• Genius! Young J’can duo has answer to poor CAPE, CSEC grades

Genius! Young J’can duo has answer to poor CAPE, CSEC grades

BY KIMONE THOMPSON Features Editor — Sunday thompsonk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, December 09, 2012

TOUSAN Royal and Thaddeti Tulloch are satisfied that they have found the solution to Jamaica's runaway failure rates at Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) Math and English.
    And according to the two, electronics and computer engineering graduates of the University of the West Indies (UWI), it's a simple fix — using multi-sensory, web-based tools in which the student, not the teacher, drives his/her own learning.

Tousan Royal (right) and Thaddeti Tulloch, developers of a website that provides instruction and guidance to students preparing for the CSEC and CAPE, speaking at the Jamaica Observer Press Club last Thursday. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

1/3

To that end, the youthful duo has designed and created a website — wgp-academy.com — which targets the new generation. "WGP Academy is the leading edge of education," the site says. "The academy was created to awaken mankind to their innate brilliance and magnificence using [the] most advanced techniques
    and strategies."
    In addition to computer technology, these include mind-mapping, which can teach one to read and digest a book in 20 minutes or less, and neuro-linguistic programming which taps into the way one learns and copies excellence strategies.
    "There's a lot of shifting in models and prototypes and strategies. We're kind of melting away the conventional strategies and embracing the new, more efficient and more engaging methodology," Tulloch said.
    Royal, 26 and Tulloch, 30 were guests at the Jamaica Observer Press Club on Thursday where they showcased the website and explained why their system works.
    "I'm hearing that we have students who leave fifth form and they can't read. Why? Why? In one month, in one day, you can detect that if you set up an intelligent system such that you stream data... We have the solutions available to us, but we're not using it, and I can understand probably if you're not aware, but from my perspective, it is there and you're just [ignoring it]," Tulloch said, taking at jab at the present education system.
    "One of the main reasons students don't pass exams is not completing the syllabus; it's not even the resources. That is why we're working on the syllabus and making sure it can be understood by students. If we address that, we'd realise that automatically (it would change)," he added, pointing out that half of the 40,000 students who sit external exams every year, fail.
    "Forty thousand translated into, say, $2,000 for one subject means you have hundreds of millions of dollars just going through, going through," he said.
    Only 46 per cent of those who sat English language at CSEC this year passed, compared to 63.9 per cent last year. For Math, this year's pass rate was 31.7 per cent, versus 33.2 per cent last year. Remedying the situation is not hinged on building more schools or on having well-stocked science labs," Tulloch argued.
    "The idea is not about creating new schools; it's about improving the quality. And how do we improve the quality? We introduce intelligence, we introduce data streaming, and we introduce it real-time so that all the information that is currently laborious and devoid of computing power [will come alive]," Tulloch added.
    The young man related a recent event in which representatives of the education transformation programme reportedly bemoaned the scarcity of funds to erect new schools, which were estimated to cost in the region of US$7 million.
    "With $7 million I could transform [the education system]," he said, then explained: "For example, right now we say things like the labs at schools are not well equipped. Remember Biology? You had to read a textbook, blank, flat. You had to imagine how the things looked... [but] you could come here (to the WGP site), we could separate the systems, the skeleton, everything to the last minute detail. You can play with it real-time. That is the beauty of digital... We can create labs online, we can create resources. We can have one central lab so that everyone will have access.
    Added Royal: "It's such a simple solution to solve our high school failure rate."
    WGP, which means World's Greatest People, has been up since 2009, but it is still under construction. Once complete, it will cover all 24 CAPE subjects and all the CSEC subjects which number about 30. Judging from Thursday's demonstration, the syllabi will be interactive and enriched with videos, labs, and animated content. Two videos have been completed and made public so far, and the duo is currently working on 10.
    "When complete, we should have about 4,000 videos... For some subjects there will be up to 300 videos," said Royal.
    Tulloch, a past student of Glenmuir High School, who studied Computer Science and Electrical Engineering at the UWI's St Augustine campus in Trinidad, is an RF engineer at Digicel.
    Royal, a past student of Manchester High School and St Andrew High School for Girls, is part owner and project director of TeleComs Implementation Services. She also lectures in wireless broadband technology at UWI.
    The two met while they both worked at Digicel and realised they shared a passion for Math and education generally. They became fast friends and soon set about translating subject syllabi for the web.
    They did all the work themselves, from "the first full stop to the last comma. Everything".
    Their motivation?
    "It's a mere wanting to develop our nation and improve the human resources of our island," they told the Sunday Observer.
    Jamaicans, Tulloch insisted, "have the mindset, the intellectual skills set, the drive".
    Although incomplete, the website is growing in popularity and has received hits from far flung places like Australia, the Russian Federation, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Singapore. It is also Google's top result for several search keywords.
    "If you have like 500-and-something search keywords in Google, so if you type in something like (Principles of Business) we're number one listed. We're listed
    in Google for a lot of things,"
    said Royal.
    "In 2010, for a month we had like 180, 170 unique visitors. By the time we got to September of 2011, we had 1,300 and something unique visitors per month, and we didn't advertise," Royal bragged.
    The duo is currently seeking sponsorship to accelerate the rate of production of the website, and with the use of smart phones and other technology, and the employment of high school and university students who are defacto au fait with said technologies, they are convinced they can keep production costs at a minimum.

Saw this and checked out their website... Conceptually outstanding initiative. Wish them all success

Glenmuir tuh di Werl!!

