• Can $500 million make you happy? Not really

By Melissa Dahl, NBC News
    You surely know by now that the Powerball jackpot is set to hit at least $500 million tonight. You should also know that your odds of winning the grand prize are somewhere around 1 in 176 million (at least, we really hope you know that). So here's a bit of comfort for you tonight as you stare dejectedly at your losing ticket: Most lottery winners don't end up any happier than the rest of us.

More at http://vitals.nbcnews.com/_news/2012...ot-really?lite

Oh?

You surely know by now that the Powerball jackpot is set to hit at least $500 million tonight. You should also know that your odds of winning the grand prize are somewhere around 1 in 176 million (at least, we really hope you know that). So here's a bit of comfort for you tonight as you stare dejectedly at your losing ticket: Most lottery winners don't end up any happier than the rest of us.

Good for them.... trust me, I would be happy -- very, very, very, very happy!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      Good for them.... trust me, I would be happy -- very, very, very, very happy!

I hold the same view. Afterall, man can jet to Europe to watch big name players just like that ... what more could one want?

People who win big in the lottery and are not happy afterwards, are people who doesn't have a plan. The wife and I have been planning for our "big" win whether it's $10m or $500m. The plan doesn't change.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jettison all your "friends"...divorce the ball and chain...change your phone number...and enjoy your money...

I want my chance at not getting 'happier than the rest of us.'