JA’s Most Outstanding Singing Group?

• JA’s Most Outstanding Singing Group?

Jamaica’s Most Outstanding Singing Group Ever?

Is the ska and R&B duo known as the Blues Busters Jamaica’s most outstanding singing group of all time? There is no question that Philip James and Lloyd Campbell spun beautiful, spot-on-key harmonies, probably more than any other group we have had from the early 1960s until now.

Unlike so many of the local singing groups that came along later (that is, in the post-1960s era) and gave us lovely but often off-key harmonizing (reggae is filled with these less-than-perfect singing groups), the Blues Busters were always impeccable in their vocal presentations.

“Behold” (ballad version): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3g-RjDtADlo

“Behold” (ska version): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xoz7odfqS2I

“Wide Awake in a Dream”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKvGS6tmpSM

“Soon You’ll Be Gone”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JaWx44tyDSg

I am partial to the mighty diamonds

Me too! Have Mercy is a classic!

Mighty Diamonds for me.

Blues Busters?!?! A who dem?

I remember when one of them died and the whole music fraternity paid thier respects to the group as true musical pioneers.

Behold is a wicked tune still. As scratchy as the record is you can hear the quality of thier voices.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otBzSsPOsog

not my favourite version, but di song maaad!

"A who dem?" Wow.

Likkle joke! Haffi rile up 'Torian every Sunday!

know of the Blues Busters, as the pioneer in Jamaica music group industry. Never really evaluate their talent.

of the groups since the 70s
                  I would go with The diamonds
                  the Viceroys
                  The Tamlins(I specifically like Derrick Laura on harmony)
                  Have to mention one of Slim Smith groups(unique I think it is)
                  For the last 20 years Brian and Tony Gold are the best on harmony as a group.

Enjoyed the Comments

To be honest, I respect and genuinely enjoyed/enjoy the work of every one of the other groups mentioned in this thread (the Mighty Diamonds, the Tamlins, the Viceroys, the Uniques, and Brian and Tony Gold). I’m a bit surprised, of course, that no one mentioned theTechniques, especially during the latter period when Pat Kelly became the group’s lead singer (check, for example, their version of “Queen Majesty”).

This output of impressive harmony by raw Jamaican talent such as those above is but one of the several reasons why I have so strongly argued on the side of mainstream reggae on this forum.

At the same time, I am fully aware that artistic taste is highly subjective and so I will not try to argue against or draw comparisons with the choices made above. So, thanks for the tasteful input, gentlemen, and I hope that you at least spend a few minutes listening to the Blues Busters via theYouTube links I posted. Theirs was completely flawless harmony!

Re: Likkle joke!

Likkle joke! Haffi rile up 'Torian every Sunday!
                      Lol! Mo, the minute I read that post I realized that you were being the Mosiah we sometimes (and too rarely) see -- that is, the man with a really good sense of humour.

But seriously, forget about the lack of an apparently “deep” message (the Blues Busters were back in the “innocent” 1960s of Jamaican music as it developed). Just check out the sound of those two voices as they blended, with none ever going off key in even the slightest way.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s1kHj2_o7j8

I agree with you G. I saw them at Reggae Sunsplash back in the early 90s. "I need a roof" is still ringing in my head right now. They were amazing!
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Historian can you provide some names of outstanding Jamaican singers post 2000? thanks

Hortical's Sarcasm (lol)

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                              Historian can you provide some names of outstanding Jamaican singers post 2000? thanks
                              This would have been an easy task, boss,but you had to spoil it by putting a time frame (post-2000) . At the moment, I am unable to do an accurate compilation (time constraints), but I’m going to ignore the apparent sarcasm behind your request (lol) and at least get started.

The list is longer, of course, but this will do for now. Of course, some of the names below are from the 1990s, but Idon’t care.

Women: Cherine Anderson, Judith Gayle(gospel), Alaine, Etana, Tessanne Chin, Tami Chynn, singjay Queen Ifrica, Jovi Rockwell.

My favorites, though, go back to way before the 21st century, and I’m referring here to Diana King and Pam Hall.

Men: Tarrus Riley (my favorite male singer),Richie Stevens, Gramps Morgan, Gyptian…. More later