Nicholson Labels Outcry Over MP's Vehicles As 'Ill-Thinking

Inna Singapore a Camry costs like $300K USD! So tan deh.

U fi go investigate before U start chat.

TenQ sah...simple as dat.

This may not be the most important issue in Jamaica but it is a botched opportunity for PSM to show some leadership and signal to persons that it cannot be business as usual...we are in a huge shiit hole and sacrifices must be made...starting wid dem said big fish head

The Termites should make do with cheaper or even used vehicles like how most of them are retreads anyway

They're tone deaf and out to lunch.... arrogant
        May be the best thing that Parliament could do is to change the public's perception is to remove the Minister's option to buy the vehicle. We don't need the Minister's buying vehicles with the option to buy influencing the decision and we need to buy vehicles that can last 12 years!

People crying about these mid lever SUVs. My experience with vehicle brands is that in the long run a top level luxury brand is the cheapest brand because the parts last longer and they don't break down. In the long run the most expensive car I ever drove was a Ford Focus, the cheapest is a luxury brand!

I am not saying that we should run out and buy every Minister a top of the line Luxury SUV. Luxury parts are expensive and Jamaican road are no good so maybe the luxury option is not the best option for Jamaica. However if the roads are no good then its clear why A SUV should be purchased instead of a car.

Was the word 'Maybe' in Jawes dictionary? Maybe your parents should have sent you to the best boys school in the parish of Kingston! Wheel and come again!

2-0 still ah bun unno? LoL

U wrong fi trouble Jawges, U wrong. Brite!

MDYADWL.

Bout maybe...try find out runnings inna Singapore before U start chat 'gainst what Mo a try teach yuh.

It is FAAAAR harder to get a car in Singapore than in Jam. and still guvvament nah dish out car like confetti.

what yuh really saying? yuh ever service a jag, range rover or a mercedes?

they do last longer because they are built better but they require specialised servicing.

Bout maybe...try find out runnings inna Singapore before U start chat 'gainst what Mo a try teach yuh.

It is FAAAAR harder to get a car in Singapore than in Jam. and still guvvament nah dish out car like confetti.
                  Why is it so hard? Maybe they have too many cars problem in Singapore?

Inna Singapore a driver's licence cost $30,000 USD

same as the prados in ja

Interesting stuff...but did you read or understand my point? Doesn't appear so since you don't address it

They limit the number of cars and tax the daylight outta dem. A 5 series BMW is like $600k.

One Merc service can pay fi a small cyar. LoL

So U get my point?

Interesting stuff...but did you read or understand my point? Doesn't appear so since you don't address it
                              Maybe she showed perfect leadership by buying new mid level SUVs!

My experience is that cheaper vehicles are a waste of mone and we are not going to get out by wasting tax dollars every 3 years.

Used vehicles are out of the question! Buying parts for and servicing goverment equipment is a very expensive process. The used vehicles will require frequent parts replacement and service and will cost much much more than a new vehicle.

I have 'been there, done that,' with vehicles. My experience is that 'cheap vehicles' are cost effective only for fleet vehicles not assigned to individuals, used heavily and replaced every 2 years, 3 years at most. Once the vehicle is assigned to an individual then a luxury vehicle is the cheaper option in the long run.

I recall seeing a newspaper article about a Land Rover that was assigned to Lady Bustamante and probably was doing 20 years service at the time. You think a Camry is going to last 20 years?

You sir are an apologist for PNP arrogance and backwardness...or you still entirely miss the point

Given that JLPNP termites routinely purchase these heavily subsidized vehicles at way below market price after a mere few years...your point about foregoing GOJ savings on long term maintenance cost or tax dollars is an irrelevance

Whatever the cost calculus may be, what would have been of incalculable value is if the Termites had signaled a new dispensation to the nation's persons by purchasing less expensive vehicles

That would have been positive leadership....something foreign to most of our politicians

That's the point.