• Traffic ticket amnesty fall short of projected revenue

Traffic ticket amnesty fall short of projected revenue

6:04 am, Thu November 8, 2012

The Ministry of Finance is to provide Parliament's Public Administration and Appropriations Committee, PAAC, with an update on how the shortfall from the traffic ticket amnesty is impacting the 2012/2013 Budget.
    The Government is trying to fill the gap as the amnesty is not generating the revenue that was projected.
    Only one per cent of the expected inflows has been realised.
    It was projected that the Government would have collected nearly J$500 million from outstanding traffic tickets.
    Another J$450 million was expected from new tickets.
    However, it was revealed during Wednesday's sitting of the PAAC that with eight months gone in the financial year, only J$5.5 million in outstanding arrears has been collected.
    Permanent Secretary in the National Security Ministry, Ann Marie Barnes, admitted that other areas in the Ministry have been affected.
    To offset the shortfall, $J46 million had to be re-allocated from other Ministries.

Wow!!!! 1%? Man rather take him chance with the corrupted cops.

Yuh see this is where the govt and our corrupt cops (sigh) need to come down extra hard on those with outstanding tickets! Yuh get an amnesty and ignore den it must hurt yuh when dem ketch yuh rasz!

I think I reported on this Forum a few months ago that I was a passenger in a car the other day that was stopped by the police. Turns out the driver had 17 outstanding tickets. What yuh think happened? Not a damn ting! Di driver beg di cop fi low him cah him have 8 pickney a tek care of. (Yes, these are my friends!) Money not even pass!

I thought 17 was whole heap until I heard of the 200 and 500 outstanding tickets for individuals!

If we really serious, we can really mek billions from outstanding tickets and traffic tickets in general. Red Hills Road alone every morning - one honest cop should be able to generate 50 x 3000 = $150,000.

The problem is when government come down hard pon them we say them wicked and government uncaring, and them a babylon. When you give amensty them ignore.

Everybody think is only the rich man to pay taxes and them fi get a bly so you find a country like Jamaica where most not paying any, and no country can run like that.

Tax have to pay and government have to make it "reasonable" for the masses. I put reasonable in bracket because that is somewhat subjective.

Do the traffic police have any way of telling if someone has and outstanding ticket? I mean right there on the spot?

Of course they do!!

All the afficer has to do is to go into his back pocket and pull out his note book with the list of names. duh!

Actually, HL and Brickie, the cops who stopped the car looked up the driver's tickets right there in front of us on his Blackberry! All info was there - offence, date, amount of fine, etc!

I said to myself, wow! My country gone first world!

Stay deh sorry fi wi!

Yeah i heard about something like that...they BB back to base and base BB dem back the info...now i just need to figure out why they keep giving me tickets on my farrin licence...comical

ssssh...

I actually crush them up in the front of their face and fling dem on the floor of my car...yuh waan see dem face..but I mean how many times are these fools gonna write in Jamaica Pegasus as my address before they realize dem a eediat?

Yuh gwine stop when di cop realise him give you 5 other tickets in the last month. So when were you leaving again?!

Prove it with a TRN#...I am always leaving tomorrow