Exile you had asked about hotels in Port Antonio

First, you have to translate this for me:

A tropical jungle of vine-drenched, 100-foot Banyan trees; soaring chartreuse bamboo and flowering magenta ginger lily descending into a secluded, white sand cove.

Where an elegant, earth conscious oasis of chic-ly appointed, ‘tree houses’ is linked by a winding pathway sliced through a sun dappled rainforest overlooking the Caribbean Sea.

A private shoreline that wraps around a blue lagoon, ringed by an untouched corral reef; purple manta rays gliding through clouds of colorful fish in a warm turquoise sea, glazed in a layer of cool from the mountain stream that flows into, and over, it.

Then, when you check rates you have to send an email.....looks nice..never knew these places existed...

No to sure bout the tree house ting plus mi no see no a/c?

translation: big head spliff optional!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        First, you have to translate this for me:

A tropical jungle of vine-drenched, 100-foot Banyan trees; soaring chartreuse bamboo and flowering magenta ginger lily descending into a secluded, white sand cove.

Where an elegant, earth conscious oasis of chic-ly appointed, ‘tree houses’ is linked by a winding pathway sliced through a sun dappled rainforest overlooking the Caribbean Sea.

A private shoreline that wraps around a blue lagoon, ringed by an untouched corral reef; purple manta rays gliding through clouds of colorful fish in a warm turquoise sea, glazed in a layer of cool from the mountain stream that flows into, and over, it.

Then, when you check rates you have to send an email.....looks nice..never knew these places existed...

No to sure bout the tree house ting plus mi no see no a/c?
        You supposed to know bout tropical rainforest... don't you work right next to one? and unuh have to be cutlassing the jungle to keep it back weekly? LOL

and you work 200 m from the sea.... except it definitely is no blue lagoon...

They used to have the rates posted... don't know why they aren't any longer... but it was about $300US or so per night if memory serves me well.... I also seem to remember that it included meals and liquor, things could have changed since as nothing is now posted re that kind of stuff on the site.

If that doesn't work for you try their (the Hew family) resort in the Bahamas:

http://www.kamalame.com/

Paul Marin stayed there with his family a weekend... said it was great!

Ask the thousands employed by Sandals if they consider their paychecks menial...

I have asked them. And they do!

Simple solution...leave and move on to greener pastures...they aren't leaving

Could you identify the free beaches on the north coast? ones where I don't have to walk through bush or wetland to access? I have looked for such and couldn't find any between Ochie and St Ann's Bay, from there to Runaway Bay maybe one??

I agree with Exile on this... in Barbados, I just visited this weekend, the public cannot be denied access to the beach. And you usually find an access path to the beach...

Who said anything bout free? I said public

The beach in Runaway Bay, near to the former Breezes hotel, is free! I think the hotel is now called Jewel.

there are no greener pastures, but that does not mean that persons (sic) should be exploited.

They are having problem with Winifred Beach as UDC wan't to make it private and but the people don't like the plan. The beach need to be cleaned but and maybe a small entrance fee but they can't cut out the local people who make money on the beach. Last I heard is The Castle is going to start refurbishing in 2013. Let us see if Lee Chin go ahead.
                        UDC doesn't want to make it private...they have agreed to allow public access for a fee...

there are no greener pastures, but that does not mean that persons (sic) should be exploited.
                          What entry level job in Jamaica pays more than $50,000 a month?

No it, will not be operated by a government entity. Also the people who make a living on the beach fear they will not be allowed there.

Yes they need toilets etc, but UDC and the people need to come to some agreement on this that is mutually befenifical.

Access for a fee...like Fort Clarence...Doctor's Cave...Dunn's River...et al...what is more mutually beneficial than to get proper facilities for a small fee?

1) what is a small fee?
                                2) Will they give the vendors access to the beach? yes they should pay a fee and allowed to sell their wares

3) Local people want some say in how the property is run as they don't want 6 months later UDC and the operators decide to give less access to them.

Amongst other issues.