• Trench Town rocks tonight!

Trench Town rocks tonight

BY BASIL WALTERS Observer writer
    Saturday, November 17, 2012

THE historic Ambassador Theatre in Trench Town, St Andrew, is expected to relive its glory days with the Jamaica Music Institute (JaMIN) Song Competition finals tonight at 7:00 pm.

"We aim to showcase new and upcoming talent in this very important space in our history. The Ambassador Theatre was once the cradle of reggae music launching the careers of a host of reggae artistes including Bunny and Scully, Alton Ellis, Derrick Harriott, Joe Higgs, Toots and The Maytals and Bob Marley, Bunny Livingston, and Peter Tosh. It [the Ambassador Theatre] is the Jamaican equivalent to Harlem's Apollo Theater," said Junior Lincoln, JaMIN co-chairman.

Ken Boothe
    1/1

The theatre, last used in 1980, is being restored by JaMin in association with the United States Agency for International Development.

Tonight's competition will see 10 persons vying for cash prize, recording contract, airplay, music scholarship, and the distinction of being first to record at JaMIN's state-of-the-art studio.

Veteran performers on the show for the evening are Lascelles Perkins, Derrick Harriott, Bunny and Scully, Ken Boothe, Errol Dunkley, and Dean Fraser. Also on the show are Alaine, Prophecy, Nesbeth, Lymie Murray among others.

Built in the 1950s, the Ambassador Theatre was famous for Vere Johns Opportunity Hour and Opportunity Knocks talent shows which helped launch the careers of Hortense Ellis, Lloyd Charmers, John Holt, Bob Andy, Desmond Dekker, The Wailers, Jackie Edwards, Dobby Dobson, Boris Gardiner, Millie Small, Jimmy Cliff, the Blues Busters, Derrick Morgan, Higgs and Wilson, Laurel Aitken, Jimmy Tucker, Girl Satchmo, Roy Richards, Charlie Organaire, and Rico Rodriguez.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...#ixzz2CR4Fu7wg

Nice..so yu going?

Oh my, the BASS is back, good move...

Yuh can aks dat? Pon mi aise!

I really hope we can save all these theatre gems that dot the city. Of course, it will be difficult. We don't need any more white elephants like the Ward Theatre.

The difference was many were actually dry weather venues, so they should be low maintenance.

A Supermarket owner of the Cliff theater in Lucea, tear it down after using it as a warehouse, very historic building, I will document the events that took place there, matter of fact I lived across from Cliff, I could see part of the screen.

Is people like you used to watch di movie dem fi free, hastening the decline of these theatres!

Restoration and back to its roots!
              Brilliant!

I don't think we understand how important this little area called Trench Town is to our music history. It is much more than Bob Marley and the Wailers. He bigged it up in a few songs, my favorite being Natty Dread when he walked up the numbered streets. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Z1gZf6RniE

It comes as no surprise that some of the nicest street parties I have been to have been help in Jungle. Their appreciation for music, from all genres, is better than most, I believe.

looks good. I hope they can keep it up and build on the legacy from Trench town .

Yuh can aks dat? Pon mi aise!

I really hope we can save all these theatre gems that dot the city. Of course, it will be difficult. We don't need any more white elephants like the Ward Theatre.

The difference was many were actually dry weather venues, so they should be low maintenance.
                    palace theatre??

Wah yuh seh, mi ah Pirate DWLROTF...

Suh yuh use to take the #19 Jolly Joseph?

Erm...no can't say I did. Where dat did go?

I only started frequenting Trench Town since returning to Jamaica in 2001. As a boy, I would not dare to even think about...well, on one occasion, when I was about 15, I decided to take a short cut through Jungle on my way home from Cross Roads. Just wanted to see what Trench Town was all about. Well, two young men with knives asked me for money, one an amputee. I put on my best patois, explaining that I only had bus fare and dem low mi. I guess I looked strange and they couldn't just have me walk through without some harrassment.

Saw some pretty tough conditions then. The little kids were playing kinda rough.

Refereeing took me back to Jungle and I can remember doing some incident-free matches there, even though I never went by myself and always parked the car with a fast escape in mind!

The #19 went from South Parade near the big tree, west parade, West St, Spanish Town rd on to West rd to the Tank behind Lincoln Cres way.

Ah wah kinda Town Rat yuh seh you was?

BTW #19 had no power steering and a shift stick, miss one and yuh korna dark, as there were only 4 bus on the route, ok that was 60's and yuh neva bawn, yuh get a blye..

Oops, not West St, West Queen St.