Smady talk to Briggie fi mi nuh? Unuh

• Smady talk to Briggie fi mi nuh? Unuh

tell him say there was no bigga defender of Adams than Laze nuh? Mr. Briggie, yuh know who name Shanice Stoddart? Well, if yuh ever hear what she affi say yuh repent like Lazie.

A same way unthinking people did support Hitler and him almshouse.

RE: Smady talk to Briggie fi mi nuh? Unuh

Lazie you have to educate me on who is shanice stoddart.

Ask and it shall be given, afterall,

Lazie is hear to teach people
      I'm not hear to deceive the people.<P class=StoryText align=justify>SHANICE Stoddart, now 11, was dressed in a lime green frock yesterday.

The burgundy wig she wore, in another circumstance, would have been a funny parody of a dancehall queen.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But yesterday was serious business. And Shanice - through three bathroom breaks - with seeming confidence, spent the day recollecting the Crawle incident that happened when she was eight.<P class=StoryText align=justify>With a victim support officer seated behind her in the witness box of courtroom 1 at the Supreme Court in downtown Kingston, Shanice told:<P class=StoryText align=justify>. how she and Angella Richards had hidden under a bed at Richards' home when the police came;<P class=StoryText align=justify>. of a policeman squeezing Richards' neck for the woman to release her;<P class=StoryText align=justify>. of not remembering what the man who squeezed Richards' neck looked like;<P class=StoryText align=justify>. of being taken out of the house to a mango tree in the yard and being told to look "down the road";<P class=StoryText align=justify>. of hearing gunshots; and
      . of hearing Richards begging for her life.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Angie was saying 'please no bada kill me', but the police did not reply," Shanice told the court.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The young girl, who now lives abroad under the government's Witness Protection Programme, was giving evidence on the 13th day of the trial of Senior Superintendent Reneto Adams and five of his former subordinates in the now disbanded Crime Management Unit (CMU).<P class=StoryText align=justify>They are accused of executing four people, including Richards and Shanice's mother, Lowena Thompson, at Crawle, a village in Jamaica's south central parish of Clarendon, on May 7, 2003.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The police at the time claimed that the four died in a gunfight when CMU members came under fire when they went to Richards' home in search of a wanted man, Bashington Douglas, also called "Chen Chen" and "Shortman".<P class=StoryText align=justify>Shanice recalled that on the afternoon of the killings she had returned from school and had gone with her mother to Richards' home. There they played cards together on the verandah. They were later joined by a man she called "Bulpie", who was also at the home with Douglas and another man from Spanish Town.
      Everything soon changed.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I only see a bus come and police came out of the bus and started to shoot," Shanice said. "And de man dem seh, 'run, police'. And Angie and I ran under one of the beds. And my mother run on the bed. I heard one of the policemen say, 'Who under the bed come out'. Me and Angie came out and I go in Angie's lap and one of the policemen say she must let me go, and she never let me go. And one of them squeezed her throat and she let me go.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"And the same policeman took me to the mango tree (outside) and tell me to look down the road. The same policeman that squeeze Angie's throat, he took me to the mango tree nearby the kitchen."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Later, during cross examination, Shanice said it was Douglas who had shouted that it was the police who had come, and for the others to run.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I didn't run under the bed when the police came," she said in answer to questions by a defence attorney. "I never saw them before. It was when shortman shout police, I knew they were police."<P class=StoryText align=justify>While she stood under the mango tree, Shanice testified, she heard gunshots in the house. She said that same policeman who had taken her into the yard then told her to go home.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I was going to walk at the gate and the same policeman say I should not walk there," the little girl said. "I walked a

.. and to verify the girl's testimony ....<P class=StoryText align=justify>
        He was standing under a mango tree, Thompson said, when Adams brought him an apparently panicked child. Adams went back inside the house. Thompson claimed that he heard gunshots.
        Thompson said he told the child - apparently Shanice - to run to her home and "do not stop".
        <P class=StoryText align=justify>A tune name "Cold Blooded Murderer" come to mind? Or yuh nuh know the tune?

Thanks. That's terrible which is why he's sitting by a desk right now. However, a lot of murderer's are no longer with us as a result of CMU. Adam's became too overzealous but personally when they apprehend t known murderer's, if the option is toapprehend them and they get away because witnesses are afraid to come forward or killed or for the police to take them out, my preference is they be taken out. The civil libertarians on this site may find this opinion offensive, however, I find more offensive that decent people can not live in peace and without a constant fear for their safety and that of their loved one's.

Our crime problem can not be solved in the vacuum of policing solely, their are many other factors that enter the equation but until those are adequately addressed the life's of innocent people has to be preserved by any means necessary.

Since when is punishment for murder is sitting behind a desk? I thought imprisonment was the ideal punishment? Briggie, you claim, "a lot of murderer's are no longer with us as a result of CMU", mi ask yuh a question. How many murderers did the CMU kill at Crawle? Yuh think is everytime police claim dem kill smady in a "shootout" dem telling the truth? If Adams did kill Shanice with her mother, would she be seen as a criminal too?

A few weeks back a father called the Icon of Jamaican Journalism and a complain how police shoot him son. Another man tek ova the call and admitted that all the while people a complain bout the police him did think a lie dem a tell ..... BUT NOW HIM KNOW! Don't be like that caller Briggie!

Lazie I am under no misconception as to the police and their ethics. However it's a choice, in the context of Jamaica, of a lesser of two evils. Adams has never been convicted of murder so how do you reconcile your civil libertarian philosophy with your belief he should be imprisoned. The jury spoke loud and clear in his case, perhaps they also believe in the choice of the lesser of two evils and decided to side with Adams via a jury nullification.

Have you ever followed a court case in Jamaica?

worked on one

uh-oh. are you part of the problem?

Mosiah a play dollyhouse! Did you follow the Crawle case? If you heard the "Summation" from the Chief Justice and still can say Adams is innocent ... then!

That is a very immature philosophy.

Even if one were to consider it as a last resort, ask yourself if all other options have been exhausted.

You do realize inept and corrupt people are running the system.. right ?

The JCF and indeed the Govt has no basis to pursue the path you are advocating.. dem not even start to try and be serious about crime yet wi want to sacrifice innocents (mainly ghettos) to feel better.

Mek police kill a few of the wrong people and si what happen.