30-year-old single mom struggles with six kids

• 30-year-old single mom struggles with six kids

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>30-year-old single mom struggles with six kids</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>TYRONE S REID, Observer staff reporter
    Wednesday, March 28, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=200 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Debbie Ann Nelson with her seven-month-old twin daughters. Nelson, a mother of six, says it is difficult to survive. She is unemployed and her children's fathers are not supporting them. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood) </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>FEEDING her children and sending them to school are parental responsibilities Debbie Ann Nelson is unable to fulfil. For the 30-year-old unemployed single mother from Golden Spring, St Andrew, life is a perpetual struggle.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But Nelson readily admits that all that is happening now is her fault. mistakes she cannot correct. She has made bad decisions in choosing partners and today she is suffering the consequences along with her six children, three daughters - a seven-year-old and a pair of seven-month-old twins, and three sons ages five, 10 and 14.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I don't regret having my children but I regret having them for those fathers," she tells the Observer. "I also regret not serving God and making so many foolish mistakes, and now I am unable to correct them."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Nelson tells the all too familiar story of delinquent fathers who have shunned their paternal responsibilities, leaving her to be the sole provider for their offspring, and of family members who have turned a blind eye to her situation.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I don't have anyone to support me. The fathers are not supporting them and I don't have any job," she says, adding that the father of the twin girls is a Caymanian who no longer lives in Jamaica and refuses to provide child support. She says family members have also refused to associate themselves with her because of the choices she has made in life.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Most of the time when I go on the road, I will see somebody and they might offer me something for the children, but other than that the children can't go to school [Constant Spring Primary] which is very bad."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Today she is forced to seek assistance to provide food and proper shelter for
    her children.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Things are really hard with me, I don't even have food to feed them," a desperate Nelson said, as the twin babies cried uncontrollably in her arms. "And because of the children, I am unable to get a job. But if I could get one, like cleaning or washing, there is a lady I could leave them with during the day."<P class=StoryText align=justify>She adds that the twin girls have ear and stomach infections and are in need of medical attention.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Her living conditions in Golden Spring, she says, are "terrible", pointing out that the one-room shack they call home has no windows, flooring or doors.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I have no furniture or stove either. I have to cook on wood fire or coal. The Member of Parliament [Andrew Gallimore] gave me some material to put up a better one-room but I need some assistance to put it together. I'd love to build up something better for me and my children," Nelson tells the Observer. She says she is also registered with the PATH programme but nothing has been forthcoming since she signed up three months ago.

RE: 30-year-old single mom struggles with six kids

This why whenever I hear manyfriends (all Jamaican men) talk about how dem "muss breed a women fi hold on pon har" I get into a big fight after.

either money or politics cant solve this problem this just plain old ignorance and stupidity.

Sad Sad Case

RE: 30-year-old single mom struggles with six kids

MdmeX (3/28/2007)<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I don't regret having my children but I regret having them for those fathers," she tells the Observer. "I also regret not serving God and making so many foolish mistakes, and now I am unable to correct them."<P class=StoryText align=justify>
      <P class=StoryText align=justify>Maybe if she regretted having so many kids she would begin to understand her problem.