For venerable poster HL....Jamaica update..

• For venerable poster HL....Jamaica update..

Bringing back light...at any cost?

Barbara Gloudon
    Friday, November 02, 2012

"MAN A WRITE and God a rub out," our people say. To be more refined you can also choose "Man proposes, God disposes."
    HOWEVER you say it, man is not in charge these days. Higher powers rule. A week or so ago, we went up against Sandy, the "crumoochin" tropical storm/hurricane which turned out to be a tyrant in disguise. Before the bout began, it seemed that we would win. Sandy was supposed to be just a little pyah-pyah breeze-blow, but now we know. Water more than our feeble power.

We can forgive Sandy for almost everything but the loss of electricity. If you're rich enough, you can bathe in bottled water; but rich or poor, there comes the realisation that lack of electricity is an equal-opportunity meltdown-maker. The JPSCo, already battle-scarred from unending differences of opinion with disgruntled customers, found itself further castigated as Public Enemy Number One, because it couldn't "tun up de light" fast enough.
    Winsome Callum, the company's beleaguered communications officer, deserves a medal for keeping her cool and sticking to the message. She tried to get us to comprehend the enormity of the task of restoring downed power lines, when so much damage has been done to the environment, particularly in the eastern parishes. There, the restoration task is especially formidable. Some of us heard the message that it will take time to get back to normal, but we haven't bothered to listen. We've become a people of instant gratification. We want the light and we want it now. (Nuh mek mi haffe ask you again!)
    Of course, there is nothing more depressing than darkness. Our heightened anxiety is quite understandable, considering "the pestilence that walketh by night" in our land. For this and other reasons, we're demanding immediate answers to the question, why is it taking so long for our lights to go on again? The company insists that the task is tougher than the public thinks. They say that the rate of progress is in proportion to the environmental damage, which has to be overcome, especially in the parishes of St Mary, St Thomas and Portland.
    We haven't even given full thought to damage to property, especially agricultural holdings. Spare a thought for the decimated banana fields and the workers without work. The evidence is there for all to see. Power lines are at the bottom of ravines where machinery cannot go. It is left to human hands, which are often at risk and vulnerable to injury. In case you didn't notice, a JPSCo contractor was electrocuted in the course of doing his job on Tuesday.
    QUITE UNEXPECTEDLY the minister with responsibility for energy "has thrown the JPSCo under the bus", as the saying goes, publicly castigating them for not having better restoration plans and more repair crews in the field. Why hasn't the company done so? Both they and the minister need to tell us. What would the company gain by not pursuing strategies for a speedy restoration? What do they stand to gain by deliberately leaving customers in the dark? We need information.
    IN THE EASTERN SEABOARD OF THE US OF A where Sandy went to wreak much more havoc, we have the opportunity to compare how a no-power crisis is dealt with There as compared to Here. A family member of mine, resident in New Jersey, has been told not to expect any restoration of power supplies in her area before seven days after Sandy's assault. "But you're in America. Things are supposed to move fast-fast there," is our reaction. Apparently, it doesn't work like that. US-based electricity companies, we've learned, adhere to a strict formula which begins with assessment followed by strategic planning and then action. The first two are under way now. The action is yet to come. The dislocation is horrific.
    Despite public inconvenience, the process follows a set course: "It is not done in a hopscotch way like you in Jamaica seem to do in response to public pressure. The US policy places much concern on the safety of the public and the workers. We have to learn patience." This is not easy for high-rise dwellers when there's no power to activate elevators in hospitals, homes or places of business where the climb up and down many flights of stairs in darkness can be lethal.
    WE'VE BEEN SEEING, via the media, the extent of the flooding in Lower Manhattan, among other afflicted areas. There are stern warnings about venturing into water on the streets. No one has to be told more than once that this is like a minefield seeded with live wires. Members of the public know that when given the directive to "keep out", it is non-negotiable. The law stands firm to reinforce the order, just as it did for "the stupid and the selfish", so described by one public official, when they tried to disobey evacuation orders.
    Tropical storms or hurricanes are not supposed to happen in a land where seasonal planning at this time of year is for snow and ice, not mad tropical storms. Sandy invaded and acted with senseless cruelty, including being the force behind a massive fire in Queens, another community where many of our people live. Things are very difficult all up and down the region, yet we hear no reports of panic and defiance of authority. What do they know that we don't? Why do they line up in an orderly manner to gain access to storm shelters and other relief facilities? Why do we find it hard to do so?
    WE ARE TALKING HERE about the ungracious and arrogant attitude of some users of our local shelters and relief facilities. Who could believe the attitude of the woman who arrived at a shelter armed with her utensils and a personal cook, to reinforce her culinary preferences? "No box food" and "Where's the Pampers for the baby?" This has become a public joke, making her the TV sound byte of the week.
    When we stop laughing, however, we might find it is not so funny after all. Able-bodied persons who are perfectly capable of helping themselves should not be facilitated to exploit facilities made available for those in genuine need. The integrity of our disaster relief programme must not be compromised. People who disapprove of the quality of the meals and the standard of the bedding should be encouraged to move and keep on moving.
    The prime minister spoke out on Tuesday about ministering to the needy, not the greedy. About time. Without wishing to stifle freedom of speech, the media, especially the electronic arm, should recognise when they are being manipulated and give no refuge to the shameless and the greedy.
    SAD, SAD, SAD: One Thursday morning, not so long ago. I had a lively encounter on a Hotline broadcast with a bright-eyed, very personable young woman who acquitted herself well as communications officer for the island's postal services. Little did I know that our first meeting would also be our last. Just over a week later, hers was the body found in bushes along the Port Royal Road. I had no knowledge of it and was actually commending her to the radio audience when the horrible news was confirmed.
    Heartfelt condolences to her grieving family. God help us all.
    gloudonb@yahoo.com

