When the smoke clears...ganja bad for you???

• When the smoke clears...ganja bad for you???

The anti-drug offensive

Anthony Gomes
    Wednesday, November 28, 2012

November is being celebrated as Drug Awareness month, with an offensive targeted at children between the ages of five and seven years old who are considered vulnerable to drug use. That such a vulnerability exists for children in the five- and seven-year-old categories is astounding, but not unbelievable, when a video doing the rounds on cellphones is viewed with children in the same age group indulging in sexual intercourse and being encouraged by adults! This typifies the level of moral degradation now prevailing in Jamaica. The National Council on Drug Abuse is therefore commended for taking proactive offensive action, by launching the project named "Resistance Education Against Drugs" (READ), with support from the National Health Fund, and spanning 25 schools islandwide.
    The READ programme includes development and implementation of a media campaign targeting parents and young children, as it has been reported in the 2006 National School Survey that the age of initiation of drug use among Jamaicans is below 10 years old. Astonishing indeed! Imagine the far-reaching nature of this destructive problem if ganja were to be decriminalised or legalised, and hence freely available to all and sundry? A nation of "zombies" over time would likely be the result with increases in industrial accidents, violent crimes and traffic accidents, to name a few of the toxic effects of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the psychoactive drug in cannabis, aka ganja.

There is a fallacious argument that says marijuana is far less damaging to a person's health than alcohol and cigarettes.

1/1

The NCDA has been prompted to develop a prevention programme that caters for children in the first year of primary school. Two hundred children from 20 inner-city schools in Kingston and St Andrew have been identified and the findings prompted the need for an extended programme, intended to boost ongoing prevention programmes in schools. Minister of Health Dr Fenton Ferguson commented: "The READ programme is an excellent tool to empower school-age children with the knowledge to recognise negative behaviours linked to drug use and therefore reduce their intention to use substances of abuse. Intention to use is a critical factor which incorporates accessibility, knowledge of the users and opportunity for use," he said.
    Consider further the case of marijuana where decriminalisation/legalisation is recommended without criminal charge against users of small quantities of ganja for pleasure. With the establishment of the drug courts in Jamaica which already exist in America, first offenders are warned and set free without criminal charge or record, and second offenders are offered a rehabilitation programme. Medicinal marijuana is legal in Jamaica and used in certain locally produced products. Britain went as far as to reclassify cannabis from a class B drug to class C, and then recently reclassified ganja to class B. The reason for this change was the discovery that contemporary cannabis contains a much higher percentage of THC than earlier varieties. This new version called "skunk" poses a serious threat to both the physical and mental health of its users.
    Healthwise, there is a fallacious argument that states: "Marijuana is far less damaging to a person's health than alcohol and cigarettes". The US Office of National Drug Control Policy is of a different persuasion: "Marijuana smoke contains 50 to 70 per cent more carcinogenic hydrocarbons than tobacco smoke. Using marijuana may promote cancer of the respiratory tract and disrupt the immune system. Marijuana smokers have a heightened risk of lung infection. Long-term use of marijuana may increase the risk of chronic cough, bronchitis, and emphysema as well as cancer of the head, neck and lungs."
    The US Drug Enforcement Agency reported: "Congress has designated marijuana as having no medicinal value. The Federal Supreme Court affirmed this designation." In June 2005, the US Federal Supreme Court, by a six to three decision, ruled that state-grown marijuana is illegal, and producers, users and abusers will be prosecuted. "What science has told us thus far is that there is no medical benefit from smoking marijuana. It is not recommended for the treatment of any disease." Ganja is also illegal in Canada, the UK and all Caricom countries.
    The West Indian Medical Journal of December 1999 contains an article by Dr Archie McDonald among others in the trauma centre at the University Hospital in Kingston. Their findings were that in the tests of blood and urine of 111 victims admitted during a
    three-month period, ganja was the most prevalent substance found in their bodies. The discovery was made in 50 per cent of victims of road crashes and 55 per cent of victims of violence-related injuries. By comparison, alcohol was found in 43 per cent of crash victims and 27 per cent of violence-related injury cases. The conclusion is that ganja plays a greater role in motor vehicle accidents in Jamaica than alcohol.
    In Jamaica the drug courts were established by "The Drug Court (Treatment and Rehabilitation of Offenders) Act 1999" and have worked well. People detained for possession of a small quantity of ganja are put before the Drug Court and given a warning. There is no criminal record and if detained a second time, then the person is put again before the Drug Court and may be referred to a Magistrate's Court if they do not agree to enter a rehabilitation programme. If the programme is successful, no criminal charge is recorded.
    The above information emphasises the dangerous nature of ganja which threatens to wreak havoc, if legalised in whatever form. The NCDA children's programme is even more urgent when reviewing the potential dangers of ganja use here recorded. We hope the minister of justice would also take note.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz2DWT3tZo9

Does he live in Jamaica ? and 2nd which planet is he from? He would make J.Edgar Hoover proud.

