• Student Loan crisis - students, universities under pressure

Edmond Campbell, Senior Staff Reporter
    Gov't seeks more time from universities to settle fee debts

IN AN intercessory move by the education ministry to prevent the possible deregistration of approximately 5,000 tertiary-level students, an urgent meeting has been convened with four of the country's leading universities.

Education Minister Ronald Thwaites told The Gleaner yesterday that the meeting has been organised today "or as soon as possible" with the University of the West Indies, Mona; the University of Technology; Northern Caribbean University and The Mico University College.

According to Thwaites, the meeting has been arranged to "ask them (the universities) if they can forbear on deregistration so that we can have a little bit more time to deal with it".

At one university, at least 3,000 students were said to be facing deregistration.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead1.html

It is ironic that the State should be short of funds but the private market is, of course, flushed," Thwaites said.

"It is doubly ironic that you can borrow money, collateral-free, to buy season tickets to the parties at Negril, during Independence, but you have to provide a guarantor for a student loan. We don't have our priorities straight."
    ATI we a go you nuh! Dream Weekend dun you nuh!
    Party we going all night looooong!

Dat's because we are in a party frame of mind.

The young man pass his CXC and sold toothbrushes and other items in the market so he could do his CAPE subjects (his mother died) - get through for university, but was told that his brother (who works at a gas station) can't be a guarantor for him. So poor fella, his goose got cooked.

At the same time efforts MUST be made to have those who have benefitted from the SLB repay the loans by every and any means possible. Many of them are in jobs and can afford to.

Embarrass them and start publishing the names using electronic media!! Too many selfish bastards...........

Yes that is a BIG problem. 30% delinquency rate? Dem must run short a funds!

I know a youngster at Utech who is having the guarantor problem as well. Tough situation but what are the colleges to do? Them have bills to pay too.

Maybe we need to look at the Booker T Washington approach on how to allow students to earn their way through school? But would today's young people be willing to do this kind of thing? I doubt it.

The school expressed Washington's dedication to the pursuit of self-reliance. In addition to training teachers, he also taught the practical skills needed for his students to succeed at farming or other trades typical of the rural South, where most of them came from. He wanted his students to see labor as practical, but also as beautiful and dignified. As part of their work-study programs, students constructed most of the new buildings. Many students earned all or part of their expenses through the construction, agricultural, and domestic work associated with the campus, as they reared livestock and raised crops, as well as producing other goods.