They do right now. Police can't assure security at all times, and so a cottage industry has developed around the idea of security. Armed security guards, off duty policemen doing private detail etc etc. These of course are not the same as the grotesque example you have chosen to demonstrate your point, but it is a subtle example of a posse system. Private patrols in upper St. Andrew is one such example. Mind you, nothing is wrong with it in my opinion.
i personally know of farrin investors who tried for Baths in Labarite and Sochie times and get rebuffed.
If you naah deal wid serious fishhead yuh outta luck and that is what many investors refuse to get into..
As to Indian railway, would YOU tek an Indian train? I thought so....
Is like yuh figget what happen to dem CommonWealth Games bridge...
Millions of people take it every day, and will continue to take it every day, so whether I, or you for that matter, would take it is irrelevant to the Indian people.
Many people use our Baths too, but yet still yuh deh yah a cuss bout loss of potential like the rest of us.
I know a lot about India, as my ex-coworker was the son of the Cabinet Secretary when they exploded the first test nuke, and he told me a lot. Also my science teacher in Hi skool was a physicist on the same nuclear project...
You don't realise that them try dat already??? If them can't run Dunn's river and make profit, what else them going to run???
Every hotel the government invest in it end up been a lost and right off for the people of Jamaica, private people take it and turn it around. Government never make a profit of Air Jamaica, JOS or JUTA yet Mini van man dem look like them a bade.
Our government need not to do anything else but healthcare, security, Education the things that all government do. We know it will be a loss but we can live with that. What government need to to is concentrate and how they can make Jamaica investment friendly and when I am talking about investment friendly I am talking about where ordinary people can invest or start a business in stability and make reasonable proflts.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
RD, maybe that is the way things operate in New York. I live on Kansas City and if a pipe burst on a public road which affects my supply, it is the city's responsibility to fix that. That is a part of the reason why I pay taxes - for them to address the issues which affect the public with the money they get. If pipe burst on my property, then that is a different matter.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I don't know how Reggaedoc gone from road to sidewalk...in places like New York wou are responsible for clearing your sidewalk of snow...not if a pipe breaks...
Same here boss. I have the responsibility to clean my sidewalk before my place if it snows as well.
I have lived in Washington DC, Maryland, Texas, Arkansas, Kansas and now Missouri and I have never come across anything close to what Reggaedoc is suggesting in those places. It has always been a case of the city government being responsible for those things.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran