No, but Bricky, if you were from Mars and read the Jamaican newspapers for the first time, and stick to only the social pages, you would think that Jamaica does not have any people of African extraction. It is a sad reality. Mind you, this is not by accident. It's intentional. Jamaican elites are not the first in the Caribbean to do this. The Dominican Republic did this in their tourism advertisements and island brochures years ago. The only problem with Jamaica, is that while other countries are quickly getting rid of that backward trend, in Ja it seems to be on the rise in most social circles. Just my observation and opinion.
Throwing Words And Calling Foul
I agree with you too. The Page 2 or Page 3 or whatever page they call it always tend to have the 'lighter hues' featured. Pity we don't have some research coming from the many universities in Jamaica that could shed some empirical data on the matter. Otherwise is just talk.
You are highlighting an ECONOMIC effect.. if unnuh did unnastan seh it tek Cash to Care den di 'social pages' woulda full ah 'black' people.. woulda probably have bout 10 News Paper...
However.. continue the struggle over the crumbs instead of organizing to make pie.. 'Wealth can neither be created or destroyed, only transferred' ah suh it guh ?
Pity it nevah work out in the 70's or since..
When last yuh check out X-News ??
It's not?. They certainly are doing a great job trying to make it appear that way. I can't see what the benefits of that are. Maybe it's just to stroke their egos, and Jamaica is never short of egoists, especially in those circles.
"The Jamaican Man speaks well, dances well and dresses well.. all concept of hard work they left behind with slavery.."
Who yuh tink him was a talk bout ? Di people on Page 2 ? or di people dat want to be on Page 2 ?
Guh reseach Singapore Page 2 and tell mi wheh yuh discover..
Originally posted by Muadib View Postwhat we need is more coverage of the relevant social activities..
Maybe she earned the right to be there, by virtue of her brains(NB I almost always disagree with her take on things), and her ability to think, and not by virtue of her hue, last name, or the type of empty skirt or suit she is wearing.