Businesses jittery as dollar sinks to record low

• Businesses jittery as dollar sinks to record low

Members of the private sector, including merchants and business owners, are on edge Thursday as they brace for the impact of Wednesday’s record slide in the value of the Jamaican dollar.
    The local currency sunk to its lowest value with more than J$92 required to purchase one US dollar.
    At the end of the day, the US was selling at an average J$92.05 but was being sold for as high as J$95 by some traders.
    A year ago the average rate was J$86.70.
    The Jamaica Chamber of Commerce, JCC, is predicting a further slide in the dollar as the country awaits word on a new deal with the Government and the International Monetary Fund, IMF.
    According to JCC president, Francis Kennedy, this has left business owners in uncertainty as to where the Jamaican dollar could end up.
    He told the RJR News Centre Wednesday night that merchants are trying to stave off financial losses by paying their suppliers earlier than usual.
    Mr. Kennedy says this is placing more pressure on the foreign currency market.
    The JCC President says Jamaicans should brace for higher prices as the Jamaican dollar continues to depreciate.
    “Higher prices are coming because of the dollar slide. Until such time as we get an IMF agreement settled down, the whole foreign exchange system …the dollar will continue to slide…we have a free market and there is speculation whether we like it or not.”
    Audley Shaw, Opposition Spokesman on Finance, has also expressed alarm at the continuing slide in the value of the Jamaican dollar.
    He said, among other things, it has wide ranging implications for consumers as well as the economy.
    Like the JCC, Mr. Shaw says prices will definitely be going up.
    The Opposition Spokesman also pointed to Jamaica's debt. Mr. Shaw says the amount owed by the country to its creditors is set to further balloon.
    “It(debt) will also be increasing because half of the stock of debt is denominated in US dollars…so every time there is a valuation, the nominal stock of total debt increases…not necessarily because more money has been borrowed, but because the exchange rate is slipping,” Mr. Shaw told the RJR News Centre.

Thank god i switched out all my money last year...

Ah hope dem nuih boddah wid dis idiot business AGAIN. One bitten twice shy. Mi ago beg dem sekkle di ting please. Dis Govt prove seh dem nuh know bout controlling di rate ah wi currency, but dis nevah eben a factor when di election come bout. Is one ting dough, bias an partiality is one ah di wickedes ting inna life.

Hero Petah at the Controls !

You shld say thank God you have money.

Give mi Hero Peter over One Turd who would not even give the country the slightest info on the IMF deal. Imagine what the exchange rate would have been under that dispensation.

Gwaan Bart...Peter!

what was the interest rate when one turd left office?

that's it?

mi know you have no love for Audley but so far Peter failing bad. Not one of his economic projection so far has been met.

We low on taxes as he hasn't met the collection goal. Missing it by 10 billion so far. Internationa reserver is now at now at about 10 weeks supply, Peter said the quarter would be a growth quarter and we ain't seen that anytime soon. Not to mention his lack of getting an IMF deal and the sliding dollar. on the Expense side government has been spending more than projected.

Peter better start working soon.

What?

Give mi Hero Peter over One Turd who would not even give the country the slightest info on the IMF deal. Imagine what the exchange rate would have been under that dispensation.

Gwaan Bart...Peter!
                      Stop yuh lies Mosiah. Why can't you speak the truth for a change?

mi know you have no love for Audley but so far Peter failing bad. Not one of his economic projection so far has been met.

We low on taxes as he hasn't met the collection goal. Missing it by 10 billion so far. Internationa reserver is now at now at about 10 weeks supply, Peter said the quarter would be a growth quarter and we ain't seen that anytime soon. Not to mention his lack of getting an IMF deal and the sliding dollar. on the Expense side government has been spending more than projected.

Peter better start working soon.
                        Why should he start working? People that work get voted out.

Yuh can imagine.. meanwhile wi a deal wid reality..

Petah FAIL.. mek Audley look like a genius !

Mi tell di whola unno long time...BASKET FI CARRY WATER, but people prefer di Carnival, so I just stop talking and kotch and watch.