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz2B4NXHOIG

Mitigation projects may have helped saved millions in Hurricane Sandy — ODPEM

Luke Douglas
    Wednesday, October 31, 2012

IN the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, the Office of Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management (ODPEM) has pointed to a number of disaster mitigation projects which it says may have prevented the loss of millions of dollars in property and may even have saved lives.
    The projects, which involved simple practices, such as mangrove replanting, shelter retrofitting and building foot bridges, are being introduced to other vulnerable communities across the island, subject to the availability of resources to ODPEM.
    “From all indications, the communities did very well,” said the agency’s senior director of mitigation, planning and research, Karema Aikens-Mitchell.
    She was speaking of communities which benefitted from the Building Disaster Resilient Communities Project funded by the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) with a contribution of $43 million.
    Under the project, 28 communities were targeted for micro-disaster risk reduction projects, including mangrove replanting, shelter retrofitting, and the building of foot bridges.
    The result is that many communities were better able to withstand the ravages of Sandy.
    The evaluation after the hurricane of Kellits in Clarendon, for example, which benefitted from retrofitting of roofs, is very good.
    “We have not had any reports from that community of damage,” said Aikens-Mitchell.
    In Old Harbour Bay, St Catherine, more than 100 people were evacuated to shelters in the area based on the training they received.
    “They knew exactly where they shelters were. There is evidence that they heeded the warnings,” said Aikens-Mitchell.
    Another micro project funded with US$2.3 million by the World Bank, among other things, seeks to teach people to channel their bath water into drains to prevent landslides. This project is being implemented in four communities — Harbour Heights, Melbrook Heights and Bedward Gardens in St Andrew and Breastworks in Portland.
    Aikens-Mitchell also noted a detailed method adopted from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in the United States, for the protection of coastal towns, which was being implemented in Annotto Bay, St Mary.
    “The findings are very interesting. They will be published next month,” she said.
    A year ago, ODPEM identified 310 out of 900 communities islandwide that were at risk of disasters. It is now in the process of implementing mitigation projects in several of these communities.

