Why do Jamaicans in the media say "Persons" incessantly??

• Why do Jamaicans in the media say "Persons" incessantly??

It's persons did this... persons saw this etc etc......do they think it's somehow high class?

Sounds so ridiculous when persons do this

suh is who do it then? animal or plant?

How about People, the Public, the Crowd, Witnesses, Onlookers etc etc

I've seen news pieces where persons use that word 4-5 times in the same sentence...it funny doh

there was a reporter on class last week who kept using the same phrase as a filler in a 10 minute monologue ... actually he used several but favoured one...cannot remember what it is now. but it struck me as an unusual one.

Aaargh! I (personally) hate when they do it! It is because they are dumb, Don1! And there is no one to educate the fools!!!

...individuals, etc. There are a ton of other words they can use that make more sense!

They do it more on "Satcherday"

Personally I don't see why some persons should get upset by other persons using the word persons... It's just a reflection of their personality and it's use simply is a personification of personal preference... You can contact me in person on my personal line , 1 800 IN-PERSON, and vent personally about persons using persons. Don 1 ?

Well yuh dun know seh Persistent Perversity Provokes di Patient Pedagogue etc etc

Mi did notice it las Choosedeh still

Ahhh yes... Even mr goody two shoes ( me) get a few hundred of those alliterative lines that provided particularly painful punishment... If memory serves correct...

The subject is tragic...but this police person at 4:50 managed to use person or a derivative 8X in the 30 seconds the person was on tape ...once every 4 seconds http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P2x0pWcxS7E
                        Last edited by Don1; November 19, 2012, 09:07 PM.

Some persons used to tek 4 pen one time an line dem up pon papah...scratch out 4 ah dem lines deh one time...a real time saver

persons can be creative

Dumb persons speak like that.