The luck/skill continuum - agree or disagree?

• The luck/skill continuum - agree or disagree?

Football hah more skill dan BasketBall fi sure, Is a merican come up wid dat ah bet

Wha bout the rest?

I agree, myYout! Using one's feet to do what is done on a football field must be more skilful than using one's hands.

Where would dominoes fall on that scale? I think dominoes is mostly luck, but that is because I can do nothing more than match!

Baseball should be further down on the luck side for me.

I would say dominoes and poker are about 50-50 luck-skill.

I don't know if I buy that using your feet vs hands makes a difference on the luck/skill scale.

Everything is relative, of course. What you and I do on a football field is not what Messi and Ronaldo (in that order ) do on a field.

Agree with you Mo. Baseball is more like brute force and luck combined.

Baseball and T20 cricket are about the same I think.

First class cricket would be further up on the skill side of the scale, but still behind basketball and football.

Track and field? Other than relays that is right up there with chess!

Kidding, right?

Because one is blessed with fast-twitch muscles, requiring little brain activity to energise and apply, that is comparable to chess?!!?

The only track event that requires real skill is hurdles.

Field events now - pole vault, for instance - require some skill.

So whats the difference between being blessed with fast (or slow) twitch muscles and being blessed with the mental skills required to be a top class chess player? Do you think anybody can be a chess grandmaster if they work hard enough at it? I don't.

Remember, we talking bout skill VS LUCK, not skill in and of itself! Quite frankly I think there is more luck in hurdles than in a 100m sprint because it is more likely in hurdles that you can be impacted by someone in another lane.

There is more bad luck in hurdles!

You really think there is skill in what Usain does?

Come to think of it, the smarts needed to play chess, is that a skill?

ok sah

The smarts is not a skill, the application of the smarts is a developed skill.

Its not just smarts though, patience, composure and all those things matter in a tournament situation. Take it from a inter-school chess semi-finalist! . I remember beating up some uptown yute from Campion when dem come a country come play we thinking dem was all that.

Why do we rate Glen Mills as a coach if there is no skill involved in the sport he coaches?

Ok! If gambling is also being measured then surely chess can be considered a skill (or luck) activity.

Was that uptown yute a short, brown fella? Ben something, right?