Last Sting I Attended Was 1991...
Histy, I have said it many times before that you are one of my favourite posters here on the forum, but you really need to lighten up more times. Now yuh have bighead Mosiah a laff affa me.
We here all know your "general" opinion of the Dancehall genre. I know that I don't need to school YOU of all persons about the history of the genre, but you should just accept the fact that singing/rapping/djing about the gun is inextricable to the music. I agree with you that a soceity like Jamaica's doesn't need it's entertainers to be glorifying gun use and violence, but the majority knows the difference between entertainment and reality. Many of those guns songs and songs that degrade women have now become Dancehall classics which will get the most conservative Jamaicans up on the dancefloor. A perfect example is Admiral Bailey's - Two Year Old. Nobody, in their right mind would believe that he's actually lusting after a two year baby in the song, but it was very popular. The world is changing and we, the older folks, have to pick out the very few songs out of today's music to entertain us. Don't be a stick in the mud.
Last night , the wife and I was watching The Voice and saw the winner of last season performing his first song. We were sorely disappointed because this guy, I think, is in our/my age group - over 40. I made the comment that, the record companies don't care about our age group because we are not downloading and buying music. This big man trying to sound like Usher. There is currently no young (under 30) R & B singer out there that is doing any music that appeals to me. However, I don't have a choice because the music is played on every station, so I get immune to it. The same thing applies to our Dancehall music.
So, Histy, join in the fun here on the forum and post more often, but just lighten up a bit and don't tek ebrything so serious....mon!Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Jangle, I opened the link that TopBrick posted with (i forget the dudes' name). I surprised myself by listening to the chune for the full 3+ minutes.
I must admit I have outgrown this kind of musical entertainment. (X's post is verification).
There comes a time when one's sense of musical entertainment evolves. Simple repetitive musical cords--ehnanced by electronics means, show no real talent in music composition.
I have to remind myself (though), that I use to listen to (and appreciate) similar incoherent stuff back-in-the-days. Granted, today's dancehall music has more enhancements-- and the artist does not have to be literate or show traits of being socially responsible.
So I can understand Historians plight at this genre. It's like fast-food..."taste good" but empty calories!
This leads me to the term you used: Dance Hall Classics. I am still in the process of reconciling the term.Last edited by HL; November 9, 2012, 04:46 PM.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
hehehe.... I agree that at "our" age we have outgrown "today's" dancehall music, but there are still a few that will ketch my ears.
"Dance Hall Classics. I am still in the process of reconciling the term"
Here's one to jog your memory while you reconcile. Turn up the bass:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iuPx3R8cr78Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by HL View PostGranted, today's dancehall music has more enhancements-- and the artist does not have to be literate or show traits of being socially responsible.
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWith all due respect Dancehall has never been a genre built on social responsibility...it has been about survival by any means necessaryThe only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
Naw man....my choice is the ultimate Dancehall Classic. Draw this in a dance and watch the reaction.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Admiral was talking bout a two year old horse. LOL. A young Filly.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.