Lol...de man dem draw 1-1 yessidy...give way a soft goal...we a big up schoolboy team a Jamaica a call dem Barca and we can't even beat French Guiana at Caribbean Cup????

Correction...Likkle Barca and maybe if we used skoolboy teams, we could indeed beat Guiyane.

Dont blame the goalie as he many 3 glorious saves.

A welcome development no doubt, it is needed. But the challenges to overcome in the worst of the failing schools are great.

If you are not a competent reader for example, none of this can help you.

I stand corrected...Willi our obsession with schoolboy football and yet we can't take it up to the other level is what gets me...we have had some 'great' schoolboy teams..do we glorify the players too much, are their mindsets that they are 'stars' their greatest obstacles or they are just 'one-eyed in the land of the blind"?

The worst goalies are those that bring off the brilliant saves then allow one to trickle though...I have experienced a few...

So true...so we need a reading programme as well...

The worst goalies are those who let in BOTH the trickles and valiant strikes.

Successful societies glorify their sports teams and their intellectual efforts. Are you saying that we should not glorify Bolt and Blake and SAFP and VCB, and???

Since when does schoolboy football deserve all this ire? Is it because the Blues are dominating? Is like its a red eye thing.

Agree on all fronts.

If a goalie lets in both types shouldn't be in the goal..not a goalkeeper.
                    Celebrating successes and glorifying are vastly different things...you know that..btw - how did track and field come into this? Bolt and Blake? Dont stretch it now.
                    There is no ire for schoolboy football - I've said this a thousand times - even here plus others...do I really care which schoolboy football dominate or on top - a resounding NO! Will I celebrate success of a school I support - of course. There's no 'red eye thing', I watched Georges on Sportsmax a few times and they played sm good football, never saw Glenmuir play a game...not into the obsessive schoolboy ting...

U can be into whatever yuh want, as long as U tap throw words at my side...dn I am cool with that. And there is a SUDDEN ire over skoolbwoy football...read the papers.

MDYADWL. Some side get style up as preseason favourite all season long, before dem win anything, after dem buy out di whole ah KC and XLCR..and now dat wi drop di going, all sort ah words a get thrown pon Jawges! Hahahaha.
                      Press along Jawges, press along, in Jah's own way. Ad Majorem DEI Gloriam.

Some Sound sound like a big drum pan, listen disya Sound it a champion!

Exile yuh cyaan win dis yah bakkle..it inna wi DNA...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                        There is no ire for schoolboy football - I've said this a thousand times - even here plus others...do I really care which schoolboy football dominate or on top - a resounding NO! Will I celebrate success of a school I support - of course. There's no 'red eye thing', I watched Georges on Sportsmax a few times and they played sm good football, never saw Glenmuir play a game...not into the obsessive schoolboy ting...
                        .... even more dan di JLPNP fooliniss.

Ode to the Genetically Linked Schoolers :

Things Jamaicans Love

Their Old High School

Wednesday, 15 April 2009 22:47

Fervet Opus in Campis. The Utmost for the Highest. Fortis. These are the mottos of three Jamaican, all-boys, High Schools. Said mottos are burned into the consciousnesses of each and every boy who ever graduated from these schools over the numerous decades of their existence. Questioned some forty years later, that same boy (now man) can likely recite the motto in English and Latin, say it backwards and forward and regale you with the lewd/bastardised versions of said motto.

The above is just a tiny example of the profound impact made by these schools on their graduates and no doubt partly explains the fanatical loyalty of male graduates of Jamaican High Schools including Wolmers, Kingston College, Jamaica College, Calabar, St. Georges, Munro and Cornwall College. Their graduates ("old boys") display a devotion that would inspire envy in many a religious cult.

Every old boy can explain his loyalty to his school. He made lifelong friends there, he received an excellent education there, and, most importantly, his school is better than all others.

If you press him as to why his school is better than the others he will readily explain. His school has produced so many Prime Ministers, any number of Ministers of Government, countless Olympic Athletes, authors, Rhodes scholars, businessmen and renowned artists. Further, his school has been in existence for innumerable decades and in its illustrious and unparalleled history has won Boys Championships, Sunlight Cup Cricket, Manning Cup and Schools Challenge Quiz countless times. All these victories were against odds that would have daunted the greatest heroes of Greek mythology and were accomplished with legendary skill and sportsmanship.

Graduates from his school have represented king and country at the highest levels all over the world. They have fought courageously and died bravely in wars, they have served in international institutions and have won prestigious awards in every field of endeavour. All this because of the priceless and impossible to duplicate instruction they received in the classrooms and on the playing fields of their noble alma mater.

This evidence, he will tell you, is indisputable and clearly demonstrates that his school is the finest educational institution on the planet. Allow the "old boy" to laugh at your childish ignorance. Walk away. This is not an argument you can win.
                        Memba mi tole yuh
                        Last edited by Don1; December 9, 2012, 12:27 PM.

Hahahahaha. Well said.

They forgot how many dragon the brave knights slew in the Crusades.

MDYADWL!!!
                          A house situated on the hill cannot be hidden
                          Aggie aggimote
                          Labor Omnia Vincit
                          AMDG

People like their alma mater because the recall the good times when life was much simpler.

Yep...those formative years grill up yuh conscious

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                              Lol...de man dem draw 1-1 yessidy...give way a soft goal...we a big up schoolboy team a Jamaica a call dem Barca and we can't even beat French Guiana at Caribbean Cup????
                              Wasn't talking ball...juss ah big up one ah di co-creators ah dat ting yuh post