Who Remembers The UWI Protest Led By One Carolyn Cooper

• Who Remembers The UWI Protest Led By One Carolyn Cooper

...because the proprietor of Popeye's Chicken refused to sponsor a Miss Black UWI beauty pageant? Mi haffi call out eediat when mi see dem...call mi whatever yuh want...yes you Mo

We need a Black Miss-UWI. If you were to just have a Miss UWI, then no "black" would stand a chance of winning. That's not because blacks aren't beautiful, or brainy, it's more an indictment of the society we live in.

And you expect me to tek your version of the events. Yah! Right!!!!

What yuh complaining bout, Doc? Out of Many, One People!

YAY!!

Why do people support this foolishness anyway?

Miss UWI should have NOTHING to do with color...though to be honest Uni students should not be demeaning themselves inna nuh chupid beauty pageant on campus.

It's beauty with a purpose, Willi! They judge inner beauty and intelligence!

heh heh!

Is not the motto is the problem, is unno giving dem browing unno attention like seh dem important!

Quite frankly many of them uptown people in Kgn, black and brown and others are a waste of space... plain truth.

Yuh love dem with a sense of purpose? Real 3rd wirl man...

A mi fi tell yuh!

So whats the criteria to enter Miss Black-UWI? You haffe pass some kinda shade test? Just asking!

Sound kinda silly to me still.

Them get Bricky in attack mode now. LOL

Frack dem and concentrate on how fi liff up di rock and release potential.
                        Real solutions, not the old tiad symbolism crap.

I dunno Willi, but I want to concentrate on getting my people to feel good about themselves. I want them to know that being black is not a curse.

I will leave the rest to others, like you. You can raise their potential in whatever way you choose.

" I want them to know that being black is not a curse"

What are we doing when we say you shouldn't demonstrate in black when that is what they want to use to show their cause? Is that upliftment?

Or maybe they should wear party colour, or white?

Speaking to me or Jawge?