Ohio will always be close. Remember you have the industrial side and the country parts West Virginia, you part next to Kentucky and Pensylvannia bush. Put it this way it is a unique place and that is why it is always close.
yeahhhhh...yeahhhhhh...yeahhhhhh!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostFor a "poor candidate", he didn't do too shabby!"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
did you count all the errors he made leading up to election? From Isreal, Olympics, 47% etc. At least Bush reached out to Hispanic, Romney didn't even try. His VP choice was like McCain's. It added no value.
He wasn't a strong candidate. The republican base, like the democratic base can be stubborn at times but it takes a leader to make them follow along and reach others. Mitt wasn't that man.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postdid you count all the errors he made leading up to election? From Isreal, Olympics, 47% etc. At least Bush reached out to Hispanic, Romney didn't even try. His VP choice was like McCain's. It added no value.
He wasn't a strong candidate. The republican base, like the democratic base can be stubborn at times but it takes a leader to make them follow along and reach others. Mitt wasn't that man.
That said, I don't agree that the errors he made were big blunders. His biggest hindrance was his own party. Personally, I think he is a decent bloke whose record shows that he knows how to turn things around both in government and in business, and he certainly (no matter what you think of the mormon church) showed social responsibility in being both a pastor and sunday school teacher in his Church.
Either way, it is clear that America's demographics have changed sufficiently to warrant a major overhaul of the republican party. Maybe they will split into two parties or implode. We can always hope. Still, the democrats should be careful not to gloat or think that they are a shoe in for the next midterms."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostThe race/ethnicity that the republicans lost on were hispanics. They voted for Bush and won California for Reagan and Bush I. The republicans have alienated them with their stupid immigration policies and rhetoric.
The effect was at least as dramatic in swing states, most notably in Colorado, which Obama won on Tuesday. There Latinos went for the president by an astounding 87-10 margin, an edge not far from the near-monolithic support he received from African American voters. In Ohio, with a smaller but still significant Latino population, Obama won by an 82-17 margin.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
maybe good at business but not politics. He hasn't developed a slogan that sticks.
His convention was like a business meeting with no bite. First convention I saw and no bump.
Choose a VP that wouldn't help him.
He had nothing inspiring or no Zing about him.
Just like John Kerry, can't remember one positive thing about their campaign.
His platform was too self centered, not really reaching out to people.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Here is the thing though, the other republican candidates were worse and would have lost worse.
Can you imagine Rick Santorium telling grown people that birth control is immoral? Or Herman Cain saying to shoot people when they try to cross the border? Thisis what they have come to as a party."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
yeah they went too right. Rick Perry had a glorious chance and he was such an idiot.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Willi View PostThe man was a vulture capitalist that robbed up peoples pension.Not a decnt man by any stretch of the imagination. 47% proved that
Secondly, picking on him for the 47% comment is just as ludicrous as the right wing picking on Obama 4 years ago for the "clinging to their guns and bibles" comment. Both statements were wildly taken out of context by their opponents.
Part of the problem with the way in which democracies work is that people vote (which is their right) for the issues that they believe affect them most. But just because the candidate person "A" votes for is not the candidae that person "B" votes for doesn't mean that either candidate should be demonized."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
"Secondly, picking on him for the 47% comment is just as ludicrous as the right wing picking on Obama 4 years ago for the "clinging to their guns and bibles" comment. Both statements were wildly taken out of context by their opponents."
Paul sorry to let you know but the 47% went a big way of framing Romney by Democrats. I think it did cause him some damage. Election are not jus won on policies but the impression the candidate or the opposition create goes some way to been elected. Just like the "tug boat" with John Kerry.
As for Bain capital, I think Romney should have responded early and went on the attack about it.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Post"Secondly, picking on him for the 47% comment is just as ludicrous as the right wing picking on Obama 4 years ago for the "clinging to their guns and bibles" comment. Both statements were wildly taken out of context by their opponents."
Paul sorry to let you know but the 47% went a big way of framing Romney by Democrats. I think it did cause him some damage. Election are not jus won on policies but the impression the candidate or the opposition create goes some way to been elected. Just like the "tug boat" with John Kerry.
As for Bain capital, I think Romney should have responded early and went on the attack about it."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365