<H1><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Destra wants to Hot Wuk</SPAN>
<SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Debra Edwards, Observer entertainment writer
Friday, March 30, 2007
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=204 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>T&T soca star Destra</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Everyone has a breaking point, if disrespected. One of soca diva Destra Garcia's came in the form of a public chastisement while performing onstage at in Trinidad for Carnival 2007.<P class=StoryText align=justify>After hecklers persisted in throwing large glow sticks at her, she scolded "Don't behave like jackasses. It's hard enough for a woman running a band by herself in this industry. So don't behave like a jackass." Today, Garcia is more relaxed for our telephone interview, graciously explaining the ordeal. "I was frustrated, overworked and tired and yes, another side of Destra came out at that moment. People were throwing glowsticks all night, not only at me, but at other artistes also. And what got me upset is that I had already done two shows, and that was my third. But I came out there for the people and never expected them to be disrespectful. I even stopped the band on two occasions and asked the crowd to stop pelting the artistes. When they did not stop and a glow stick hit my face, I became enraged." She continued, "Stuff happens, I have no regrets for what I said. And I think as a woman I stood up for myself."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Has the success gotten to her head? Destra says, "No, I am still just Destra." However, she is quick to point out that she is far from perfect, and has made mistakes in life. "I am human, if you don't make mistakes, then you will never learn."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Born on November 10, 1977 in Trinidad & Tobago, her passion for singing began while in secondary school. At 18, she joined the mostly r&b group PSYKE, which disbanded after only a year. She then attended the School of Business Management, earning a diploma in Sales Management. On realising that the business field was not her cup of tea, Destra decided to return to singing, and in 1999, scored a hit with Ah Have A Man Already with Third Base. Her journey continued with her being given an invitation, by Roy Cape, to join the All-Stars Band to become a lead singer. In 2002, she joined the legendary band, Atlantik where she began releasing hits such as Negative Vibes and Bonnie And Clyde. Her 2003 album, Red, White, Black which included the soca anthem It's Carnival, was well received by the masses, solidifying her as a force to be reckoned with in the business. In 2005 her album, Laventille, named after her hometown, dropped, including the hit Come Beta. For 2006, she had waists wining to Max It Up and Independent Ladies. This year, Destra has six songs, including I Dare You and Sign.<P class=StoryText align=justify>On how she comes up with the lyrics for her songs, Destra simply explained, "I have a whole year to think about them, and they just come to me."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Known for her high-energy performances, six-pack abs (which she says took her a year to get) and daring costumes by Trinidadian designer Meiling, Destra is the Trini's version of a pop princess (a young Britney Spears or Christina Aguilera). And the hair! Although the saying goes 'If you bought it, it's yours' the question was posed to Destra, if it was all hers. She answered with a laugh. "Yes it is mine, although during the Carnival season, I do add a few extensions for volume, but on the off season it is all mine."<P cl
<SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Debra Edwards, Observer entertainment writer
Friday, March 30, 2007
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=204 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>T&T soca star Destra</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Everyone has a breaking point, if disrespected. One of soca diva Destra Garcia's came in the form of a public chastisement while performing onstage at in Trinidad for Carnival 2007.<P class=StoryText align=justify>After hecklers persisted in throwing large glow sticks at her, she scolded "Don't behave like jackasses. It's hard enough for a woman running a band by herself in this industry. So don't behave like a jackass." Today, Garcia is more relaxed for our telephone interview, graciously explaining the ordeal. "I was frustrated, overworked and tired and yes, another side of Destra came out at that moment. People were throwing glowsticks all night, not only at me, but at other artistes also. And what got me upset is that I had already done two shows, and that was my third. But I came out there for the people and never expected them to be disrespectful. I even stopped the band on two occasions and asked the crowd to stop pelting the artistes. When they did not stop and a glow stick hit my face, I became enraged." She continued, "Stuff happens, I have no regrets for what I said. And I think as a woman I stood up for myself."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Has the success gotten to her head? Destra says, "No, I am still just Destra." However, she is quick to point out that she is far from perfect, and has made mistakes in life. "I am human, if you don't make mistakes, then you will never learn."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Born on November 10, 1977 in Trinidad & Tobago, her passion for singing began while in secondary school. At 18, she joined the mostly r&b group PSYKE, which disbanded after only a year. She then attended the School of Business Management, earning a diploma in Sales Management. On realising that the business field was not her cup of tea, Destra decided to return to singing, and in 1999, scored a hit with Ah Have A Man Already with Third Base. Her journey continued with her being given an invitation, by Roy Cape, to join the All-Stars Band to become a lead singer. In 2002, she joined the legendary band, Atlantik where she began releasing hits such as Negative Vibes and Bonnie And Clyde. Her 2003 album, Red, White, Black which included the soca anthem It's Carnival, was well received by the masses, solidifying her as a force to be reckoned with in the business. In 2005 her album, Laventille, named after her hometown, dropped, including the hit Come Beta. For 2006, she had waists wining to Max It Up and Independent Ladies. This year, Destra has six songs, including I Dare You and Sign.<P class=StoryText align=justify>On how she comes up with the lyrics for her songs, Destra simply explained, "I have a whole year to think about them, and they just come to me."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Known for her high-energy performances, six-pack abs (which she says took her a year to get) and daring costumes by Trinidadian designer Meiling, Destra is the Trini's version of a pop princess (a young Britney Spears or Christina Aguilera). And the hair! Although the saying goes 'If you bought it, it's yours' the question was posed to Destra, if it was all hers. She answered with a laugh. "Yes it is mine, although during the Carnival season, I do add a few extensions for volume, but on the off season it is all mine."<P cl