• Standing up to Sandy Retrofitted roofs withstand hurricane

Standing up to Sandy

Retrofitted roofs withstand hurricane
    BY INGRID BROWN Associate editor — special assignment browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, November 12, 2012

ROOFS installed under a project implemented by the Office of Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management (ODPEM) in several communities in eastern Jamaica following the passage of Tropical Storm Gustav two years ago have apparently withstood the fury of Hurricane Sandy which devastated that section of the island last month.
    The special mitigation project saw some 1,100 homes retrofitted with aluminium sheeting designed by HEART trainees to prevent the wind from getting under it.

This house in Spring Bank St Thomas, which was re-roofed under the Office of Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management (ODPEM) mitigation project is one of several such roofs which withstood the fury of Hurricane Sandy in Eastern Jamaica. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

1/3

A Jamaica Observer North East visit to four of these communities in St Thomas and Portland revealed that, for the most part, the houses with the retrofitted roofs remained intact even as neighbouring units were severely damaged. In Crystal City, where several houses had lost roofs to Gustav, the residents who benefited from the mitigation programme said had it not been for the project they would have again been severely impacted.
    Alexander Stewart said he was amazed to see that the roofs withstood the heavy breeze which Sandy brought.
    “The breeze blow fi di whole day and root up some big tree and sweep down the whole ah di grass [but] di roof stay on same way,” he said.
    He explained further, “we were of two minds as to whether the roof was going to stay on or not when we hear the breeze, but not even a sheet a zinc nuh lift off.”
    According to Stewart, none of the houses in the community which suffered roof damage during Sandy were retrofitted.
    The residents, he said, are particularly grateful, given the lack of employment in the parish, which would make it impossible for them to afford the repairs.
    Stewart, who was trained to construct the roofs, said he is hoping the government will extend the programme to other affected communities so he can gain employment.
    The only deterrent to doing so, according to director general of ODPEM Ronald Jackson, is a lack of resources. He noted that although it cost close to $70 million to re-roof the 1,100 homes, it has been value for money.
    “When you look at what you got for $70 million, it is an economical way to go and so it is certainly something we would do again if we can find that money,” he said; adding that some $140 million would be needed to re-roof the 3,000 damaged homes identified so far.
    Most persons with whom the Observer North East spoke said they would opt for this method instead of receiving vouchers.
    Natalie Henry, another Crystal City resident who had her roof retrofitted post-Gustav, said other than minor leaks in one section of her roof, she was pleased to still have a shelter over her head. During the 2010 storm, she said the entire roof blew off, destroying everything she had.
    “To how the breeze did a blow me was surprise fi see say nutten nuh happen to the roof. Is a very good roof,” she said.
    Tereehsa Davidson, who lost part of her roof expressed disappointment that her house did not benefit from the roofing programme.
    “All a mi zinc dem blow off because this house never do like those with the new roof,” she said.
    In Spring Bank, also in St Thomas, the residents said all the houses with retrofitted roofs were still intact, except for one from which the owner Sharon Davis said a few sheets of zinc blew off.
    Ken Dennis, who said he helped to construct his own roof, said he was worried it would not have been able to withstand the storm, given his experience in both Hurricane Ivan and Gustav.
    “Mi wasn’t here so me was fretting that it (roof) would come off, but mi glad to see this roof hold up so and mi think them should do another programme like this,” Dennis said.
    Lascelles Brown, whose house was severely damaged, said he is hoping that the progamme could be revived so that he could benefit this time around.
    ”None a di house dem weh did get the new roof dem nuh affected and so mi hope government will do something like that again,” he said.
    In the community of Compound in Portland, resident Valerie Heron had a similar complaint.
    “I live beside two of the reroofed house and my roof damage and nutten don’t happen to dem so mi wish mi did get one,” she said.
    In Hectors River, also in Portland, Paula Smith said her section of the house, which she shares with her mother and sister, was unaffected because it was re-roofed under the programme. The other sections, however, lost the entire roof.
    “I don’t lose a zinc off my part,” Smith explained, adding that she wasn’t so lucky in Gustav.
    “This is what they should do for people who are affected this time around because people ah go get money and still don’t replace dem roof or dem might put on the regular roof and it blow back off the next time around,” she said.
    In Manchioneal, another badly damaged town, the majority of the re-roofed houses withstood the heavy breeze.
    Sandra Heron said those who received money to assist with replacing their roof themselves after Gustav have again been affected.
    “I believe that they should do the retrofit programme again because I think it is better than just giving people money,” she said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2C0pu6CB3

so is not dem two block hol it down?

Good one

Glad you are ok MdmeX. Comparatively speaking...things could have been much worse.

Welcome back.

I think you should head south.

You would have to see that....thing is they should make the Parish Councils insist that roofs must be 'hurricane proof' or no approvals for construction...or is it that you no longer need approvals?

Maybe they should use those roof in Amerkah. Without the ceeement block to hold them down though.~snifff~

US houses (well in Florida) were never hurricane proof..it was only after Hurricane Allen that construction improved....house were twisted up like match boxes...

HL - only a matter of time before I head south! Already procured the property

...very smart!!

Soon we will have a blue state!!