Premier for the Cayman Islands McKeeva Bush arrested

• Premier for the Cayman Islands McKeeva Bush arrested

Premier for the Cayman Islands McKeeva Bush has been arrested and detained for bribery allegations according to Cayman27 News.

The Premier was arrested at his West Bay home 7 am this morning, following police investigations “on suspicion of theft, in connection with financial irregularities relating to the alleged misuse of a government credit card; Breach of trust”; “Abuse of office and Conflict of interest, contrary to S13, S17 and S19 of the Anti-Corruption Law 2008 respectively. In connection with the alleged importation of explosive substances without valid permits on or before February 2012.” The Royal Cayman Police stated that they would not make any further statements until further notice.

If only our OCG had the power!

If TCI and Cayman were independent Caribbean states, would their former and current Premiers both be looking at prison time now?

Uncomfortable question but one worth asking as we wind down Jamaica 50.

Looking at prison time? Let's slow it down a bit. They have not even been tried yet.

But good question!

they caught misick the other day, nuh suh?

Observer said "captured", as if he was hiding in the Amazon. A little dramatic, I think.

Observer Not Incorrect

Observer said "captured", as if he was hiding in the Amazon. A little dramatic, I think.
              The Observer is not exactly incorrect in using this word. The ex-chief minister was indeed hiding, and had been for some time after the British announced a commission of enquiry into his premiership (actually, the correct term is “chief minister”). Rumour had it that he had been living in the Dominican Republic after fleeing his home country.

He was on Interpol’s wanted list.

Update on Cayman Islands Imbroglio

My source: The Barbados Nation newspaper; Dec. 20, 2012.
                (http://www.nationnews.com/articles/v...ayman-islands/ )

New Premier for Cayman Islands

Thu, December 20, 2012 - 9:25 AM

GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands - Deputy Premier of the Cayman Islands, Julia O'Connor-Connolly is now the islands' new Premier following Tuesday's no-confidence vote in Premier McKeeva Bush.

Yesterday, Governor Duncan Taylor announced that O'Connor-Connolly is backed by a majority of lawmakers and he is satisfied she can form a "stable, functioning government."

O'Connor-Connolly who was deputy premier under McKeeva Bush, who was ousted Tuesday will have as her Deputy , Rolston Anglin while Mark Scotland, Cline Glidden and Dwayne Seymour will make up the rest of the Cabinet.
                (CMC)

whoa ....

Dem people yah move fast..He was "ousted" with.no 6 month commission of enquiry, no party conference, no block road and bun tyre.....

Where did we fail?

Lol! Same thing I thought

Dem people yah move fast..He was "ousted" with.no 6 month commission of enquiry, no party conference, no block road and bun tyre.....

Where did we fail?
                      I know (lol)! That’s the same thing I thought when I first read the news report this morning. No investigation, discussion, protest or apparent attemp to defend! (Lol)

It’s almost as if they had been waiting in the shadows for this opportunity, and so eagerly grabbed it the minute it presented itself!

Islandman, I love your sarcastic last sentence (lol).

commission of enquiry for a Criminal charge.. ?

Nuh court ting dat ?