Reinforcing the propogated stereotype.To be honest I wouldn't disagree with his proposition to make it illegal to the youth until over 21 , but grown adults in a nation where the thing grows and is used in every facet in Jamaican culture from herbal medicine, cuisine to recreational use, to label it as turning people into zombies makes you wonder if he is one.

Our laws are antiquated , two more states voted to legalise ganja for recreational use, basically given the Mexicans the bold option of withdrawing from the war on drugs, where are all these zombies now , I mean its legal practically in the west.

The Pros and Cons of Legal Pot

By Susan Milligan

November 26, 2012 RSS Feed Print

The debate over the legalization of marijuana certainly has had its comical moments. When Colorado earlier this month passed a referendum legalizing pot, headline writers and local TV newscasters could not resist references to "Rocky Mountain High." The state's governor, John Hickenlooper, warned residents not to break out the Cheetos and Goldfish just yet, noting that the feds take a dim view of marijuana possession, which is still against federal law. And it was indeed amusing to watch allegedly serious television reporters act as though they didn't even understand the connection between marijuana smoking and the munchies.
    Both Colorado and Washington State have approved referenda legalizing marijuana, and California has long been ahead of the pack with medical marijuana laws. But is it a good idea?
    [Read the U.S. News Debate: Should Marijuana Use Be Legalized?]
    Marijuana is not a dangerous drug, in the way that narcotics and other hard drugs are. People don't stab people on the street for the cash to buy a joint, the way they might if they were addicted to crack or heroin. Pot smokers tend to be lethargic, not violent. Even when I was in junior high school and indoctrinated with a very strong antidrug message, the worst my health teacher could say about marijuana is that it "leads to other drugs." Pot, we were told in code, was probably not much worse than alcohol. Some people would abuse it, and some would use it infrequently and recreationally, and would not end up causing harm to themselves or others. If marijuana is no worse than alcohol, why ban it? Good question—except it begs another: Do we really need another problem like alcohol abuse on our hands? Do we want to add to the DUIs and DWIs that are alcohol-fueled with those caused by use of marijuana? If pot were legal, would more people use it more frequently, creating a problem of a size we had not anticipated and could not control?
    There's a stronger financial argument for legalizing marijuana. It is an utter waste of money and resources to arrest and prosecute people for marijuana possession, and cash-strapped states have better use for money, courts, and prison space. Legalizing pot could actually help reduce the criminal element, since no one would have to interact with the criminal community to get it. The substance could not only be sold in a controlled and licensed manner, but it could be taxed—bringing in substantial amounts of money to states.
    [See a collection of political cartoons on healthcare.]
    But the same argument could be made about tobacco, which is as dangerous as many drugs and legal in part because it would be politically impossible to destroy the tobacco industry. True, cigarette smokers do not get stupid and crash cars into trees, but they still kill themselves and others by ingesting and exhaling toxic smoke. And while cigarette taxes indeed bring cash to local governments, we all end up paying dearly for the added healthcare costs of caring for smokers with emphysema, lung cancer, and other ailments.
    It may not be fair to subject marijuana to a higher legal standard than alcohol or tobacco. But it may be a way to prevent a third series of healthcare crises.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Should Marijuana Use Be Legalized?

Next week, voters Colorado, Washington, and Oregon will cast ballots on the question of legalizing marijuana use. If passed, the ballot initiatives would directly contradict federal law, which classifies cannabis as a Schedule I drug under the Control Substances Act of 1970. Federal authorities and state officials are already at odds in California and the 16 other states and District of Columbia where medical marijuana use is legal. Even as the Obama administration has vowed not to crack down on medicinal marijuana use in states where legal, its Justice Department has stepped in to close dispensaries that they say do not comply with state regulations. The initiatives in Colorado, Washington, and Oregon legalize marijuana for recreational use—not just medicinal—and the role of federal authorities in enforcing federal laws would also have to be navigated.
      The initiatives have gained wide public support, particularly in Washington where even local law enforcement officials have endorsed it. Supporters say regulating and taxing marijuana will bring in much-needed revenue to state coffers. They insist that marijuana use is no more dangerous than alcohol use, and might be less so. However, critics of the proposals say that legalizing marijuana would increase its usage, particularly among young people. Opponents worry about users driving impaired by the drug: The Washington proposal includes a restriction on driving while under the influence of marijuana, while Oregon's and Colorado's propositions do not. Critics have also expressed concern about federal prosecution of users, as well as how the such proposals would affect the tourism industry of their states.
      Should marijuana use be legal? Here is the debate club's take:

