Exile you had asked about hotels in Port Antonio

A lot of community people sell their ware on the beach like the Jerk Pork man, and others etc.

This is the kind of thing that the people of the community are more upset about. It is not possible for UDC to work with these people and make their commerce continue rather than just put in a soda shop etc.

I doubt most people in the community is against paying a small fee but what they are against is losing their livelyhood and they have seen UDC taken over others and sooner rather than later the community don't have much access to it. This is also about trust.

What if they lease it to one big owner who just sell all refreshment, do you realise that these vendors will be unemployed, that is part of what the people defending.

Well it is still there. Good enough for UDC to see that it can be profitable.

A lot of community people sell their ware on the beach like the Jerk Pork man, and others etc.
          You ever been to this place called Hellshire Beach? Take a visit sometime and see how a free for all system looks

I can see where that would be a problem. That can be worked out though, if people are reasonable.

Recently I heard of the case where Old harbor High decided to give their cafeteria to Juici Patty to run, and the school thought that they were going to have to tell the vendors out the front of the school to leave but Juici said no, leave them there BUT had certain restrictions on how many of them and a few other things, and it has worked out OK for everyone. So there are solutions to these situations, we Jamaicans just too intolerant and ignorant sometimes, at ALL levels.

Been to Hellshire all the time. Use to frequent Portmore.
              The fact is there must be some order but it shouldn't mean people shouldn't get a chance to sell their stuff.

Why is it we can only sell to the bigman or have disorder??? Don't you think communities should play a bigger role? Can you imagine if government gave the fishermen and cooks a nice looking stall in Hellshire and ask them to be licensed, have sanitary inspections and pay a small fee?

Can you imagine if government gave the fishermen and cooks a nice looking stall in Hellshire and ask them to be licensed, have sanitary inspections and pay a small fee?
                Probably look something like this:

Can you imagine if government gave the fishermen and cooks a nice looking stall in Hellshire and ask them to be licensed, have sanitary inspections and pay a small fee?
                  That is exactly what I am talking about. That is not freeness.

LOL!

Not always the case. In some case the politician and government agency get paid off and see where money can be maid so they force all the other people off so they have a clear shot at everything profitable.

It definately can work though if they come as one. The people taking UDC to court is a community group and not the stragglers. They both need to sit down and make it work. The people have seen what happen to their other beaches and this is the last one standing a little east of Port Antonio.

Well...it is free! Spose mi nuh need fi use dem bathroom?

The temerity! Nuh we pay UDC salaries?!?

...and the people are right. Winnifred was donated to the people by a set of Quakers, who lived in the Fairy Hill area years ago. There used to be a nice rest home there also, probably in a delapidated state, as at one point they had the refugees staying there.

The beach was named Winnifred, after their the donors adopted daughter, who died early.

Bun fiyah pon UDC! Damn

So how the Quakers get to be giving away people land in the first place?!?!

Flavours beach right outside of salem, a lil before u reach runaway bay is free. It might be the same.

There's also a private beach next to the AI...nice place...Villas have a bar on the beach..you could rest and relax...play football down the beach....man have horse, motor sports....