• The Gospel according to Lady Saw...

The gospel according to Lady Saw

Richard Johnson
    Friday, November 23, 2012

LADY Saw is one disappointed woman. The deejay, who has been at the top of her game since her breakout in the early 1990s, says she is leaving behind the persona her fans have come to know for nearly 20 years to pursue gospel music.
    "I am turning over to gospel. I was successful as a deejay and I know I will be even more successful as I prepare to cross over," a sombre Saw told Splash.

LADY SAW... I don’t want to be part of it anymore, I can’t stand it

1/1

Declining to give specifics, the St Mary-born artiste whose given name is Marion Hall continued:
    "I don't want to be part of it [the dancehall music fraternity] anymore, I can't stand it. There are too many artistes out there just telling lies on me just to get a hype. I have been to hell and back in this business and I am happy to leave it behind me. God don't like ugly and that's all I'm seeing in the business right now," she said.
    Lady Saw revealed that she is preparing to record her first gospel tracks.
    "I went to do the recordings a couple days ago, but when I got there I discovered that some things were stolen from the studio, so I had to reschedule," Saw said.
    She is not sure what name she will use in her new field, but stated, "all I know it will not be Lady Saw," she said with a giggle.
    The outspoken Saw says she has already contacted a few 'sisters' in gospel music. However, she notes that the same jealousy in the secular world also exists in gospel circles, so she is being selective about who she associates with.
    As for upcoming performances Lady Saw says she has a few dates booked, and since her decision to go gospel, has been done nothing but 'clean' shows.
    "The last show I did I just kept it clean and I ended my performance by reading from The Bible -- John 1:3. Apart from those which I'm booked for already, which is about two, I'm not taking on any new shows right now.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...#ixzz2D2ppt7ae

Mouth mek fi chat and she's on stage with her hand in her crotch.

Could have been an old pic...wrong choice by writer...

The real story is John John gi har bun and breed up a young ting cause Saw cyaan have pickney...she'll be back when hungry start bite har

Not the first time she experiencing that...but why yu thing "hungry shld bite har', she no make enough to live ok...

I guess now that she has changed her tune, she'll be telling people to "bow" ... LOL

wish her all the best. It is always funny when these artist put themselves out there and you can't tell them nothing about "cut back a little on slackness, gun talk etc." or you fighting against them then all of a sudden them nuh want hear it again, and worst is in a few year time some go back on their words.

When Vibez a go do Gospel too?

macka diamond low blow bout 'womb bless' was the final straw -> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EGntQpdjZp4

She was in tax problems the other day...dem seize the Hummer and some other vehicles...Lady Saw don't tour like she used to...she can't live off of what she has earned in my opinion...

When was the last time she had a hit tune? I can't recall and she is not in demand for shows overseas.

Peter-R!

...as I prepare to cross over,"

She noh khrass it yet.