Nicholson Labels Outcry Over MP's Vehicles As 'Ill-Thinking

what yuh really saying? yuh ever service a jag, range rover or a mercedes?

they do last longer because they are built better but they require specialised servicing.
    Yes Gamma, been there done that, still doing it and skipped a few service too.... I don't have a boat, may I borrow yours the next time I am in the Bahamas?

Actually in the long term the cheapest vehicle I ever drove was an Infinity G35X. It never required anything outside of the maintenance schedule and I skipped a few!

I never said to give them a, jag, rover or a Mercedes but the Camry thing won't work! Portia did the right thing when seh bought these SUVs.

I stand my ground. Buying cheap vehicles would be a 'popularity seeking' decision, a demonstration of weak leadership, lack of a vehicle management experience, more opportunity for the corrupt vehicle maintance system to make a killing etc.

The real issue is the option for the decision makers to purchase the vehicle. We just need to remove the option for the Minister to buy the vehicle and the purchase decision will be almost perfect.

Time, with all due respect, this is absolute hogwash!

I don't know what problem you have with Camrys. They are decent cars that are less costly to maintain and operate than a luxury vehicle or a mid-size Prado. But it doesn't have to be a Camry. All I am saying is our parliamentarians deserve good cars that won't nyam out our likkle funds. Given Jamaica's situation right now, they really should be driving Honda Civics!

Stop talk trash on the site, bredren. How much does it cost to fuel these SUVs, insure them, repair them?

Do some research, das all mi a beg yuh.

You cannot have your cake and eat it too yuteman.

Since the reality is currently that the politicians are allowed to purchase the vehicles after 3 years....then obviously the deal is a negative for the country and should not proceed on those terms...so people are absolutely justified in their criticism of the purchase

End of story

tell me a cheaper mid size SUV sold in Jamaica than the prado

Have you ever tried a Honda accord, or Toyota Corrola? or a Rav 4?

Most of the Luxury cars since 2002 are very expensive to maintain and any Mechanic will tell you that. I have been there and have ever have to repair any of the modern electronics or computer chip in your luxury vechile?

What is there to say the government will not spend this amount again in 2 years? In good faith budgeting for new vechile must be done as a budget line over time. You buy a vechile and and give it say 5 to 6 years for write off, then you can sell it to the former minister if he wants it. We dhould be buying say 6 cars every year to replace older ones and we have a standard, what kind of vechile that can be used that are not the most expensive but can do the job. No need for flashy cars. How may US officals you parading in Audi, Mercedes, and High end Toyota.

You don't think there is a reason they don't? It inot in line with serving the people. Yes people want to make sure their reps are secured and able to transport but the idea of "blinging" should not be the first in the head of our representitives. I have been to the Mercedes dealer to service a car and never will again, because it is the most expensive service you will ever get. A tune up cost as much as replacing the brakes and drums on any regular car.

also, what is to prevent the wholesale of them to the ministers/mps if this government is voted out? the sale should be market value at the least.

My experience with vehicle brands is that in the long run a top level luxury brand is the cheapest brand because the parts last longer and they don't break down.

that wouldn't include di range/merc/jag?

what boat haffi do wid anything? dem must get boat tuh?

include the Rover too..

Rover nuh Range?

sorry but even the Land Rover very expensive to maintain.

also, what is to prevent the wholesale of them to the ministers/mps if this government is voted out? the sale should be market value at the least.
                          I said earlier on that the Minister's should not have the option to buy the vehicles.

Yes, it would be a very bad decision to buy a range/merc/jag for multiple reasons.

Just pulling your leg about the boat. Someone posted on this site that you had one

So lets fix the option to purchase problem!

It is not a fair comparison to use an American vehicle, notorious for thier unreliability in the last 2 decades, as an example. All the major Japanese brands are as reliable as the luxury brands if not more reliable. Yes the luxury brands have better handling, more features, etc and that is what you are paying more for (plus status symbol of course).

I agree with you on the policy option to buy the vehicle. It clearly influences the decision on what to buy and being a cynic I believe it was intended for it to be that way.