The Arguments
      #1 784 Pts

Yes — Marijuana use isn't grave enough to be labeled a crime

ALISON HOLCOMB, Drug Policy Director of the American Civil Liberties Union Comment (7)

#2 735 Pts

Yes — Pot is safer than tobacco and alcohol

PAUL ARMENTANO, Deputy Director of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws Comment (12)

#3 229 Pts

Yes — Current policies are not accomplishing the goal of eliminating marijuana use

MORGAN FOX, Communications Manager at the Marijuana Policy Project Comment (6)

#4 -485 Pts

No — We have other options besides legalization or strict enforcement

KEVIN SABET, Former Senior Policy Advisor to President Obama's Drug Czar Comment (40)

#5 -595 Pts

No — Any taxes collected off regulated pot sales will be eclipsed by healthcare costs, accidents, and lost economic productivity

DAVID G. EVANS, Special Adviser to the Drug Free America Foundation Comment (69)

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

IN Response to Kevin Sabet:Former Senior Policy Advisor to Obama Drug Czar

40 comments

40 commentsSocial RankingChronologicalReverse Chronological

Add a comment...
        Comment using...

Comment using...FacebookYahooAOLWindows Live

Post to Facebook
        • Sunil Kumar Aggarwal · Resident Physician at NYU Rusk Institute Of Rehabilitation Medicine · 137 subscribers"I join both presidential candidates and the American Medical Association in opposing marijuana legalization" -- Firstly, Kevin, I can't believe you're citing the AMA to support your position. So ironic, after I met you in November at the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy National meeting in Nov 2009, and I told you that I had spearheaded the marijuana policy change at the AMA, and you said: "I know". You know very well that was not a policy that had anything to do with "coming out against legalization" as you are construing it here. It had everything to do with recognizing that the current legal classification of marijuana is wrong and that a less restrictive, MORE LEGAL category was called for based on science and reason (such as downscheduling). Did you know the AMA position since 1977 has actually been that our AMA "supports the modification of state law to reduce the severity of penalties for possession of marijuana." (http://www.ama-assn.org/ad-com/polfind/Hlth-Ethics.pdf )...so I wouldn't cite the AMA to support your un-healthful position on cannabis. Secondly, you do a disservice to our democracy by saying that you join "both presidential candidates" who share your position...what about candidates Jill Stein, Gary Johnson, and Rocky Anderson--are they presidential candidates? (yes) and do they support marijuana legalization (yes).
          Reply · 71 · Like · October 30 at 1:04pm

Reggae Doc another Doc lashes out...lol...any response to the above. I remember it as yesterday a MD came to work smelling stink of skunk, I had to draw him aside and say Doc , yuh smell and its unprofessional, keep it at home...his reply , its just a little weed.

I met another one and I said to him aren't you scared of being criminalized, he said all they are going to do is fine me....lol.....

Jamaica with its Zombies , America with its Mds...lolol

Imagine the far-reaching nature of this destructive problem if ganja were to be decriminalised or legalised, and hence freely available to all and sundry? A nation of "zombies" over time would likely be the result with increases in industrial accidents, violent crimes and traffic accidents, to name a few of the toxic effects of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the psychoactive drug in cannabis, aka ganja.
            Yeah...I mean it is so difficult to find ganja in Jamaica due to its illegal status
            Last edited by Bricktop; November 28, 2012, 11:11 AM.

"What science has told us thus far is that there is no medical benefit from smoking marijuana. It is not recommended for the treatment of any disease."
              Okay great...what medicinal benefit does Appleton or Craven A have?

The people who sell them have money to buy their medication.

x you should stay away from it..not helping you~

correction ... they have money to buy ganja!!

Surprise I do , but I am thinking maybe I should jump on it , one day I might be a M.D...lol... seriously how much more box do you want when a NYU MD can shoot down a Drug Czar who uses the AMA as reference?

Werent you one of the jokers that advocated criminalizing the youth because you say its addictive and they are behind bars ? You equate being locked up in a jail cell as being addictive ? being in possession of ganja doesn't make it addictive, its makes it stigmytised and criminalized...try and separate the two.

Ganja mek yuh mad , it mek yuh brave fi talk to white woman (interacial marriage is now law) , it mek yuh nuh waan work(MD, Lawyers etc etc use it in Amersterdam & the USA which are 1st world countires with industrious people who guess what work and a high % of the population use it ) ...its addictive , it leads to harder drugs , studies show that( cigarettes and alcohol do the same)... anything else before Jamaica continues to criminalise di youth and tun dem into zombies ?

Touche...from the foremost hand surgeon to PSOJ bigwigs...yet this farce is still being perpetuated...