Extremely delighted to know Jamaica is back on track. That the local government and other agencies are doing a great job in getting things back to normalcy.

My heart goes out to the folks in the NE US A who have been affacted.

This is (among) the worst natural desaster that has affected the US. Population density is a big factor in getting things ack to near normal.

I am fixated on the outcome...not the process.

In contrast... most of the people who perished--ignored the warnings.

After all, the NE is not (really) known for hurricane. Naturally, most folks will feel more comfortable in their homes than shelter. This is understandable.

The restoration efforts (I have read and heard) will take into consideration more robust hurricane-proof corrective actions.

Jamaica not back on track...what yu talking bout? Unless there is massive injection of capital, every natural disaster downsizes the economy, the infrastructure and paralyzes the country...and we gotten our fair share.

When you get a storm like Sandy that did damage to only part of the country and then sweeps over the rest of the Caribbean and tears up the US - Jamaica is not even the picture anymore....and wont attract the news or funding....
          Yes, and I too feel it for all who gets hit by natural disasters....it is a leveler indeed.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            Jamaica not back on track...what yu talking bout? Unless there is massive injection of capital, every natural disaster downsizes the economy, the infrastructure and paralyzes the country...and we gotten our fair share.

When you get a storm like Sandy that did damage to only part of the country and then sweeps over the rest of the Caribbean and tears up the US - Jamaica is not even the picture anymore....and wont attract the news or funding....
            Yes, and I too feel it for all who gets hit by natural disasters....it is a leveler indeed.
            The effect of downsizing the economy?
            True or false?

One side --->>>

I believe (for Jamaica) it is always an opportune time to 'jump start'/infuse the economy with robust fixing' and improving. - Certainly the injection of re-insurance money (usually british pounds and US dollars), relaxing of credit, freeing up of funds that individuals and companies, etc. - rebuilding efforts, etc. - unemployment and underemployment figures should trend downwards rapidly (overnight-like?).

Repairing - Water and sewage systems, electricity grids, telecommunication grid buildout, roads, residential housing and commerical buildings, government facilities e.g. schools, hospitals, others, replacement of comsumer perishable goods/distributive trade, Agriculture -intensive replanting...etc., etc.

Yes Karl, infrastructural development, repairing, etc. ALL need a major injection of capital....and will not happen overnight...the patches will only hold up to the next crisis...or not.

Several threads ago when i asked the following simple question:

How is the clean-up and restoration efforts
                (from hurricane sandy)...coming along in Jamaica?

Thanks.

Both you and Mosiah went off on your 'high horses'... about the resilience of Jamaica.....

Now you are back-tracking to the actual truth.

I saw Historians comments on your views. I decided not to add to his correct observations.

Anyway, thanks for the late update on my original question. I hope you (and others) have contributed to the clean-up efforts.

HL, by reporting what I gleaned from the news and sharing an article is not going off on 'high horses'. I still maintain that there is a marked difference in the coping mechanisms of both regions post-Sandy.
                  What is the 'truth' HL? Plus, what was correct about Historian's observations?
                  For those of you in glass houses, try not to throw so many stones nuh!
                  The clean-up efforts in both places will go on - without me (I cannot speak for others). It's easy to get updates, just follow the news in Jamaica....

HL, by reporting what I gleaned from the news and sharing an article is not going off on 'high horses'. I still maintain that there is a marked difference in the coping mechanisms of both regions post-Sandy.
                    What is the 'truth' HL? Plus, what was correct about Historian's observations?
                    For those of you in glass houses, try not to throw so many stones nuh!
                    The clean-up efforts in both places will go on - without me (I cannot speak for others). It's easy to get updates, just follow the news in Jamaica....
                    Peculiar forms of mania explain their irrationality

One lives in a self-constructed mental Ivory Tower with mainly delusions of superiority for company

The other is victimized by the classical Foreign Mind... Neva-Si-ComeSi-itis

Go figure who is who.... but they fit together lika glove

Succinctly put.