), which appears to have once been common in most of the world and is still found widely in some cultures. Polygyny seems to offer the husband increased prestige, economic stability, and sexual companionship in cultures where pregnancy and lactation dictate abstinence, while offering the wives a shared labour burden and an institutionalized role where a surplus of unmarried women might otherwise exist. The polygynous family is often fraught with bickering and sexual jealousy; to preserve harmony, one wife may be accorded seniority, and each wife and her children may have separate living quarters. Polyandry is relatively rare; in parts of the Himalayas, where brothers may marry a single woman, the practice serves to limit the number of descendants and keep limited land within the household.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        ...in parts of the Himalayas, where brothers may marry a single woman, the practice serves to limit the number of descendants and keep limited land within the household.
        Isn't Yeti the result of such an arrangement?

LOL....mi gawnn...

Bye, Chief

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            LOL....mi gawnn...
            Me too, boss. Nowadays I no longer try to dissuade women friends of mine who talk about lesbianism. Trust me, in many cases such women are better off with their own kind (gender) than with some macho, sexist, woman-slapping pig. Polygamy? Bullsh!t.

Polygamist arguments in our western societies are nothing more than excuses from us men to become dogs in the most legal of ways. And so we started paving the way long ago by cursing female whores and calling them sluts while enthusiastically admiring even worse male whores and calling them “playas”!

but isn't that what actually happens, many women have multiple men just that they often may not know about each other? look if it was the legal for women to marry more than one man then i can assure you that it would only work in those instances where all the parties agree. i would not not support it ....

it isn't for everybody but i am sure it can work.

Most Jamaicans are in an open common-law marriage arrangement. They may not wish to call it polygamy btw.

Historian..surprisingly I share some of your views, you musn't jump to conclusions so quickly...
                  Realistically, there are few pair-bonds in nature, while people may be married, over 70% have other relationships OUTSIDE of the marriage - both male and female. However, so-called 'married' people like to pretend as if they have a higher moral ground DESPITE the statistics that prove otherwise. Hypocrisy, I say.