The luck/skill continuum - agree or disagree?

LOL unoo biased sah.

Go try shoot some 3 pointer and see if basketball is instruction based. Then try it again when you off-balance and a man hand inna you face.

The fastest man/woman in a 100m almost always wins. The best hurdler wins MUCH less often....due to luck. Bad luck mostly yes, but luck nonetheless.
      That's precisely why hurdles is a skill event! Di 100m is run and run fast! The skillful hurdler is the successful hurdler, unless someone less skillful hurdler beside you falls over into your lane.

Hockey should be right up there in the skill department, maybe more than all other sports. Lightning fast skating, in all directions, sideways and backwards, fancy stickwork to control, dribble and pass the puck at lightning speeds - now that is all skill!!

And then to combine another sport (boxing) from time to time...hockey wins hands down!

I am not disputing that it is a skill event, more so than an 100m. I am saying it ALSO has a component of luck that a 100m does not have.

If a man faster than you on the day, you not going to beat him unless him get injured. No other luck going to help you wid dat. But how many times have we seen the in-form hurdler lose because the eediat in the lane beside them lick them hurdles and throw them off?

There is almost zero luck in a 100m and so it logically follows that the skill/luck ratio is tending towards infinity! See the mathematical proof deh!

I am not disputing that it is a skill event, more so than an 100m. I am saying it ALSO has a component of luck that a 100m does not have.

If a man faster than you on the day, you not going to beat him unless him get injured. No other luck going to help you wid dat. But how many times have we seen the in-form hurdler lose because the eediat in the lane beside them lick them hurdles and throw them off?

There is almost zero luck in a 100m and so it logically follows that the skill/luck ratio is tending towards infinity! See the mathematical proof deh!
            Uh-uh! Not so fast! Just because luck equal zero, dat don't mean skill/luck ration tends towards anything! Tink yuh slick!

There are other variables in this equation. Don't ask for me to break it down, please!

LOL, ok sah.