Fishing bonanza: Hurricane Sandy brings fishing boom....

• Fishing bonanza: Hurricane Sandy brings fishing boom....

Fishing bonanza: Hurricane Sandy brings fishing boom for Whitehouse

Published: Saturday | November 10, 2012 0 Comments

Montego Bay businessman Donovan Vernon (left) is assisted by Troy Jumpp, president of the Whitehouse Fisherman's Cooperative, as he purchases fish last Friday.

Mark Titus, Gleaner Writer
    Western Bureau:
    While Hurricane Sandy has left pain and anguish in sections of eastern Jamaica, for the residents of Whitehouse Fishing Village in Montego Bay, it has brought them absolute delight: the fish that descended on the coastline to escape the tempest in the east.
    "It has been very good for us," president of the Whitehouse Fishermen's Cooperative, Troy Jumpp, said in reference to the significant increase in the fish population off the Whitehouse coastline. "This is not unusual for us. Whenever there is such a disturbance in climate, this usually happen.
    "Hurricanes normally disturb the fish population, and when they hit areas like the western section of Haiti, Cuba, or Cayman, we will get fish in large numbers here - even some that we don't usually find in our waters," added Jumpp.
    However, while the fishing bonanza has given the Whitehouse fisherfolk the capacity to feed even the multitude that Jesus Christ fed in the biblical account of the feeding of the 5,000, the level-headed Jumpp is fully cognisant of the fact that their present good fortune will not last forever and the pre-bonanza concerns will once again resurface.
    "We are keen that the members of the Fishermen's Cooperative continue to exercise good fishing practice in order to protect their livelihood," said Jumpp. "In fact, we are calling for a meeting with Agriculture and Fisheries Minister Roger Clarke to discuss the various issues and concerns we have been facing."
    CHALLENGES TURN AWAY YOUTH
    According to Jumpp, over the years, the fishermen have been facing challenges such as the absence of a cold storage facility, the high cost of fishing gear, and slowness of the licensing procedure, which collectively make fishing unattractive to youth in the community.
    "We have been calling for a meeting for years, but successive governments have refused to sit with us and only seek to make politically correct statements while the industry is dying," said Jumpp. "The fact is that right now, most of the older fishermen are dying out and the younger generation has no real interest in continuing because the support system is not encouraging."
    While noting that the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries has instructed that some work be carried out on the infrastructure in the area, Jumpp believes that the Government needs to reach out and engage the fishermen, especially since they have more experience in the area and can best understand the various issues and concerns.
    "We don't need handouts. We can earn for ourselves, but the fishing community must be guided and supported," argued Jumpp. "We don't need representatives to try and bully us … . We need the [fisheries] minister to come and have a conversation with us, not just [have us as] the side bar on one of his big agendas."
    While he is concerned about issues such as the price of petrol and the lack of support from the hotel industry, veteran fisherman, 74-year-old Tom Gibbs, wants to see the industry policed properly -addressing the laws governing fishing.
    "The laws are there from the 1970s, but no one is enforcing them," said Gibbs, "For example, we are not supposed to use certain size mesh wire, but when you go to the Fisherman's Co-op Credit Union, you get it to buy. This should not be so."
    With their fish pots turning in handsome returns since the passage of Hurricane Sandy, the Whitehouse fisherfolk intend to enjoy this most-welcome bonanza as long as it lasts.

Two weeks later

http://rjrnewsonline.com/local/westm...undering-from-

honduran-pirates

Westmoreland fishermen protest plundering from Honduran 'pirates'

1:08 pm, Mon November 26, 2012

Several Westmoreland fishermen demonstrated on Monday morning against what they say

is the continued theft of their catch by foreigners.

The group of about 40 fishermen from the Whitehouse Fishing Village, protested on

the beach to press their demand for the government to assist them in their plight.

Honduran pirates. That's how the Whitehouse fishermen are describing the persons

responsible for hijacking their catch almost every week.

According to them the Hondurans travel across to their area between Friday and

Sunday and steal their catch leaving them with nothing when they return to their

pots on Monday:

“Di big boat dem from Honduras coming out on the bank here taking out the lobster

from the pots. Every night dem come up, three four boat a come pon the bank, tek

out the lobster. We fraid because we nuh know whaty dem have. Me out there one

night already and if me never wake up and turn on me flashlight that boat come cross

me and kill me.”

And it's not just their choice catch of lobsters that the fishermen claim the

Hondurans are targeting but their lives as well.

One fishermen told RJR News he resisted the attack on one occasion but was forced to

flee:

“I caught some of them approximately three weeks ago in my pot set scuba diving into

my traps. And out of sheer frustration I had to attack them with a piece of hose. I

take away a scuba diving tank and a paddle from one of the canoes. The big boat in

turn was chasing me, I eventually escaped from them anyway.”

The fishermen are urging Fisheries Minister Roger Clarke and National Security

Minister Peter Bunting to intervene.

They argue that the Coast Guard is not patrolling the area with the same intensity

as it does during the closed lobster season.

Meanwhile chairman of the Jamaica Fishermen Cooperative Union, Havelan Honeyghan

told RJR News he has already brought the plight of the fishermen to the attention of

the authorities.

He says the problem has been a longstanding one, which has worsened in recent

months.

But he charged that not enough is being done to protect the island's territorial

waters:

“I spoke to the Minister personally. We have spoken to the coast guard. I don’t

believe enough is being done by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of

National Security and the Ministry of Agriculture, because when these information is

passed on, they are sit on and swept under the blanket.”

No support system.

Ticians can only chat...

Lack of support for our own...

Do they have the resources? That is Coast Guard?

"we will get fish in large numbers here - even some that we don't usually find in our waters," added Jumpp." What are the names of those Fish he is talking about? Why was he not asked?

Diplomacy.

One off ambush....ask Yankee fi help, etc, etc.

Dem have brain?

Steeupps. Dem have resources fi criss SUV though...

"ask Yankee fi help" I was thinking the same thing, and you could tie thre Package with Drugs search and Training for the JDF/Coast Guard, there so easy.

You will get help for the so-called "war on drugs" not for protecting natural resources....unless is oil...yu tink SUV money can patrol high seas?