The luck/skill continuum - agree or disagree?

He's a slave master? Just saying!

Maybe he's the one with the skill, i.e., to know the training techniques that produce fast runners. But I cannot seeing the skill in running fast after the gun goes off. Well, maybe a little!

LOL, actually him was short and brown , AND arrogant. Hmmm. And him nevah speak a word a patwa, you know that type? LOL.

Me shoulda did ask him if him eva go Champs yet.

Exploding out of the blocks, transitioning into the drive phase, maintaining your form near the end.....must be some skill in doing all that flawlessly.

I do get your point in general as it pertains to the 100m but I did say track and field. Is nuff events that, and some of them are very technical.

Drive phase, my granny! Asafa tried pushing that crap on us to make it seem as if this was now a science and we bought it.

Whenever Usain runs well, there is no adherence to drive phase and the other malarkey. He just just runs like hell and, wallah - record!

Usain's drive phase all comes from Germany and Japan!

LOL, wait till Willi come deal wid you.

lol

Rugby requires more skill than grid iron

So whats the difference between being blessed with fast (or slow) twitch muscles and being blessed with the mental skills required to be a top class chess player? Do you think anybody can be a chess grandmaster if they work hard enough at it? I don't.

Remember, we talking bout skill VS LUCK, not skill in and of itself! Quite frankly I think there is more luck in hurdles than in a 100m sprint because it is more likely in hurdles that you can be impacted by someone in another lane.
                  You have got to be kidding Island. Hurdles requires far more skill than sprinting. Even long distance running requires more cognitive skill than sprinting. Frankly sprinting and baseball are basically brute force sports.

Did you just say malarkey?

Aaaah...yeah. What?!

Is that not a word?

Ok Joe...

Hockey mi nuh really si di skill unless ah di skating pan di ice, merican football and BasketBall instruction based suh dat diminish any skill factor ah wouldah gi dem. Now BaseBall pitching and batting require skill but di out fielding wid dat deh big globes deh ah easy ting.

Domino have some luck but I have played with some players who are just really good, The problem is it always depend on the other players around the table still.

Di difference wi condition fi use wi han fi assist inna everyday function derefore fi use it inna sports require some skill but not as much as di foot. Especially inna football wi need dem fi balance, jumping, running, kicking, direction, accuracy all combined attributes inna one sport fi dis one limb ah di body nuff skill dat tek. Look pan Ibrahamovic goal fi example Degree ah difficulty much greatah wid a kick dan a throw.

Like Mo you are discounting the luck factor.

The fastest man/woman in a 100m almost always wins. The best hurdler wins MUCH less often....due to luck. Bad luck mostly yes, but luck nonetheless.

No question that long distance running requires more cognitive skill than sprinting. But is that the only kind of skill that counts?

BTW Track and field also includes javelin, pole vault, 4x100m relay among others. All those involve some level of technical skills.
                                Last edited by Islandman; November 16, 2012, 11:23 AM.