Sicko gets Sam Sharpe award

Originally posted by Historian View Post
    Tilla, I appreciate you taking the time to explain, and I now fully understand what transpired.

However, for the life of me I cannot understand the apparent anger and unnecessary asides in your second post (your reference to “grown men,” etc.)! The word “banned,” as even a child will attest, has ominous overtones! No amount of euphemistic efforts and condemnations of Historian on the part of you or Mosiah will change BOTH the denotation (that is, dictionary meaning) and the connotation (the idea suggested by the word) of the word “banned”!

Do I need to post a lecture here on “diction”(word choice)? Believe me, I can do so at a moment’s notice! Surely, you and your team could have come up with an alternative verb to “banned! With a little creativity on the part of you and your team, you could have devised one or two neutral verbs.

When all is said and done, the fact is that I do NOT know Sickko on a personal basis, I have never ever spoken to him (or anyone else on this forum for that matter), and I have no direct means of contacting him. Why should I?

Although I appreciate you taking the time to explain, in the final analysis my comments yesterday were not made out of any personal concern why he was banned (it is really not my business), but rather, just an observation after reading the posts and recalling what I SAW repeatedly beside his username.

(PS, Mosiah, there is no earthly reason for you to be disappointed, as like most people I cannot read minds. I made my remark yesterday because it is a FACT that I saw the word “banned” beside his name every time I came across it in the Archives.)

Communication can be a problem, as we have seen so often in Jamaica and elsewhere, but the comments aimed at me in this thread border on the ridiculous!!

woiiee mi spleen!!

Jah know seh dis yah forum noice more time

Suppose one desires one of these standard setting English "lectures" of yours....does one have to pay?? If nat...sign mi up quickquick!!
    Last edited by Don1; October 16, 2012, 09:56 AM.

Hey, is one ting when Brickie or Lazie trace yuh, but when Historian race yuh up, yuh not even know is dat him a do until yuh run fi di dickshinnary and di tessawrus! And den yuh cyaan even vex nuh more because yuh haffi appreciate di eddication yuh just receive!

Forum tun up dis mawnin!

yuhzimi

Ah di fuss mi si one man requess sitten an afta dat man ah cuss di peeple whe grant di requess

Ground breaking tings

You have either inadvertently hijacked your own celebratory thread with this wild nonsense or perhaps the intent all along was to get your peculiar mania re the self-banned ex-poster off your sky-high chest and into the public domain

I will further note that you are notable for your complaints about thread-jacking

Either way.... very clever!! I gotta remember this technique
            Last edited by Don1; October 16, 2012, 10:14 AM.

Let me get serious here for a while, because Historian you made some assumptions that were just plain WRONG and indeed mischievous!

At the time you made your post calling the administrators and moderators hypocrites, no administrator/moderator had expressed his/her congratulations to Sickko, except Karl. Yet you excused Karl, because, as you said, you know him as a good person, someone you respect. So you are calling us hypocrites when we never even said a word to Sickko about his award!!! And on top of that, you are implying that the rest of the admin/moderators were not good people and do not have your respect.

And then further, you assume that Sickko was banned permanently. Did that word also appear when you came across Sickko in the archives? If not, then why say it?

A big man would simply apologise.

Good points... lots of other material deh bout that can justify calling out di moderators as Hypocrites..

Historian ah mek dis ting look hard..

Thanks, Maudib.

Whey yuh just say?!? No, mi nuh sure mi read right.

Not sure where to place this ... but I would say that even IF he had been banned by the moderators, I don't think IMO it would be hypocritical to issue congrats.

In my original post on congrats I wrote additional commentary alluding to some of what IMO were some of Sickko's waaayyy over the top statements/comments; I deleted it as on second thoughts I didn't want to sound hypocritical in offering congrats and then saying something that could be construed as such...

We all know Sickko and some of his posts... I don't have to say any more... as for Brickie.... well... hmmmm... no comment...

That's the other thing! Just because he is banned from the forum it certainly would not have been hypocritical to offer congrats! So right, PR!

LOL

Well, I guess Historian is technically correct. It's just that Sickko was not banned in the way we plan to ban Brickie in the near future. And it came across as that.

We moderators do get beat up about what we do on this forum, and even what we DON'T do!
                          That's why we have broad shoulders, backs and b-a-c-k-s-i-d-e-s. But I had a hearty laff, when I read Historian's post regarding Sickko's "ban".

Three is company......................

hehe...."flummoxed" Gwaan Mosiah the Forum Road Scholar.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Not sure where to place this ... but I would say that even IF he had been banned by the moderators, I don't think IMO it would be hypocritical to issue congrats.

In my original post on congrats I wrote additional commentary alluding to some of what IMO were some of Sickko's waaayyy over the top statements/comments; I deleted it as on second thoughts I didn't want to sound hypocritical in offering congrats and then saying something that could be construed as such...

We all know Sickko and some of his posts... I don't have to say any more... as for Brickie.... well... hmmmm... no comment...
                                I have a couple suggestions as to where you can place it...you and Mo come een like two deejay...call up Brickie name fi a hype