• Hearse plunges in Rio Cobre

Hearse plunges in Rio Cobre
    1 hour ago

A hearse overturned while traveling along the Flat Bridge in the Bog Walk Gorge in St. Catherine earlier today.

It is understood that the hearse was swept away in the waters after the hearse plunged in the Rio Cobre. The circumstances which led to the incident is unknown.

This Flat Bridge story is getting really tired now. We are building highways all over the stupid country but we can't bypass an 18th century bridge that was not designed for modern travel.

So, a tractor trailer goes over a couple days ago, resulting in the death of 3 persons, and maybe the eventual death of more as they consume the meat they looted off the truck. And now this!

How many persons have lost their lives over that stupid azs bridge since it was constructed?!? It's said a bag of slaves dies building it and it appears they have been taking their revenge, but full time now we bypass this ridiculous bottleneck that renders north-south travel a real nightmare!

Don't we have a trailer-load of Chinese engineers running around the country at the moment? Put them to some worthwhile work, dammit!

Omar!!!

U think is one time they tried to improve it and the river swept all away?

U call the bridge stupid, but the original Spanish construction has lasted centuries.

Gwaan diis Cobre...U will eventually learn the power of that River! LoL

Who wants to improve that crap bridge?!?

Forget that gorge as the main thoroughfare to linking the north coast to the capital city!

The power of that river lies in its hydroelectric potential. And tourism. That's it! Everyday transportation? NO!

Totally agree with all these years about the Bog Walk Gorge, dam it and to have a water source so everyone can have water in the Taps.

Then there is that other bypass for Mt Rosser/Mt Diablo to be completed, successive governments have drop the ball. That Chalky Hill road is anther that also needs to be bypass.

Awright, we agree desso. LoL

How many GOJs have rejected the hydro projects over the years??? No wonder Jah Jah people ah suffah.

We put up with too much carp for too long.

Mi ah get Hignarant now. Mi pass mi limit fi absorb Bullcrap...

Our time finite in the realm and samfie promises dont hold nuh more water.

Action NOW or STFU.
            Run the razzclath fly from wi food.

It is a beautiful and one of the most picturesque drives in Jamaica...if the drivers would just take their time and follow the road signs (those still there)...but yes, probably not for everyday use....
              The sad fact is that drivers on the road in Jamaica drive like totally headless madmen...overtaking around blind corners, pushing other drivers off the road and speeding and all this in the beautiful tranquil 'valley'....
              I remember as a youth overtaking on that bridge...yes, invincible youth...BUT then there less cars on the road then and when you got your license you earned it.

Duppy box him?? Did the hearse go over by itself or with driver, passenger and corpse???

I know. Fifty years out from independence, and we still can't replace a totally idiot bridge. Whenever you speak to a Jamaican about this bridge, he gives you the same tired story of how that bridge is irreplaceable because of the coutour of the land and the river valley. Give me a damn break. The world has seen men going to the moon and back since that bridge was made. Only in our little island.