• Unnu gawn up de wit unnu slackness?

Shot fired at Obama campaign office

Saturday, October 13, 2012

DENVER, USA (AP) - Denver police say someone has fired a shot through the window of President Barack Obama's Denver campaign office.
    Police spokeswoman Raquel Lopez says people were inside the office when the shooting happened Friday afternoon, but no one was injured. A large panel of glass was left shattered at the office on West Ninth Avenue near Acoma Street.

Lopez says investigators are looking at surveillance video but have not yet confirmed a description of a vehicle that might be linked to the shooting. Police didn't immediately release other details while detectives pursue leads.
    Lopez says she isn't aware of any previous threats against the campaign office.
    The Secret Service referred questions about the incident to Denver police.
    An Obama campaign spokeswoman declined to comment.

Things have been going in this direction, If Obama manages to win I expect worse to come.

Funny

Things have been going in this direction, If Obama manages to win I expect worse to come.
      Also, Islandman, don’t miss the sarcasm in Exile’s subject line (“Unno gone up de wit unno slackness?”)!

This is innuendo at its best! (LOL)

Yes, I did get it. Another Jamaican export industry?

More seriously, I am saddened to see how Americas political discourse has degenerated in the last 10 years or so. Politicians have become increasingly polarized, hardly ever breaking from the party line. Misleading ads have been replaced by outright lies and personal attacks. It it just really sad to see the US political system become a dysfunctional mess where little of substance gets done.

I said a few weeks go that the US is not too far from experiencing a violent political event ( i mean party politics here) It seems almost likely, particularly if Obama wins a second term.
        Last edited by Islandman; October 14, 2012, 09:26 AM.

You Are So Right!

Yes, I did get it. Another Jamaican export industry?

More seriously, I am saddened to see how Americas political discourse has degenerated in the last 10 years or so. Politicians have become increasingly polarized, hardly ever breaking from the party line. Misleading ads have been replaced by outright lies and personal attacks. It it just really sad to see the US political system become a dysfunctional mess where little of substance gets done.

I said a few weeks go that the US is not too far from experiencing a violent political event ( i mean party politics here) It seems almost likely, particularly if Obama wins a second term.
          Yep, Exile is the master craftsman of innuendo (lol).

But I fully share your views here, Islandman. For decades, many people deluded themselves with high-flown, liberal ideas about that country’s “great, unshakeable democracy,” not realizing that despite the genuine freedom in many aspects of life, there were always dark forces lurking beneath the surface.

Racial prejudice is one of these “dark forces,” and we have been witnessing this subtly working its way to the top after November 2008. The truth is that despite the civil rights successes of the 1960s and the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, and despite the election of a colored man as president, not a terribly great deal has changed in that country.

I fear that you are correct, and that the FBI and the Secret Service will thereby have their work cut out for them in the next four years if the incumbent CEO wins.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
            The truth is that despite the civil rights successes of the 1960s and the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, and despite the election of a colored man as president, not a terribly great deal has changed in that country.
            So true! HL disagrees still but...

You give too much credit...I'm just lucky at times.lol.
              What is interesting though is the double-edged sword that the information age has broad us - quick access to information, rapid circulation and the fallout from misinformation. We are plugged in to the MATRIX and are fed daily aliquots of 'the message'. Some us are able to digest and utilize the beneficial portion and treat the rest as waste, others of us take it all in, polluting our inner selves, regurgitating the 'message' and become a willing pawn in the political game. The political game is just a sub-plot though and the larger conspiracies abound....

So True

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                You give too much credit...I'm just lucky at times.lol.
                What is interesting though is the double-edged sword that the information age has broad us - quick access to information, rapid circulation and the fallout from misinformation. We are plugged in to the MATRIX and are fed daily aliquots of 'the message'. Some us are able to digest and utilize the beneficial portion and treat the rest as waste, others of us take it all in, polluting our inner selves, regurgitating the 'message' and become a willing pawn in the political game. The political game is just a sub-plot though and the larger conspiracies abound....

So true, and well said, boss. I couldn’t have summed up the realities of the information age any better!

But you have ignored my comment on “Trinidad & Tobago native” Nicki Minaj (lol) in that other thread (entitled “Nicki Minaj is a Freak”)! It doesn’t matter that she resides in the USA, she is a native of Trinidad & Tobago for the simple fact that she was born in that twin-island state! This is a dictionary definition of the word “native.”

On the other hand, Exile, maybe your comment was made in jest, a tongue-in-cheek statement, in which case I would definitely agree fully with what you said in that thread yesterday and the serious allusion to/ commentary on attitudes towards Caribbean natives by people up North.

Thought I responded to the Minaj comment...getting old...of course it was to my friends up north. There is another Trini Rapper before her though, who I much prefer and had some Jamaican dancehall links with the likes of Baby Cham - Foxy Brown - she was an original, really explicit lyrics, had sm run in with the law....of similar lineage like Minaj - 'Indo-Caribbean'.