• Nooo! Not in Jamaica...

Let there be light: Adams Valley powers up for the first time ever

Published: Saturday | November 3, 2012 0 Comments

From left: Residents of Adams Valley district in Maidstone, Manchester, Hyacinth Allen, Gwendolyn Johnson, and Movanry Richards share in the joy of their community finally getting electricity with their Member of Parliament Mikael Phillips.

1 2 3 >
    Adams Valley powers up for the first time ever

Dave Lindo, Gleaner Writer

ADAMS VALLEY, Manchester:AT 6: 45 p.m. on Wednesday, life in Dams Valley district in Maidstone, the first free village in Manchester, was changed significantly when the residents got electricity for the first time in the history of the community.
    The project was a partnership between Mikael Phillips, member of parliament for North West Manchester, and the Rural Electrification Programme (REP).
    The entire community was in a celebratory mood at the electrification ceremony held on Wednesday, where Energy Minister Phillip Paulwell turned on the lights, signifying the presence of electricity in the community.
    For years, the residents of Adams Valley, many of whom are descendants of slaves, had no choice but to live their lives without electricity. Light for most came from the use of kerosene lamps and candles. Some who could afford it used generators run by gas. Those who couldn't were cut off from the rest the world as they did not have the privilege of watching television to keep abreast of what was happening.
    Elaine Hart, president of the Adams Valley Citizens' Association, said: "Life here was really boring. There were a lot of things that we could have done. You know that we are now in the computer age, students coming from school with homework, if we had the light, they could use their computers because a lot of parents have computers, but no electricity."
    She added: "Also, we housewives have our appliances packed away long time, but were not able to use them, so this is just a joyous moment for us. It will certainly make a big difference in our lives."
    WONDERFUL MOMENT
    Adams Valley resident Movanry Richards said: "This is such a wonderful moment for us. Life wasn't easy without electricity. Sometimes I had to go my mother's house in Johns Hall to use electricity, so this is a big change for us."
    Ray Chambers, principal of Nazereth All-Age School, was also happy for his students who are from the area. "The students are excited about it. When I mentioned it at school that they will be getting electricity in their area, they were just thrilled for the fact that they will be able to do their homework using electricity instead of lamp light, because that was a big challenge for them."
    The project came at a cost of $4.9 million. Phillips contributed $1.5 million from his Constituency Development Fund and the balance was from the REP. More than 30 households will receive electricity from the Jamaica Public Service's grid.
    Residents are being given the opportunity to have their houses wired by the REP team. It was disclosed that eight have so far paid in full, while others have made deposits.
    rural@gleanerjm.com

Touching but sad at the same time.

Exile!!!

Exile, what’s your problem?

I notice that in recent posts you’ve stepped up your defense of slackness, inefficiency and (ultimately) failure in our beloved Jamaica in order to, no doubt, display your patriotism.

This morning you started by copying and posting a newspaper column by a rather ordinary writer in which she shared her view on issues beyond Jamaica’s borders. You decided, for reasons known only to yourself, to begin your posted comment by calling out poster HL (“For venerable poster HL…. Jamaica update”) before moving on to comparing the post-hurricane situation in the affected US states with that of Jamaica. In choosing to call out this long-time contributer to the Reggae Boyz Forum, are you so easily led that you allow Mosiah to be such a major influence on you?

Now, your “Nooo! Not in Jamaica” effort here is very pathetic because, as usual, you have allowed yourself to be blinded by your patriotism as opposed to reality!

To be specific: What on earth do you find complimentary (as suggested by your subject line) about a situation where, twelve years into the 21st century, people in a community in the supposed Caribbean leader are getting electricity for the first time? The people of Dams Valley are referred to as the “first free village in Manchester,” yet they are getting electricity now for the first time in more than 50 years of independence?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        Exile, what’s your problem?

I notice that in recent posts you’ve stepped up your defense of slackness, inefficiency and (ultimately) failure in our beloved Jamaica in order to, no doubt, display your patriotism.

This morning you started by copying and posting a newspaper column by a rather ordinary writer in which she shared her view on issues beyond Jamaica’s borders. You decided, for reasons known only to yourself, to begin your posted comment by calling out poster HL (“For venerable poster HL…. Jamaica update”) before moving on to comparing the post-hurricane situation in the affected US states with that of Jamaica. In choosing to call out this long-time contributer to the Reggae Boyz Forum, are you so easily led that you allow Mosiah to be such a major influence on you?

Now, your “Nooo! Not in Jamaica” effort here is very pathetic because, as usual, you have allowed yourself to be blinded by your patriotism as opposed to reality!

To be specific: What on earth do you find complimentary (as suggested by your subject line) about a situation where, twelve years into the 21st century, people in a community in the supposed Caribbean leader are getting electricity for the first time? The people of Dams Valley are referred to as the “first free village in Manchester,” yet they are getting electricity now for the first time in more than 50 years of independence?

LOL... ...Funny nuh ********!! Misguided but amusing....
        Doan tap atall!!

Not my problem..yours!

[quote=Historian;388730]Exile, what’s your problem?
          Let me respond:

1. Where have I "stepped up defense of slackness, inefficiency and failure'? You are suggesting that defended the above and has now stepped up??? Why?

2. I don't need to display my patriotism to anyone.

3. I posted the article for HL since we were discussing storm issues in Jamaica and the US (without any rancour)I was sharing a PERSPECTIVE from the morning's paper.

4. HL is a venerable poster.....no excuses. Accorded a great deal of respect, esp. because of age, wisdom, or character: "a venerable statesman". I don't understand why I couldn't address HL. I don't see what Mosiah has to do with it. Incidentally, I also think Mosiah is venerable poster.

5. "Nooo! Not in Jamaica" are my words. If you find them pathetic - so be it. I don't understand what you mean by 'blinded by patriotism as opposed to reality". Please explain.

6. To be specific - where on earth did you see me saying anything was complimentary based on my subject line????

7. Finally - before you start to jump on my post, just take a deep breath, relax and read it again BEFORE you respond. I made a post, I took no value position....ok..the title rattled you a bit.
          Last edited by Exile; November 3, 2012, 10:36 PM.

Yu right fi laugh...have me a respond and mi daughter telling me to 'get off the computer'.....mi gawn.

I couldn't care less if Historian considers me a venerable poster or not. I find him arrogant and irascible for the silliest things.

Yuh have time, Exile!

I'm not that harsh on him...he is shaped by his own experiences...whatever they are...I'm sure he has a good story.

I'm not being harsh one bit! But if that comment brings about another period of self-imposed exile, so be it!

Pls leave my name out of it...heh, heh....